We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Went for Afternoon Tea, what a treat! Great service and a really beautiful tea. We had sandwiches, scones with jam and cream, eclairs and sponge cake and as much tea as we could drink. It was a really awful day outside so it was lovely to sit in the warm hotel and watch the world go by. Will definitely go again. Thank you for a lovely day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaHScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

James Thompson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    331
    212
    101
    45
See reviews for
121
580
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Had a lovely one night stay, on the Autumn break offer, it was all amazing value. The room was spacious, clean and comfy. The dinner and breakfast was of a very high standard too. The staff were all very professional. The only complaint I had was that we expected to dine at night in the Olympic dining room but this was closed for dinner and we ate in the bistro instead. The bistro was very pleasant but we only came to this hotel to dine in the Olympic dining room, so were disappointed that this was not to be. Breakfast was served in the dining room but this was not the same as getting 'dressed' for dinner in there! It would have helped to have mentioned that the dining room was closed for dinner at this time of year on the website, where I booked. I would have waited and came when the dining room was open to dine in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RdGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at the White Swan. Our Olympic Suite opening times are subject to seasonal variations. However, we do offer promotional rates throughout the year at times when the dining room will be open to guests.

I do hope you return to the hotel to enjoy the evening experience in the Olympic suite.

Kind Regards

James Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

A weekend at the white Swan is truly an indulgent experience. We have wanted to stay here for many years. The Olympic Dining room has always been an experience which we have envied. With our teenage son away with his school we decided to give ourselves an autumn treat. We were not disappointed! Staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly. The room was warm, clean and comfortable, if a little old fashioned but, in a way this added to its charm. The dinner in the Hardy's Bistro was from Hotel set men.It was superb and great value for money. Service was pleasant and attentive.
Breakfast was the EXPERIENCE in the magnificent Olympic Dining room. First class dining room from sister ship of Titanic, broken up on the River Tyne. Lots of local businesses
bought artefacts from this great ship. A true experience of the elegance of a bygone time.

Room Tip: There are three floors and no lift. If you have difficulty walking ask for room on lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenalexandria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at the hotel and had chance to appreciate the wonderful Olympic Suite with its historic connections to the Titanic.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the White Swan Hotel.

Kind Regards

James Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a one night stay at the White Swan. There is parking for up to 30 vehicles at the rear of the hotel, but if that is full there is ample parking in the council parking just behind the hotel at £2 per day. Our welcome at reception was warm, friendly and welcoming. We were staying on an Autumn Break offer, but were delighted to be given an upgrade to a suite.The room was magnificent with a wonderful 4 poster bed. The evening meal was served in the Bistro and was a 3 course menu. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the meal and was amongst the best we have experienced. Breakfast was served in the Olympic dining room which was beautiful and with it's Titanic connections, extremely interesting. The breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty. On expressing an interest to the staff at reception about the Olympic, they kindly gave me a fact sheet to take home. I would very definitely recommend a stay at this hotel. My verdict is definitely First Class and not Steerage

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the opportunity to review the hotel. I am delighted that you found us to be 'first class' and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

James Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
221 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms are comfy and the breakfast in a beautiful panelled room was great - and FRESHLY COOKED to your specifications!!!! Ten stars for the breakfast alone! Staff very nice - chatty and helpful - and the setting was good too. We will definitely come back if we return to Alnwick.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MIssDillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. your comments are very much appreciated and I hope we can welcome you back to the White Swan in the future.

Kind Regards

James Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Very friendly, helpful people employed at the Swan. Cannot fault their commitment to making us feel at home and welcome. We ate on two of the three nights we stayed and had a very nice meal on both occasions. As some other reviewers have commented the room we had was a tad small. However we look upon it as somewhere to sleep not spend hours in. Sleep we did as the bed was very comfy. The days were spent out and about in an area we know quite well. This hotel is a good base for exploring. 5* it isn't but if you want somewhere clean, welcoming and with a good breakfast then I would recommend the Swan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOrganiser2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Reviewer

Many Thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the White Swan and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards

James Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at The White Swan Hotel for one night on 26th October. We stayed on a B&B basis.

Alnwick itself is a beautiful little town. We were there mainly to visit the castle and gardens. The castle is a few minutes walk from the hotel. Alnwick castle and gardens are stunning.

The hotel was what we expected. The staff were all friendly. The main reception seems to have had a recent refurb and is very well decorated. Some of the other public areas are on the whole ok however parts are a little tired. Due to age and layout of building it is a little bit of a rabbit warren and has a B&B feel on some floors rather than a hotel.

Our room was small. The bed was comfy and whilst the bedroom itself had some nice modern touches such as new runner, curtains and cushions the wallpaper and furniture were a little tired and well used. The sash window could also have benefited from some maintenance. Overall the room felt clean and had what we needed for a nights stay. The bathroom was quite dated however again it was clean.

Breakfast was served in the Olympic suite. The service was efficient and the staff were polite. We had the cooked breakfast and it was well cooked and well presented. There was a small selection of cereal, fruit and yoghurt but we did not try these.

Overall it is a good hotel in a lovely place. We would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamIdle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your recent review,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would look to return to the hotel.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
11.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing