We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nobles at The White Swan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed over on a DBB basis. OMG - I cant thank the venue enough for such a relaxing experience. We arrived and checked into our very clean and comfortable room. All the little extras that you expect from a high end priced hotel were covered....such amazing value. Later that evening we went down to dine in the amazing Olympic Suite. It was everything I imagined .....elegant, attentive staff, relaxing ambience....and the food was outstanding. We could have sat all night listening to the piano player by candle light. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend to anybody looking for a touch of class in the heart of the historic town of Alnwick. Breakfast was also extremely yummy! Thank you. We will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JN0ble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely words, the staff and management will be so pleased in the knowledge that your time with us was memorable and we greatly appreciate your continued custom.

We will be sure to share your kind comments with all of the team at the hotel. I was delighted to hear your positive comments relating to the food you experienced during your time with us in May, I have passed these comments on to Lee Campbell our head chef who would also like to be associated with my thanks. It really does make all our efforts worthwhile when we receive such positive feedback as that by your good selves. We look forward to welcoming you back to Northumberland & indeed Alnwick in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Smith – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

820 - 826 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

Excellent stay again!!
Great food and I was well looked after.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone on business, leisure or golf breaks.
The staff are all friendly managed by Paul Smith who was looking after my every need.
Thank you

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear Iain,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your kind comments following your recent stay with us at The White Swan. We view all the feedback which our customers engender to us as pivotal to bolstering our commitment to excellent services and warm hospitality.

Our Head Chef Mr. Lee Campbell would also like to be associated with my thanks for your kind comments regarding the food you enjoyed whilst with ourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is, without doubt, my favourite UK hotel. Myself and my husband stayed there for a short break and loved it so much we decided to book our wedding there! The commitment and service from the hotel staff as a whole, but in particular the wedding organiser and master of ceremonies, was just outstanding. We couldn't have felt more special or be more grateful to the staff. A perfect day from start to finish, thanks so much to the White Swan Hotel staff! We will definitely be returning for our anniversaries!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollydollydollhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your kind comments following your recent stay with us at The White Swan. We view all the feedback which our customers engender to us as pivotal to bolstering our commitment to excellent services and warm hospitality.

Our conference & events co-ordinator Ms. Charlotte Kidd would also like to be associated with my thanks for your kind comments regarding the service you were awarded whilst with ourselves. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to enjoy your many anniversaries with ourselves.

Kind Regards,

Paul Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

From booking online, checking in and the subsequent stay, albeit for one night, I cannot fault this hotel other than a somewhat restricted car park. Receptionist very polite and helpful, room very clean and comfortable and a decent selection of food at breakfast. I cannot comment on other meals as these were taken at other establishments. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANRYorkshire_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your kind comments following your recent stay with us at The White Swan. We view all the feedback which our customers engender to us as pivotal to bolstering our commitment to excellent services and warm hospitality.

We have numerous business people staying with us on a regular basis many using the hotel facilities as their home away home for long periods of time. WE look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This landmark will serve its purpose for any traveler needing a bed. The staff was warm and inviting. The location is centrally located in town and could not be more convenient, with even a car park.

We has some challenges utilizing the free wifi, which was only available to us in the loo. This hotel is due for some renovations and modernizing touches. I can't say it was entirely spic-n-span either. Our towels came with nail lacquer stains and we would have been happy to have missed the breakfast dining experience.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the annex area of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 124kross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Ross,

Many thanks for taking the time to review The White Swan Hotel following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to learn that you felt the service which the team delivered was warm and inviting. I will be sure to share your sentiments with the team.

I was sorry to learn of some challenges you experienced regarding wireless internet access, towels and breakfast. I would be very grateful if you could contact me directly gm.whiteswan@classiclodges.co.uk so that I can understand these issues in more detail.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Paul Smith – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We went on a family trip to Alnwick during February and stayed at the white swan hotel on bed a breakfast basis.

Rooms: we had two rooms, one double one single. Both were of reasonable size with clean modern bathrooms. The room looked as though it had been recently decorated. The t.v in our double room had a DVD player. We did find the hotel room to be rather warm - maybe the staff were trying to avoid people complaining they were cold. The rooms also had hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities which were replenished daily.

Breakfast: breakfast was served in the Olympic suite. There was a selection of typical English breakfast hot food aswell as cereals, fruit and yoghurt. Tea, coffee and toast were served by the pleasant waiting staff and you could have as much as you wanted. The food was fresh and tasted fine.

The hotel had a free wifi service and this could be accessed from all areas of the hotel.

Location: we stayed in Alnwick so we could explore Northumberland. Within walking distance of the hotel is a castle that was used in the filming of Harry potter however this was closed during our stay. The hotel is in the centre of Alnwick and so you can walk to the high street shops aswell as pubs and restaurants. We drove to the town of seahouses and went on a trip to see sea lions and at some times of year you will see puffins. We also went to lindisfarne and Banbourgh beach. All of these took less than 25 mins to reach.

Overall this is a nice hotel to stay in for a short stay. Rooms are clean. Food is good. Staff are pleasant. And the location was good for what we hoped to do.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatttyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your thoughtful comments following your recent stay with us at The White Swan Hotel. It makes us very proud when we receive such complimentary feedback, which bolsters our continued commitment to customer service and hospitality.

We were really pleased to learn how wonderful you found the numerous attractions in Northumberland from the medieval Alnwick Castle, to the stunning beaches on the coast and famous seaside village of Seahouses.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Paul Smith General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was only our second stay at the hotel - the first being a staff Christmas party last year. The weekend was wonderful and the level of service and standard of everything from room to food was absolutely first class. The big difference between this and other hotels was the fact that all the staff remembered us from the previous stay and literally welcomed us as we arrived.
All of my staff loved the party last year - so much so they wanted to come back this year, and that's exactly what we have done.
Much credit to Charlotte and everyone at The White Swan, we now feel like friends of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Terry,

Thank you so much for your lovely words, the staff and management will be so pleased in the knowledge that your time with us was memorable and we greatly appreciate your continued custom. Charlotte is delighted that you have booked with us again for your Christmas Party, and we are all looking forward to welcoming you and your team back very soon.

From all your Friends at The White Swan

Paul Smith – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
541 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,297 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
358 reviews
9.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
406 reviews
13.3 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range: £77 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing