We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ok”
Reviewed 22 March 2008

can only say ok
room freezing unless radiator on full, window propped open by a flat pebble, no heating in bathroom, mould on sealant around tiles, fan noisy and dusty and the room smelt like your old granny - no offence gran i meant your old house!
we only slept in the room which made it bearable.
'olympic suite' something to see: breakfast as it said 'help your self' to what you want and as much as you want: but one morning...' special promotional event on' so guests not allowed in here. No signs , warning, reasoning or apology given and had to look a bit stupid wandering into the 'event' looking for my breakfast.

still waiting for my coffee in the bistro form the one night we did eat here! a
from reading name badges it seemed the more pay you were on the less you cared for the customer.

  • Liked — dining room
  • Disliked — public rooms give a false sense of the hotel rooms
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank oliveScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    346
    224
    107
    51
See reviews for
133
606
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth U.K.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2008

My wife and I booked for 3 nights in February but left after 1 night.
We thought our allocated room on the 2nd floor was a mistake as it was the fire escape route for that floor. But no, it seems that this is not uncommon in some hotels and the staff actually tried to convince us that it was the safest room in the hotel.
However the room was clean and reasonably sized so we decided that we would not ask for a change.
We did hear a constant rubble of some sort of machinery outside the back of the hotel but on mentioning it to reception were told that it was the restaurant extractor fan that was turned off when the kitchen closed.
We went out for a few hours returning at 11.00pm but still the noise could be clearly heard despite the restaurant being closed before 10.00pm.
11.30 arrived, midnight, 01.00, 02.00 etc, and the drone continued making it impossible to sleep. My wife wrapped a pillow round her ears and I tried ear plugs from pieces of tissue but to no avail.
By morning we were both exhausted and too tired to continue our short break. We complained to reception and they said we could have been moved to another room but we said why put us in such a unsuitable room in the first place.?

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank superbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alnwick hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
newcastle upon tyne
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

We booked the hotel through Travelzoo, the offer being Dinner, Bed & Breakfast inc 2 tickets to Alnwick Gardens for the low price of £80. We stayed on 19th Feb 2008.

We arrived early & were shown to our room 117 which was at the back of the hotel overlooking a public car park with the grounds of Alnwick Gardens behind so we didn't mind. The room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. It looked just like the pictures they have on their website.

After a day brousing the shops we returned to our room to get ready for dinner & there was a problem with our shower. I called reception to inform them & within minutes the general manager Shiela was at our room to inspect the shower 7 appologised for the inconvenience. Due to the hotel being busy there were no other double rooms available. She went to check & returned with keys to the Bambrough Suite which was lovely. It was on the front of the hotel in the older part of the building looking onto the road. The room was huge with a fantastic rainfall shower in the bathroom & a huge comfy bed. The only downfall being road noise due to the original wooden windows but the room made up for that.

Dinner was just as impressive in the Olympic Suite. The restaurant was beautiful with excellent service & freshly cooked food, decent portions too! The waitress happily adapted the munu to suit my fussy vegetarian taste. After dinner we enjoyed a drink in Hardys Bisto which is modern but cosy & then headed off to bed.

The following morning we had breakfast in the Olympic Suite. The food was ok but there was not much choice of hot food & the restaurant itself was extremely quiet which made for an awkward atmosphere.

We checked out with the cheerful staff wishing us a safe journey home.

Overall a lovely hotel with some nice features such as the revolving door into the lobby. The staff could not do enough to help you & an absolute bargain at only £80.

I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — The revolving door into the hotel
  • Disliked — The noise from the road outside our room
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lou8088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2008

We just stayed in this hotel for a short weekend break.
All the rooms have undergone major refurbishment and I could not fault the standard of cleanliness. The bathrooms were also great - clean with excellent showers. Towels and bedlinen were of very good quality. Breakfast was pretty good too.
However, I would advise that this hotel can be noisy. During our first night we were in a room right above the kitchen - and all evening we heard shouting, swearing, and pots banging. Then it all started again at 6.30am for breakfast! We requested to be moved, and were put in a room towards the back of the hotel. This was very close to the function room (the Olympic Dining room) and there was a live band playing until midnight - we heard every word of every song it was that loud! We were moved to this room because it was supposed to be quieter, but there was no mention of any function of live music (you would have thought it would have been good manners to advise customers at some point on Saturday about the music?).
You can also very easily hear guests talking/moving in the rooms eithers side of you.
So a mixed bag all in all. The hotel looks very sleek now and is in a brilliant position in Alnwick (all the shops and pubs are on your doorstep). But if you prefer staying in 'quieter' places, I would not recommend this place.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank HildaTilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2008

The hotel has a great, grand feel when you arrive at the reception. There is a super area with a fire and comfy chairs to enjoy a pre-dinner drink. The hotel car park was full when we arrived so we had to park in the public car park which was close but not free.

Check-in was smooth, and we were able to book dinner in the bistro for the same night which was handy. When we saw our room we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was decorated in a chic, modern manner and immediately felt luxurious. I had a lovely bath right away and both the bathroom and room were clean, comfortable, and well equipped.

The problems we encountered were all a consequence of a 'function' which was also happening that night in the Olympic Suite. The hotel was clearly understaffed and unable to cope with the combination of the number of guests already staying at the hotel as well as those there for the function.

We had tried to book a table for dinner at 8pm and were told we could have a table at 7.45pm - not a problem! When we went through for dinner though, we didn't get a menu (let alone a drink!) given to us until after 8pm as the staff were too busy. From then on everything was just very slow; ordering, food arriving... I am certain we were forgotten about at one point. The food was good though and the staff were nice, it wasn't their fault they were so busy.

After dinner we retired to our room and when we tried to go to sleep at around 10.30pm realised there was some very loud music coming from somewhere near by. It was so loud we thought it must be the room next door and explored the corridor to find the source. It was actually coming from the function in the suite downstairs. We called down to reception who said it would be going on for another hour! They offered us another room which upon inspection was a twin rather than a double and was not as nice as ours. Not long after we complained though the music stopped so by just after 11pm we could get some sleep.

Breakfast was a similar story to dinner in that the staff were too few and rushed off their feet to keep up with all the guests wanting their breakfast. That said it was mostly self service so it wasn't a big problem. The food was very tasty and plentiful.

We managed to book this at the half the usual price (paid £65 for one night) due to the off-peak time we stayed. For the price we paid we were mostly very happy but if we had paid double, we would have expected better.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Under-staffing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

We stayed here for a night to celebrate my birthday. We were initially drawn to the hotel by their great dinner, bed and breakfast deal - £79 per room plus 2 free tickets for the Alnwick Garden (always a must).

We were impressed from the start. Check in was handled smoothly and we were able to occupy our room immediately, even though we'd arrived before 2pm. The reception desk manager was wonderfully helpful and friendly, as was the housekeeper who remade our room from a twin to a double.

The hotel has recently undergone a refurbishment and everywhere looks amazing. Our room was tastefully decorated, with flat screen TV, a good selection of teas and coffees and a nice bathroom. The bed was really comfy!

We spent an enjoyable afternoon in the Alnwick Garden, browsing around the town and hunting for books in the fantastic Barter Books before going to dinner in the Olympic Restaurant in the hotel.

Again, the staff were helpful and friendly - with welcome recommendations on what to order. The food was excellent, with a choice of 4 starters, 4 main courses and 4 desserts. Main courses came with prefectly cooked vegetables dressed in a herb butter.

The Olympic Restaurant is a beautiful place to eat. All the panelling, and windows were salvaged from the Olympic - sister ship to the Titanic and the Britannia. When the ship was taken out of service, everything on it was salvaged and sold off. The owner of the White Swan bought the restaurant and added it to the hotel. The old oak panelling is beautiful and makes the restaurant fell really special.

The hotel also has a new bistro - Hardy's - where we enjoyed a glass of wine after our meal.

The staff were fantastic at all times and really made our stay special. We loved everything about the hotel, and we can't wait to stay there again.

  • Liked — Big comfy beds and fantastic staff
  • Disliked — Bathroom was a bit cold
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Ad&Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,227 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
11.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing