We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I have just had a very nice stay at this hotel with my husband. We arrived and were greeted at reception by very pleasant staff. The room was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the hotel upgraded us to the Alnwick suite as we had recently been married, and it was my husband’s birthday which was very much appreciated. But, the Pièce de résistance was the evening dinner which we found to be excellent and congratulations goes to the chef. The restaurant decor was wonderful with its wood paneling and history which made an amazing setting, and the waiter was very pleasant. The breakfast was good with a variety of choice. I would defiantly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flowerpot1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSmithGM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thanks very much for taking the time to express your thoughts to us following your recent stay with us here at the White Swan. We are always really pleased to be involved in our guest’s special occasions, it does make us feel very special and part of your celebration. I was most please to learn of your comments regarding the “fantastic” dinner you enjoyed in our stunning Olympic Suite. I will be sure to pass these kind comments on to Lee our head chef and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Paul Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

Autumn special - good value. Staff professional, food good. Maybe because we'd just come from a poor hotel we feel a bit rose tinted about teh White swan. But it got most things to a high standard.

Room Tip: Avoid 103 unless you like a good view of the kitchen extractor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve01524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSmithGM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and comments following your stay with us at The White Swan Hotel on our popular autumn offer in November 2011. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the team. It truly makes it so worthwhile for us here to learn how much our guests have enjoyed their time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Smith – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed without booking on a Monday night and had an excellent value autumn special -afternoon tea, dinner b&b for £99 for two. The food was exceptionally good and interesting without being too contrived.

Room Tip: We were overlooking main road but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmc003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSmithGM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and comments following your stay with us at The White Swan Hotel on our popular autumn offer. The team will be delighted to read such positive comments. It truly makes it so worthwhile for us here to learn how much our guests have enjoyed their time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Smith – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed for an overnight when attending a wedding reception in the town. The location of the White Swan was ideal but an immediate problem was a lack of on site parking as all their 20 places were full due to a wedding. A fee paying local authority park was available across the road which required feeding for the evening and then for the Sunday morning. Only £1.50 each time but disappointing.
The receptionist was excellent. Friendly and welcoming and a real asset for the place. She also helped by telling us that feeding the parking meter after 6pm meant we could avoid an 8am feed in the morning.
The room ("superior") was at the front of the hotel overlooking the main street but not too noisy. It was relatively recently refurbished and a good size. The heated towel rail wasn't functioning so the bathroom a bit chilly there being no other scource of heat.
The breakfast buffet was most disappointing. No choice offered or published other than a standard grill which was of mediocre quality. If it weren't for the wonderful decor in the dining room - wooden paneling from the Olympic liner, sister ship to the Titanic - I think I would have been even more disappointed.
Some friends who stayed at a nearby B&B described a much better value stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silversurfer020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSmithGM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for expressing your thoughts following your recent stay with us at The White Swan Hotel in November 2011. We truly value all feedback, and act on all customer suggestions and recommendations proactively. I am disappointed to learn that you were disappointed with your breakfast which was served in the main Olympic Suite and the limited menu choice that was provided to your good self. I know Lee our head chef would like to be associated with my apologies.
We are sorry to learn of the challenges which you have highlighted relating to our car parking. We do highlight on our website the limitations regarding the size of our car park and my management team regularly assist guests in circumventing these challenges. Our excellent location, indeed as you have detailed, sites the hotel right in the town centre; and like most small market towns parking can be difficult as a consequence.
Should you wish to discuss the matter in more detail with myself please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel. We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Smith – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed at the white swan whilst attending a wedding and was underwhelmed by everything except perhaps the decor in the dining room. The whole place just looks a bit shabby, carpets are dirty and worn, paint on the doors is chipped and marked. The room was a good size but also tired looking. As for the breakfast buffet, first of all it doesn't look very appetising - congealed fried eggs on a hotplate and secondly poor quality food. Another member of our wedding party who runs a bar was appalled by the state of the white swan bar with sticky bar towels and full drip trays - the prices of drinks in the bar are also well inflated. It is not a bargain place to stay and really I would expect more, alot more.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSmithGM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Dear Carole,

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor review following your stay with us whilst attending a wedding reception here at the hotel. I was most concerned to learn that you did not enjoy your time with us, particularly when we receive such high praise from all our guests who attend wedding receptions with ourselves. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Paul Smith – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

stayed at the white swan in Alnwick in October cannot fault it in any way,rooms are very good size well decorated very clean and beds cery comfy,breakfast very good with plenty of food options for even the most fussy eater.evening meals great again plenty of choice.location is also great in center of town a good base for exploring the beautiful northumbrian coast and castles which there are plenty of.Alnwick town is a lovely little shopping place.you will enjoy Alnwick and northumberland.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSmithGM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Dear Jeanie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let everyone know about your fantastic stay with us here at The White Swan Hotel. We are so please you enjoyed your time with us and that you found Alnwick town such a nice place to shop. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Smith – General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We got married at the White Swan in August, the setting was beautiful, staff and service were amazing.
We and all our guests had a fantastic stay.
Already booked up tp go back to enjoy afternoon tea in November.

Room Tip: Booked a family room the night before for bride and bridemaids to get ready, it was a fantastic size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSmithGM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2011

Dear James,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We enjoyed immensely being part of your special day, and we are so pleased that you will be with us again very soon in November. We look forward to meeting you both again soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Smith – General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
541 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,299 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
358 reviews
9.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
408 reviews
13.3 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range: £78 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing