We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Group Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Group Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The host was nice enough to seat us in the large banquet hall for fifteen of us. We were seated in the 'Titanic' room, which was very impressive.The room is an authentic dining room from the sister ship of the Titanic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Im glad you enjoyed your lunch. I hope you pay a visit from America again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    332
    212
    101
    45
See reviews for
121
581
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We had a very comfortable night here on our way to Edinburgh. The hotel is situated right in the middle of town with its own car park. We were on a special spring offer of afternoon tea, dinner, bed and breakfast. From the excellent value it gets 5 stars! The cuisine and service (particularly Jannick the food and beverage manager, in the bar and restaurant is 5 stars with an impressive afternoon tea (all home made) that exceeded expectations. Dinner was in the hotel's very impressive dining room, the Olympic, which has so much atmosphere with it's carved panelling actually from the ship, The Olympic! The rooms are in need up updating, but this would probably be reflected in the price. The hotel was packed probably because it is such extraordinarily good value.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed 'The Olympic'. Jannick and Chef will appreciatte the mention also.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Booked a month earlier could have got a better rate on line but negotiated a superior room at the slightly higher rate which was well worth it.
Hotel situated at a prime location in Alnwick, staff very helpful inclusive of friendly and accommodating management.
Room excellent and quiet even with the ballroom full of wedding revellers.
Service slip on first breakfast with some staff shortage but numerous apologise sufficed but not for all.
Included castle visit in our Fri/Sat stay, a must for visitors.
Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try to locate in the main building. Rooms facing the high street are still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badja1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your review. I hope we can welcome you back to the White Swan in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very well located for visiting Alnwick castle and gardens, the Hotel provides comfortable rooms, good food and friendly efficient service.
Breakfast and dinner were delicious, though latter not cheap.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverbackScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your thoughts in relation to your stay with ourselves at the White Swan Hotel.

I was extremely pleased to learn of the numerous positives which you have expressed regarding your stay with us including our fantastic location.

I do hope you will return to the White Swan hotel and indeed Alnwick in the near future.

Kind Regards

James Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had two nights here and my brother got married here. Master of ceremonies was amazing, so helpful, and the other staff so friendly. Elderly grandmother looking for company at stupid o clock Sunday morning was greeted by a very friendly night porter who was happy to provide newspaper and a chat. Same night porter lit the fires and provided portable heaters for those of us in the lounge til late. Restaurant food night before was very enjoyable, wedding breakfast was perfect!!! Can't wait to return for a less exciting, more relaxing stay next time.

Room Tip: Ask for an extra heater if your room is cold, the night porter will provide one from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelNorthEast22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let everyone know about your fantastic stay with us here at The White Swan Hotel.

We are so pleased you enjoyed this special time with us, I will be sure to pass your kind words onto Keith our Night porter.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We all know how important our daughter's wedding day is and getting it right is key. We want the best, we want them to feel special, we want them to feel like they are the only bride ever to be married.

We stretch ourselves and push the boat out to go for country houses or corporate sites like football grounds thinking its prestigious. The truth is that when we book at places like that we are a number in a large number and our daughters are at best a number and at worst an incovenience to the smooth running of their business. We feel let down at the end but by then the money has been spent.

So, before you book anywhere at all, my advice is to take a look at The White Swan- seriously professional, delightfully personal, traditional and beautiful. You entertain your guests in the Olympic suite which is steeped in history, basking in the mellow light created by stained glass windows and soft 1920s oak.

Your girl is made to feel like a VIP, not just on the day but EVERY time she walks through the door. Every one knows who she is and why she is there. Your every wish is fullfilled by the engaging and professional staff.

Your F&B manager Jannick Genouw is there, watching over things, speaking in your ear to keep you abreast of the order of the day, keeping things on track, creating solutions on the spur of the moment, delighting everyone with his witty and eudite banter. Sweeping silently and professionally through your reception pre empting any situation- even appearing at your side with tissues during emotional moments.

Stephen Spencer, the assistant manager, is a superstar. Taking care of every requirement including a chippy grandmother of the bride.

Bridget Taylor- whose capable front of house delivery makes you feel as if you can totally relax and enjoy the day.

And if you feel you can't book because there are fewer photo opportunities, think again! My daughter and her husband chose to be photographed using Alnwick castle as the backdrop and whilst there, lo and behold, Jannick and Stephen appeared mid session to serve them champagne from a silver salver in christal glassess as a surprise.

Such importance is placed on the big reveal for the room and how it is presented for your daughter.

I cannot impress upon you the fantastic experience created by this team! Don't take my word for it- go there and take a look. They actually deliver what you imagine when you are making your plans. They are big enough to manage and small enough to care. Your daughter is more important than the staff and smooth running of the place. And that's something no amount of money can buy. Well Done team- I was over whelmed by this outstanding performance of grandeur

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patriciahogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your lovely comments following your recent time with us at The White Swan Hotel.

We will be sure to share your kind words with all of the team at the hotel. It really does make all our efforts worthwhile when we receive such positive feedback as that given by your good selves.

The staff and management will be so pleased in the knowledge that your time with us was soo memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Northumberland & indeed Alnwick in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I recently stayed here with me wife on a small break away. The room was nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. We ate in the hotels stunning Olympic dining room. The meal was fresh, tasty and good portion size. Even though there was a large group in on the same night the service was very good. In particular we remember Karl and Katie who were both friendly and polite. Karl even served us at breakfast again the next day. The breakfast itself was good. A wide choice of cold items and a nice cooked option which was well presented and very tasty. All in a all a lovely night and we will be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank adam t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let everyone know about your fantastic stay with us here at The White Swan Hotel.

Thanks again for your lovely words, the staff and management will be so pleased in the knowledge that your time with us was memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Northumberland & indeed Alnwick in the near future.

Kind Regards,

James Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
11.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS and Agoda so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing