We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$244
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
US$151
US$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$195
US$142
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newton Hall(Newton by the Sea)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,127)
Filter reviews
1,127 results
Traveller rating
320
382
247
121
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
320
382
247
121
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister shipthe olympic dining roomhardy's bistroolympic restaurantclassic lodgesafternoon teano liftcoach partyold coaching innthe hotel car parknight portercourse dinnerlovely hotelcooked breakfastthe main streetbottle of proseccoalnwick gardens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
658 - 663 of 1,127 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Very friendly, helpful people employed at the Swan. Cannot fault their commitment to making us feel at home and welcome. We ate on two of the three nights we stayed and had a very nice meal on both occasions. As some other reviewers have commented the room we had was a tad small. However we look upon it as somewhere to sleep not spend hours in. Sleep we did as the bed was very comfy. The days were spent out and about in an area we know quite well. This hotel is a good base for exploring. 5* it isn't but if you want somewhere clean, welcoming and with a good breakfast then I would recommend the Swan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOrganiser2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear Reviewer

Many Thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the White Swan and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards

James Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at The White Swan Hotel for one night on 26th October. We stayed on a B&B basis.

Alnwick itself is a beautiful little town. We were there mainly to visit the castle and gardens. The castle is a few minutes walk from the hotel. Alnwick castle and gardens are stunning.

The hotel was what we expected. The staff were all friendly. The main reception seems to have had a recent refurb and is very well decorated. Some of the other public areas are on the whole ok however parts are a little tired. Due to age and layout of building it is a little bit of a rabbit warren and has a B&B feel on some floors rather than a hotel.

Our room was small. The bed was comfy and whilst the bedroom itself had some nice modern touches such as new runner, curtains and cushions the wallpaper and furniture were a little tired and well used. The sash window could also have benefited from some maintenance. Overall the room felt clean and had what we needed for a nights stay. The bathroom was quite dated however again it was clean.

Breakfast was served in the Olympic suite. The service was efficient and the staff were polite. We had the cooked breakfast and it was well cooked and well presented. There was a small selection of cereal, fruit and yoghurt but we did not try these.

Overall it is a good hotel in a lovely place. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamIdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your recent review,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would look to return to the hotel.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We paid for a superior room but it was tiny, even one might describe it as pokey. Having got a glimpse of the other rooms they looked more spacious.
The bar area is small but cosy & the restaurant serves food that is OK, not outstanding but nt bad either.
It's a nice place to stay for a night away but not for much longer

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GS-Smugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. I am sorry that not all aspects met expectations. We do have a cross section of bedrooms and it is always worth asking if there are alternatives if you are not 100% happy. We will where possible always do our best.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Regards

James Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

my wife and i have just stayed at the white swan hotel alnwick, for our grand daughters
wedding, 26th october the manager janick took care everything nothing was any trouble.
the staff were also excellent the food was spot on. would visit again anytime,
annitsford joppa

Room Tip: book a double upgrade worth every penny.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annitsfordjoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for a fantastic review; Jannick will be delighted.

We place a huge emphasis on making a wedding day special and I am delighted that once again we where part of a great day.

Many Thanks and Best Wishes,

James Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed for four nights with a U3A group of about 25 and the hotel looked after us very well. The staff are friendly, helpful and professional. The atmosphere is informal and relaxed.

The hotel is conveniently located in the town centre and close to the Castle and Gardens. The building is old but well kept with a beautifully panelled dining room. I suspect some of the older members of our group would have struggled with the sash windows if they were as stiff as those in our room.

Our room felt small at about 12 feet by 9 feet as most of the floor space was taken up by the bed and other furniture. I believe room sizes vary. The bed was very comfortable. The standard of fixtures, fittings, decor and maintenance was good but the heated towel rail in the en suite had been de-activated for health and safety reasons so the bathroom might be cold in winter.

Although the bath had a shower curtain rather than a glass screen, it was exceptional in not persisting in wrapping itself around me! We reported that the shaving light was not working on our way out in the morning but it had been fixed by the time we got back in the afternoon. For once, the staff were environmentally friendly in not changing the towels when we didn't want them changed.

Our package included dinner and we had a choice of four from each of three courses. The cuisine was very good and reasonably varied. However, the chef's experiment with a lavender sauce on a pudding didn't work for me!

Wine is not cheap and starts at £3.95 for a small glass. It is much more economical to buy it by the bottle. The only real ale pump was out of action throughout our stay for technical reasons but we found a perfectly acceptable pub just down the road with a choice of two real ales.

All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your review. I do remember the group well as you stayed with us earlier in the year.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming another U3A group to the hotel next year.

Best Regards

James Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews