We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy Sunday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just walked past the hotel and decided to try for Sunday lunch...not hopeful because we had not made a booking. However, we were one of two couples...the other having afternoon tea(!!) which looked fantastic. Our lunch was great, not the usual carvery but still very substantial. Excellent quality and excellent service from an attentive young waitress. The hotel has had a complete makeover since my last visit, when it was looking a little 'tired'. I hope that customers return as it was really good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your lunch in Hardy's bistro. We know also do a formal Sunday Lunch in the Olympic Room.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 1,078 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights on a Half Board basis and received wonderful treatment from all members of staff especially the Belgian F & B Manager however there cannot be any excuse for having the Heating off during the day or having no hot water in Room 104.
The location is perfect,the food is very good but the Olympic Suite was closed for Dinner all the time we were at the Hotel which required having Dinner in the Bistro.
The Hotel requires a major refurbishment

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Hotel are not Double Glazed and as a consequence are noisey especially at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGH2743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you appreciatted the service from Jannick and his team. In terms of a refurbishment, we are committed to uprading this 300 year old coaching in! We adopt a little and often approach and for other guests reading this review, in the last year ALL corridors have been repainted and the entire external of the builing has been repainted. In the next 6 months we will refurbish public areas.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We chose the White Swan on the recommendation of a friend who lives in the area. As it was March we took advantage of the Winter Warmer deal. We upgraded to a superior room with chocs water and dressing gowns. On arrival and the next day both receptionists were really friendly and helpful. We hadn't been left our chocs, water or dressing gowns and the complimentary Prosecco was warm. Off I went to reception and the helpful lady very quickly bought two bottles of water (not replaced on the second day) chocs (2each) and a selection of other room freebies (sewing kit, toothbrush etc). Not so easy the dressing gowns. No one seemed to know where housekeeping hid them. I eventually got a blue shortie style but nothing arrived for my husband over the 2 days. As we were DB and Breakfast we were eating in, but we weren't offered the option to eat in the Olympic restaurant and ate in the Bistro. Food was really lovely and the service excellent. Breakfast was in the Olympic and once again food and service was excellent. Our room was on the front and we didn't suffer any noise but it was a quiet time to go and the weather wasn't brilliant. Not sure the upgrade was worth the extra £20 each. Would recommend the White Swan and we would stay there again. Bed was huge and very comfy.

Room Tip: As we upgraded we were told we were in a superior room which was really nice and on the front. We d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HopalongNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. We have addressed the 'robe' issue now.

Hope to welcome you back,

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed at the White Swan for a weekend break to attend a wedding.

From the start, the staff were efficient and friendly and the room we were given (101) at the front of the building was large, comfortable and well appointed.

The Olympic suite is superb with wooden wall panels and windows from Titanic's lesser known sister ship together with photographs and other White Star Line memorabilia.

The breakfasts were very nice with a good variety of cereals and main courses.

The main meals meals were generally tasty and well presented with the exception of the curry served at the evening wedding buffet. The guy serving the curry was not particularly generous and I had to ask for another mini scoop to cover my small portion of rice. Bearing in mind, diners opting for the carvery meal had two meat portions, potatoes, and a selection of vegetables my portion of curry was MEAN! In the event, the curry was watery and tasteless so I suppose he was doing me a favour.

Parking in the side cap park is limited but there are public car parks nearby. The staff kindly allowed us to park after our check out to allow us to do some shopping.

All in all it was a lovely weekend and an enjoyable stay - thank you White Swan

Room Tip: Late night revellers yelling and singing in the street were a nuisance on the weekend we stayed so a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enkoyed your stay with us. You mention the car park, worth mantioning that it is free. in terms of the street noise, as I have stated before, I share guests frustrations and am commited trying trying to find a resolution.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed at the White Swan for 4 nights during February while on business in the area. The reception and bar staff were all friendly and helpful (unlike chef). I had a room overlooking the main road, it was spacious and the bed comfortable. Unfortunately the towels in the bathroom were all threadbare and had holes in! Something I have never encountered at any hotel before. I left them in the bath the next day and luckily they were replaced but certainly not with the nice fluffy towels we all prefer. Rather a let down in such a lovely hotel. The shower temperature control was jammed and I was not able to lower the temperature, however this was repaired the same day as I reported it. I could not pick up Wifi in my room, although reported this was never resolved.
Food and drink here are expensive.Dinner was not as good as expected, we had meals that were not hot and meals that were missing items that were stated on the menu. This was mentioned politely to the waitress, chef came out (this we thought was a nice touch....) but really all he did was tell my colleague how wrong she was. Embarrassing, uncomfortable and very disappointing. We chose to eat out in the town for the rest of our stay and had some very nice meals too.
Ideally placed for Alnwick Castle & Gardens, the unique and historic elements of this hotel are interesting, however I believe it to be overpriced for the standards you will receive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevandMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. I am sorry that some aspects of your stay where not satisfactroy. In relation to the towels we have a new linen supplier and where already addressing this issue when this review was posted. In terms of the chef, he was only trying to help and address any issues and concerns you had.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

we booked 6 rooms to stay overnight for my sons wedding at alnwick castle.The receptionist who was on duty when i booked was so helpfull ,i said i was going to a wedding and could we leave our cases as the wedding was at 2 pm ,she let us have early check in which made it so much better as we were able to change before the wedding .Bedrooms were clean and well maintained breakfast was really good loads of choice.We found all staff pleasant and helpfull even made us coffee at 1am when returning from wedding,we would not hesitate to book here again ...Thank You to all staff x

Room Tip: try not to have room overlooking street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrynewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. I'm delighted that we could play a part in your sons wedding.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had a couple of nights stay 3rd and 4th March lovely hotel, very friendly staff, food was super we had a d, b&b deal for £99 this gave us 3 courses off the a la carte menu and I cant fault it, room in modern extension at the back so very quiet and comfortable. Must not forget the decor staircase and lounge from Titanics sister ship well worth just popping in for coffee to see that.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your recent review. i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

James Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
5.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range: £82 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, HRS, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing