We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“70th Birthday Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“70th Birthday Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Brilliant in every way, from the arrival, staff, to the food offering and accommodation. Ideally located for us to simply leave the car and walk into town. The hotel was dealing with a busy weekend of events, yet they had the staff to cater for our party of 15 in a smooth and professional manner.
Many thanks for making it such a special weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel may well be noisey due to the location on the high street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a complimentary review following your recent stay with ourselves at The White Swan Hotel.

It really was a delight to hear your positive comments & really was a pleasure to help you celebrate such a special weekend for you & your family, I will be sure to share these with the rest of the team.

I am also so pleased you picked up on our fantastic location within the town and enjoyed visiting our stunning Olympic Suite once again for your special occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    332
    212
    101
    45
See reviews for
121
581
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

A lovely weekend spent in the beautiful gardens and castle at Alnwick - very good meal at the Bistro completely spoilt by the noise until 3 in the morning from gangs of youths outside at the take away. We were told that the policy was to ring the Police and sometimes they come and sometimes they don't and it was an on going problem for rooms at the front of the hotel. People should be aware of this - and certainly not charged £135 for the night! Will not go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are slightly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with ourselves. I would like to extend my apologies for the unsatisfactory elements of your stay with us at the White Swan.

I was sorry to learn of the anti-social behaviour you seem to have experienced outside the hotel; we are currently in the process of investigating this issue fully.

I would be more than happy to discus in more detail should you wish and I can be contacted directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I must say first of all, the staff were very friendly and helpful but otherwise it was a disaster.
1. On arrival we were not shown to our room which was a very long way from reception.
2. The room and corridor outside were very cold as radiators not working.
3. The advertised free wifi was not working.
4. The sink plug was broken.
5. The car park was full and there was no access from the car park to the hotel.
6. We had a meal in the bistro which was ok but very expensive for what it was.
7. My wife and I thought the bed was the most uncomfortable we had ever slept on.
8. During one night there was a false fire alarm but no one gave us any information.
9. The room was very noisy from 6am on the final day caused by problems with the boilers and heating system.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with ourselves. We view all feedback, be it complimentary or critical, crucial to enhancing our commitment to customer service and hospitality.

We are sorry to learn that on this ocassion you did not fully enjoy your stay with us, for which we are truely sorry however I will be sure to share the positive elements of your stay with the rest of the team.

I was sorry to learn that you felt parts of your stay could have been improved. I was disappointed to learn that you were not fully satisfied with your room allocation however if you would like to discuss anything further regarding your stay please don’t hesitate to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alnwick hotels

Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night, for a family Birthday celebration. Food excellent, room nice, Northumberland breakfast filling. Staff friendly. Great piece of history with the salvaged dining room from the RMS Olympic, the sister ship of the Titanic.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MorpethManUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a complimentary review following your recent stay with ourselves at The White Swan Hotel.

It really was a delight to hear your positive comments and I will be sure to share these with the rest of the team.

Stephen, our Head Chef would also like to be associated with my thanks for the excellent food you mentioned you sampled in our stunning Olympic Suite.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

At first sight the hotel seems relatively simple but soon inside you can see this hotel has a lot of history and is quite inviting. On our short stay we found the staff to be friendly, welcoming and accommodating all the time, whilst the food was very good value and served in reasonable time given we were in a party of 15. Everyone enjoyed the meal and though we missed out on eating in the famous dining room due to a function we were never spared attention from the staff.
If any disappointments I found was the room we had, though I understand old hotels have quirky sizes it was on the whole fine but a little tired with a temperamental shower and in need of a refit. The other minor fault was the quality of wifi the inability to stream sky was frustrating on the Saturday. That could only be said in our room on the top floor.
It can be noisy at chucking out time if you face the front but then it is a town centre hotel. Overall though would stay again and would recommend.
Breakfast was fine and served quickly and efficiently in the amazing wood panel restaurant taken from the Titanic's sister ship the Olympic. All in all a good stay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with ourselves. We are delighted that you seem to have enjoyed most of your time in Alnwick and I will be sure to share the positive elements of your stay with the rest of the team.

I was sorry to learn that you felt parts of your stay could have been improved. I was disappointed to learn that you were not fully satisfied with your room allocation.

Colin, our Maintenance Manager would also like to be associated with my apologies re the maintenance issues you experienced in your room, he has been tasked with rectifying these issues immediately with the room in question being placed offline until such stages that these are completed

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glen iris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Poor food served too quickly. Booked dinner for 8 pm and they had fed us 4 courses in 60 mins! The food was very average & we were disappointed to say the least. Will be giving it a wide birth next time we visit Alnwick. Having said that the breakfast was better and the hotel room was fine, staff helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank boro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with ourselves. We view all feedback, be it complimentary or critical, crucial to enhancing our commitment to customer service and hospitality.

We are sorry to learn that on this ocassion you did not fully enjoy your stay with us, for which we are truely sorry.

Obviously the contents of your review are a source of regret to me. I am disappointed that any shortcomings you experienced were not brought to the attention of the Duty Manager at the time which would have enabled any problems to be quickly corrected by a member of the management team.

I do hope we may have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future, in which case please contact me in advance and I will make arrangements to ensure that you receive the true standards of Northumbrian hospitality of which we are justly proud.

Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed two nights. Room smaller than expected and bit noisy as facing main street. Evening meals ok but staff confused as to what my husband had ordered on the second night. Supervisor in bar area very helpful and arranged a parking space for us in the hotel car park. Breakfast on second morning was a disaster. Slow taking order, had to remind them to bring hot drinks and toast, after half hour our cooked breakfast had not arrived. Asked for it to be chased up and waited another 5 minutes. Then decided to check out as we were fed up waiting. Other customers also waiting for food. At check out receptionist told us 'they were under staffed in the kitchen'.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJP542013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. it goes without saying that i am disappointed with your breakfast service received on the second morning. Hopefully the first morning was significant better.

I hope that this did not detract from your stay and that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

James Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
11.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing