We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had two nights here and my brother got married here. Master of ceremonies was amazing, so helpful, and the other staff so friendly. Elderly grandmother looking for company at stupid o clock Sunday morning was greeted by a very friendly night porter who was happy to provide newspaper and a chat. Same night porter lit the fires and provided portable heaters for those of us in the lounge til late. Restaurant food night before was very enjoyable, wedding breakfast was perfect!!! Can't wait to return for a less exciting, more relaxing stay next time.

Room Tip: Ask for an extra heater if your room is cold, the night porter will provide one from reception.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelNorthEast22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let everyone know about your fantastic stay with us here at The White Swan Hotel.

We are so pleased you enjoyed this special time with us, I will be sure to pass your kind words onto Keith our Night porter.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for The White Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

We all know how important our daughter's wedding day is and getting it right is key. We want the best, we want them to feel special, we want them to feel like they are the only bride ever to be married.

We stretch ourselves and push the boat out to go for country houses or corporate sites like football grounds thinking its prestigious. The truth is that when we book at places like that we are a number in a large number and our daughters are at best a number and at worst an incovenience to the smooth running of their business. We feel let down at the end but by then the money has been spent.

So, before you book anywhere at all, my advice is to take a look at The White Swan- seriously professional, delightfully personal, traditional and beautiful. You entertain your guests in the Olympic suite which is steeped in history, basking in the mellow light created by stained glass windows and soft 1920s oak.

Your girl is made to feel like a VIP, not just on the day but EVERY time she walks through the door. Every one knows who she is and why she is there. Your every wish is fullfilled by the engaging and professional staff.

Your F&B manager Jannick Genouw is there, watching over things, speaking in your ear to keep you abreast of the order of the day, keeping things on track, creating solutions on the spur of the moment, delighting everyone with his witty and eudite banter. Sweeping silently and professionally through your reception pre empting any situation- even appearing at your side with tissues during emotional moments.

Stephen Spencer, the assistant manager, is a superstar. Taking care of every requirement including a chippy grandmother of the bride.

Bridget Taylor- whose capable front of house delivery makes you feel as if you can totally relax and enjoy the day.

And if you feel you can't book because there are fewer photo opportunities, think again! My daughter and her husband chose to be photographed using Alnwick castle as the backdrop and whilst there, lo and behold, Jannick and Stephen appeared mid session to serve them champagne from a silver salver in christal glassess as a surprise.

Such importance is placed on the big reveal for the room and how it is presented for your daughter.

I cannot impress upon you the fantastic experience created by this team! Don't take my word for it- go there and take a look. They actually deliver what you imagine when you are making your plans. They are big enough to manage and small enough to care. Your daughter is more important than the staff and smooth running of the place. And that's something no amount of money can buy. Well Done team- I was over whelmed by this outstanding performance of grandeur

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patriciahogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your lovely comments following your recent time with us at The White Swan Hotel.

We will be sure to share your kind words with all of the team at the hotel. It really does make all our efforts worthwhile when we receive such positive feedback as that given by your good selves.

The staff and management will be so pleased in the knowledge that your time with us was soo memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Northumberland & indeed Alnwick in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I recently stayed here with me wife on a small break away. The room was nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. We ate in the hotels stunning Olympic dining room. The meal was fresh, tasty and good portion size. Even though there was a large group in on the same night the service was very good. In particular we remember Karl and Katie who were both friendly and polite. Karl even served us at breakfast again the next day. The breakfast itself was good. A wide choice of cold items and a nice cooked option which was well presented and very tasty. All in a all a lovely night and we will be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank adam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let everyone know about your fantastic stay with us here at The White Swan Hotel.

Thanks again for your lovely words, the staff and management will be so pleased in the knowledge that your time with us was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Northumberland & indeed Alnwick in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My partner and I stayed in the White Swan for two nights while looking at houses in Alnwick. The location was perfect and the parking area was really convenient. The rooms were modern and clean but didn't feel at all clinical or sterile. We ate in the bistro for breakfast and one dinner The dinner was really good value and the food was really nice. I'd recommend it to anyone who wanted a central location, good rooms, and good food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your thoughts in relation to your stay with ourselves at the White Swan Hotel.

I was extremely pleased to learn of the numerous positives which you have expressed regarding your stay with us including our fantastic location.

I do hope you will return to the White Swan hotel and indeed Alnwick in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Not the first time I have stayed at the White Swan and it will not be the last. Quality and service of a very high standard. A problem with the hog water was very quickly attended to. Hotel is very well situated in the centre of Alnwick with a very useful car park, access is a little tight but it is an old coaching inn. Comfortable and modern where it needs to be. There was a coach party arrived during the stay, but this did not phase anyone, the level of service remained high, with no obvious drop in speed of service. Highly recommend this hotel. There is no swimming pool or fitness centre, cannot delete entry made in error

Room Tip: There is no lift to any floor
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your thoughts in relation to your stay with ourselves at the White Swan Hotel.

I was extremely pleased to learn of the numerous positives which you have expressed regarding your stay with us including our fantastic location.

Please accept my apologies regarding the hot water problem you experienced during your stay however as you have stated we were pleased with the quick resolve.

I do hope you will return to the White Swan hotel and indeed Alnwick in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I had my wedding reception at the White Swan on the 26th of April this year, I do not even know where to begin, it was awesome, the place is awesome and the staff are awesome!!! We arrived on the Friday and from the start were treated like royalty, we built up a fabulous relationship over 6 months with the staff from the White swan no request was too big or too small, the finer touches which we're added by the staff were beyond outstanding, Jannick Genouw arrived at Our photography shoot with champagne and managed the whole day from start to finish, Stephen Spencer is excellent at his job, works hard and gets things done we were all massively impressed they both made Our day the most fantastic day of our lives, no problem too big or too small. The F&B assistants Louise McCartney, Louise Swordy & Andrew Clarkson were brilliant at all aspects of the service, the reception staff Bridget,Sharna, Andrea and Sam were warm, welcoming and accommodating, I feel it's a massive shame that more people don't know about the white swan, for me this place measures up with the best of wedding venues. All of the food was Devine, the service was excellent, the accommodation is super comfortable, very clean and fresh there is literally not a thing I could haver picked out to be at fault with these guys, so if you are looking for a Wedding venue, a place to stay, a bit of class, a quiet weekend away, good food, very welcoming and friendly where you will be truly looked after, I cannot recommend this place enough!!!!! Cannot wait to go back A-MAAAAZING XXX

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review regarding your recent wedding with ourselves at The White Swan Hotel in April.

I was especially pleased to read your pleasant experiences with all our staff that are indeed all little gems! I will be sure to pass your thanks on to them along with the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Northumberland & indeed Alnwick in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed 1 night at the White Swan in Alnwick on 7th May for our Anniversary.

The hotel itself is situated on the main high street in Alnwick and does have a small parking area beside the hotel which was useful.

The rooms where clean and comfortable.
We had dinner in the bistro which was lovely and breakfast in the Olympic Suite in the morning. The Olympic Suite is well worth a visit by itself.

The staff where very friendly and helpful.

The only slight downside was our room location. The room we had was 101, it was right above reception and over looking the high street.
There was a lot of traffic noise until quite late at night, it did calm down a bit but started up again at 7am. I would avoid the front of the hotel if you are staying there.

At around midnight we were woken up to someone having a conference call! I am not sure if this was coming from another room or reception, it lasted around 20mins and was rather loud, but these are my only faults with the visit.

Overall had a lovely stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: Avoid a room at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
528 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
5.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range: £80 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing