We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Traditional”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Nice big room facing the Main Street but not noisy. Good bathroom. Great location to enable wanders around the town. Breakfast was ok though could have given me two eggs! Traditional hotel with good service.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the main building - lots of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    342
    219
    103
    45
See reviews for
127
595
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

me and my husband have been travelling around northumberland for our holidays and we have been to many nice places for meals/drinks. on tuesday we decided to visit Alnwick to see the Alnwick gardens/castle and barter books, amazing places. we weren't sure where to stop for lunch until we seen the white swan hotel, where their main dinning room actually comes from the olympic ship (sister ship to the titanic!) however they don't serve lunch in the olympic suite but they do have a separate room called hardys bistro. we didn't have a booking but we got sat straight away by a lovely waitress who handed us everything we needed from a wide choice of menus, the wine list and then she introduced herself as kerry anne. she seemed to be the only one working and even though there were a few groups of customers in, she made us feel special as she attended to our every need, checked we were ok all the way through our meal and constantly topped up our drinks (just soft drinks, it was lunch time!) the food was lovely and a brilliant deal of 2-4-10, my husband had the soup and i had the skins to start with, then we both decided to have the beef. will defiantly be returning not only for the lovely service but hopefully for a nice stay aswell!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueprincess01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We booked our wedding package over a year before the event and had several meetings with staff on the build up to the wedding.
On every occasion we found the staff, all of them, managers, reception, bar, catering, event coordinators and by no means least the cleaners, to be friendly accomodating and efficient.
Nothing was a problem and the wedding was a complete success for our 150 guests and ourselves.
The hotel fits into the category of traditional with a modern slant and to be honest the rooms and general decor have been updated where possible (but maybe not recently) within the limitations of the building without altering its character unduly. Certainly we heard no negative comments from the guest occupants of the 25 rooms we had booked.
We dined with friends in the Bistro Retaurant on the evening prior to the wedding day and the meal was tasty and beautifully presented by attentive staff who were keen to please.
The wedding itself which was held in the fantastic Olympic Room went without a hitch mainly due to the fantastic work from dawn to dusk by Janek, the food and beverage manager, who worked tirelessly on our behalf to make sure things went well.
All in all we were so pleased that we picked this venue and although we appreciate the less than positive views expressed by some of the other reviewers we always take the view that it is a case of 'horses for courses' and its unfair to expect Hilton quality in a 300 year old coaching Inn.
We would like to publicly thank all of the White Swan Staff for making a wonderful Day into a memorable experience.................

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at this establishment over easter weekend 2014. Receptionist very efficient and friendly as were all staff we encountered during our stay. Food at breakfast and dinner
was well presented , hot and of decent quality . Alas the same cannot be said about the general facade and cleanliness of the room we were allocated. (210 on top floor) please see pics as example of what we encountered.. Dust in abundance , mouldy cracked window panel, badly soiled shower curtain, stained bed throw, Bodged up bath,these are just a few of our observations i could list many more. Its rather sad that what could be a very fine Hotel (good central location and fabulous history ) appears to be in the spiral of decay,This Hotel need a thorough overhaul before its too late and the cleaning issues need to be urgently adressed.

Room Tip: do not stay in 210 , very noisy at night due to late night revellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MR. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alnwick hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have just come back from a 1 night stay at The White Swan Hotel. We only booked the room the day before as an extension to our break in Northumberland.We were given the Warkworth suite on a B&B basis.
Firstly about the comments previously mentioned about decor: we thought it is in keeping with the hotel style/age and we didn't even think about that as it is a 3* not a 5*.
The staff are excellent - it was our 10th wedding anniversary and when we got into our room we had an anniversary card waiting. The suite was spacious and clean - towels were fluffy and certainly not threadbare or have any holes in them - when we left today the towels being put into all the rooms along the corridor were the same.
We had lunch in Hardys Bistro - about £5 for a sandwich which isnt too expensive - nice food.
We also chose to eat in the olympic dining room at night - £25pp for 3 courses with plenty of choice, we found the meal was hot, enough on plate to fill us up and feel we had eaten enough and walk out not hungry. However, if the dining room hadnt been available then Hardys has a good menu and again a good choice if you didnt want to pay that for 3 courses.
Hotel is in centre of Alnwick - so if you do get a room at the front then yes you do get a bit of general noise and this may annoy certain folk, but we coped ok with it and had a great nites sleep.
All in all our stay was great - if you book to go here remember you are not booking a 5*deluxe hotel - you get a 3* standard with 5* service from the staff, good food, prices average for hotels in the area & excellent location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is such a hidden gem of a hotel, its just stunning inside.

We had been to the hotel once before to look around for our wedding and my fiance suggested going for mothers day for a 3 course meal as a treat.

The meal itself was amazing, i had the pork with some beautiful cooked veg and the children had gorgeous childrens meals with home made chicken nuggets, they adored their food!

The service was professional and they staff were all really friendly and polite and it was a pleasure to have dined there.

There was a wedding on that day and the receptionist did advise us that when i made my booking, which i think was good as some people might of been a little put off with the hotel being on the smallish side.

I asked for a wedding pack but there was none that day but they emailed me a wedding pack straight away and i was shown the olympic suite set up for the wedding that day and was blown away by how beautiful it looked.

Needless to say we will be back and hopefully be booking our wedding very soon for next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turnerfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We booked The White Swan to eat in The Olympic Suite, as friends had seen this on The Great British Rail Journeys programme. Unfortunately my friend, who was travelling from Turkey, could only confirm our rooms not the restaurant booking? He was told that they didn't always open the olympic suite which was the main dining room. It was all very confusing as this seemed to be the hotel's claim to fame, its main feature and the reason many people would visit, including reveiwers on trip advisor, that have been disappointed by having to eat in the Bistro?

This hotel needs a refurb really, the potential is emormous, positioned right on the high street of Alnwick which has great independant shops, a treat these days, lots of parking close by, very attentive reception staff and the feature dinning room the original dinning room from the RMS Olympic (also in need of some TLC)

What a missed opportunity? We dined the night before the 12nd anniversary of the maiden voyage of the Titanic, yet no mention was made of this, no promotion and staff had no idea of the connection. This place has a incrediably unique feature that they seem to for the most part ignore. Such a shame.

Food was ok, but only offered a table d'hote menu with four choices, small portions and sadly luke warm, although tasty.

We couldn't help feeling that this could have been so much better!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePooksDurham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. On occassions the Olympic room may be closed due to a private party. It is always worht checking prior to arrival.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
5.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
328 reviews
11.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing