We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of the best staff i've encountered!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Goole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Some of the best staff i've encountered!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Visiting this hotel for the first time, through work, the welcome was magnificent with free tea and coffee for myself and my group. We were given all the information required by Jannick, before being shown to our rooms, if needed by a team member. The food is great, with plenty of choice on each course. The hotel is clean and the bedrooms modern and very well appointed. There were a couple of issues with my room, but after informing the reception team the issues were promptly resolved. You can't ask for more than that.
Great experience and will be back in a personal capacity with my family.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms away from the main building which are reached along a gravel path. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daz7171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

James Thompson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    333
    212
    101
    45
See reviews for
122
581
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

As a local, I have never stayed in the hotel, but I often have a relaxed coffee there. It is quieter than many of Alnwick's coffee shops, so works well for a quiet meeting; staff are unobtrusive, and the coffee is good. The dining room is magnificent, with panelling taken from the Titanic's sister ship, SS Olympia, so plenty of grandeur on offer!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ModernPeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Local guest and reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel. I am absolutely delighted that somebody in the local community is appreciating what we are doing. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you again at the the hotel.

Kind Regards

James Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This hotel is worth a visit just for the experience of sitting in the beautiful dining room. The dinner was very good, presented well with attentive service. Breakfast also good although we did expect Craster kippers to be whole smoked kippers and not the vacuum packed type. The wine "by the glass" was awful. We asked for a bottle from this list the first night and it was cheap and nasty stuff. The following evening we asked if there was a better quality wine available and were offered another wine list and this was really good....pity we weren't offered this list on the first night. The room was good, clean with nice toiletries and a nice comfy bed. The weekend package was good value and I would recommend it for a weekend break for couples.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review of the White Swan hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and I hope that we can welcome you back in the future. I am glad that you also found a wine that you enjoyed. The appreciation of wine can be very subjective, I remember very well telling a producer at a tasting that the particular wine we where trying 'en primeur' was awful. That wine subsequently went on to command a price of £50 a bottle and had the name Rothschild on it.....

we hope to see you very soon,

Regards

James Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed here with parents in dec 13 and found it a quiet pleasing hotel. Rooms where bright and spacious only problem was rooms were located right next to the main road. Breakfast was of a good standard but on the 2nd day did take a little longer (wedding party seemed to get most priority). Parking was also an issue as wedding party over took the car park and we ended up getting a ticket having accidently parked in a pay and display area at the front. The staff were however very pleasant and accommodating.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay at the White Swan 3 months ago in December. I am delighted that on the whole you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Kind Regards

James Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and 2 children were kept awake between 11pm and 4am by drunken abusive singing in the street that was almost continuous. It seems every pub crawl in the town pass by this hotel and the windows in the room are so thin that you could hear all the swearing and shouting as if it was in the room. Once the last cat-calls, puking, fighting and chanting had died down, we were left with the annoying sound of the loudly rattling windows caused by what was only a mild breeze. The church bells then started in the early hours and go off every 15 minutes.

I realise that planning permission to increase the sound proofing in listed buildings can be problematic but I have seen it tastefully done in hotels all over the UK and around the world. Hoteliers quoting such regulations strikes me as a convenient excuse to hide behind when justifying their not wishing to rectify the most basic of requirements. It is obviously the case in this hotel when you look at the tiredness of the rooms where even a valance to cover the ripped and tatty beds appears to be unaffordable. When I mentioned the terrible night to the manager on reception the next morning, it was obvious that she did not care 2 hoots about our awful night's sleep. Having stayed in very expensive and very cheap hotels all over the world, I doubt I will ever spend such a sleepless night in a hotel ever again!!
If you want your kids to learn lots of new swear words, this is the place for you.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LVP173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Reviewer and forthcoming guests to the White Swan Hotel,

As you will see from many of my previous responses I have never denied that on occasions there is noise from the street. furthermore, I have always been honest in the sense that Alnwick is no different from any other town or city where noise from the street is expected on occasions. Personally, speaking as someone who stays in the hotel in a room at the front for at least 5 days a week ans for the past 18 months, I have been fortunate enough not to experience the level of noise described in this review.

Neither the hotel or myself have ever used the excuse of planning permission as a reason not to install secondary glazing on a period property that in parts is centuries old. In this day and age however, a modicum or good sense must prevail.

It is also worth mentioning that I have had numerous conversations with the local authorities and police who ultimately are responsible for the management of this.

We do not set out to cause upset, distress or unsatisfactory stays at the hotel and I believe it is evident from the many positive reviews of the White Swan that my staff do care about the guest.

I apologize that on this occasion we did not fulfill expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alnwick hotels

north east england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Lovely hotel in the middle of Alnwick. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the young man in bar/bistro. Room spotless, very comfortable bed and modern en-suite. Even an iron and ironing board if any was staying for a week or two. Food was first class and beautifully presented

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skihols46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your recent review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at the White Swan. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed at the white swan, Alnwick for valentines night. Good value at £99 for DBB and a bottle of Prosecco. Staff extremely welcoming and friendly and the hotel was quaint and clean. Because the food was so lovely, tasty and well presented, we could have done with bigger portion as the mains was on the small side. My only other minor niggle was that the room was very hot through the night even with the radiator turned off. Lovely stay, lovely hotel and lovely staff therefore would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the White Swan and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
11.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HRS and Priceline so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing