We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
North East Eangland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our deal of bed, breakfast, dinner and afternoon tea was great value. The afternoon tea was wonderful. Dinner was average but the location in the Olympic dining room was a good experience. The Sauvignon blanc wine at £18.50 a bottle was terrible, very acidly and rough. Car parking at the hotel is at a premium but after a bit of a wait we got a free long term one at the back of the hotel. Overall a good little break and we would certainly go back.

Room Tip: We had 2nd floor at the back of the old building and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galleryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. despite the wine not being to your pallate i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we can weclome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    346
    224
    107
    51
See reviews for
133
606
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from a fine overnight stay at the White Swan where we enjoyed our Wedding Anniversary. The staff and management were brilliant in terms of attention and service and I would like to thank them for ensuring that our stay was memorable. We took advantage of a special offer of Afternoon (Cream) Tea, Evening Dinner, Bed & Breakfast for an all-inclusive price and in addition to this, the staff also assisted in special requests I required to ensure my wife had a superb time.

Now it's not the fault of the hotel, staff or management, but the hotel has listed status, which means they cannot upgrade the windows (front facing) and about two years ago, a night club opened up, just the other side of the impressive town arch. Not a problem to be honest. The actual problem is the small pizza shop almost opposite which stays open late on Saturday nights to cater to the revellers from the night club. Whenever there's a warm evening on a Saturday or Bank Holiday, you can be assured that the club will be busy, which means the takeaway will be busy too. We stayed on a Saturday and there was some sort of altercation between revellers outside the takeaway which spilled on to the street. It totally destroyed our nights sleep.

Now the staff were very apologetic, however to be honest, it's a situation totally outside their control. So my advice to all who make reservations, is to follow up on the online booking form with a request for a rear facing room, at least if you are staying on a club night. The staff will do all they can to accommodate your requests.

Also ensure that if planning to dine (we fortunately did so) at the Olympic Restaurant (a truly impressive room taken from the RMS Olympic), that you reserve a dining spot, owing to limited covers available and occasional booking for weddings etc. Otherwise you will need to use the Bistro attached to the hotel. We booked a booth corner of the impressive dining room, taken from the First Class Dining Lounge aboard the Olympic and went the whole hog, dressing for dinner in full formal evening wear. Now dress is just smart casual and although we were deliberately over dressed, we didn't care. It just added to the magic of the evening.

You may also find that some of the standard double rooms are very small (hence warm in the Summer) and it may be worth considering upgrading to a suite (we plan to do so next time). Again however, speak to the hotel as some of the suites are front facing and would therefor suffer the same Saturday night blight affecting the smaller double bed rooms.

Room Tip: Look for a rear facing room not a front facing room owing to potential for noise on Saturdays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your detailed review. your points are valid and appreciatted.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

A fabulous experience from start to finish. On a deal of £129 for dinner, bed, breakfast and afternoon tea, nothing was too much trouble for the lovely staff. We were given an attic room with views down the Main Street. It was very clean and the marquetry of the swans was rather beautiful. All food in the restaurants was very good quality, but breakfast in the dining room was an amazing setting. The only complaint was an overlooked poached egg! Definitely recommended. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Attic room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review.

I hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had a long weekend with relatives. On a package including Dinner and on reflection would have opted for the freedom to dine out. Despite having a tremendous dining room the standard of food and choice was sadly lacking. It deserves better.
Having said that the Cream Tea (included in package) was incredible, bordering on too much!
A little tired in places and I was left to wonder after all these years why no-one has put an entry in to the hotel from the car park instead of hauling luggage back out in to the street and the revolving front door- not an easy task with a medium size suitcase upwards. Each night was disrupted by a party of 28 golfers knocking on doors trying to locate their rooms!!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms to the rear. Front rooms face main street and any late-nighters loitering outside.Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeWoodward_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. I am sorry not all aspects of your stay where satisfactroy.

I hope we can welcome you back to the White Swn in the future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunbridge wells
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is good rather than very good. The décor is a little dated and the food is good but not fantastic. The staff were without exception very friendly and helpful. The dining room features panelling and stained class windows from the sister ship of the Titanic and is very elegant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to welcome you back,

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Booked the White Swan based on the photographs on the Website and the location whilst in Dubai for a getaway when home on leave. £240 for two nights. the rooms allocated were not reflective of the pictures on the Website, We were in the annexe to the annexe, small and pokey room, very poor cleaning standard. There are also a lot of ups and downs getting to the annexe's so if you are not into stairs and navigating fire doors with cases qsk for the main hotel or avoid.

So if booking, do so direct and ask which room you will be allocated, from what I saw those in the older parts were a lot better laid out.

Good bits were a good breakfast menu, and when there was a problem with the shower it was fixed in a matter of hours.

Location is ideal for the Castle and the Gardens, and the best book shop in the world, Barter Books. It has it's own car park a good base for visiting the rest of the cost.

No real Bar as such, and the evening fixed menu not inspiring for £25/head and the Bistro was not a wide choice, however their are a good selection of restaurants around with a good choice of food and real ales. (Though Monday seems to be the closing day for a lot).

The title refers to the fact I spent the weekend in the Barton Grange Hotel in Preston, the only comparison was the extensions to the original meaning a meander, however from the greeting, the quality of the room and breakfast and menu for £95 a night considerably better value, but a long walk from Alnwick Castle.

Room Tip: Check which part you are booked in, the original building or the annexe or the annexe to the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jebelhasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your review. im sorry not all aspects of your stay where satisfactory. We do have a large building but will always offer luggage assistance if required. Our fixed price menu has a choice of 5 starters, main courses and desserts and our bistro menu has a choice of 8 starters, 8 main courses plus a grill section and 8 desserts. we always also happy to offer alternatives.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The host was nice enough to seat us in the large banquet hall for fifteen of us. We were seated in the 'Titanic' room, which was very impressive.The room is an authentic dining room from the sister ship of the Titanic.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Im glad you enjoyed your lunch. I hope you pay a visit from America again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
11.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing