We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Earlier in the week we spent 2 nights at the White Swan and we loved it! Why? The position in the middle of Alnwick. The brilliant staff - obliging, friendly, nothing to much trouble. Breakfast in the amazing Olympic dining room, a very special experience. Dinners in the Bistro. On a very busy Monday night the waiting staff were outstanding and the food was very good. Our room was fine. On the front of the hotel, but not noisy in the week.
This isn't a boutique hotel and shows signs of wear but that is part of the charm. Will absolutely definitely return to The White Swan we had a very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cally21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your honest review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    336
    216
    102
    45
See reviews for
125
586
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If you enjoyed the 60's you'll enjoy it here. Avoid room 7, and the 2 or 3 rooms close to it. They're very, very small. I could almost sense the embarrassment on the Receptionists face when the room key was first handed over! (They should/could consider converting that area to two suites.)
If you're in the hotel car park, beware of the kitchen extraction system. The industrial fan and ducting is aimed directly at passing guests. Not only can you detect exactly what's being cooked, but it blew my newspaper over most of Alnwick. The staff were trying to be enthusiastic, but witnessing the front of house, I wouldn't want to be behind the scenes. The food was quite good. Thankfully, they have the Castle, to provide for them. If they didn't, who knows!!

Room Tip: As above, avoid the annexe. I think the room numbers are 4,5,6,and 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oiseau30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

We clearly failed to meet your expectations. Not sure about living in the 60's though!

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alnwick hotels

South Killingholme, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This Hotel was brilliant the staff couldn't do more for you. Beds were very comfortable and generally everywhere was clean the sheets and towels where brilliant white. The dining room was amazing-the whole room was fitted with wood from the sister ship of Titanic which was called the Olympic-so artistic. Breakfast was very good-didn't have an evening meal because we travelled around the area. The rooms facing the road are noisy-due to pizza takeaway and this goes on until 3am. We experienced this and were given alternative room, so would advise booking with this in mind.

Room Tip: Room sat the back quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear reviewer,

Many thanks. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed at the White Swan once before so we knew what to expect. The hotel has seen better days but it has a faded charm and a very special ambience. We knew which rooms to avoid this time so we asked for one of the suites to give us a bit more space. The room was well furnished with all the expected items eg dressing gowns, slippers, toiletries, even chocolates so it was worth the extra money. We were told last time we stayed that it was not possible to install a lift due to it being a listed building so access to upper floors could be a problem for some people although there are ground floor rooms accessed via a ramp across the courtyard.

The reason I decided to write a review for this hotel was not the hotel itself but the quality of the staff and in particular Yannick the food and beverage manager who is an amazing asset to the hotel. All our friends and family who were staying in the hotel remarked on him. Nothing was too much trouble from finding an aerial for the TV in our room to telling us that if we got in late from our daughters wedding we could get night caps. He organised a large table for our pre wedding dinner the evening before the wedding without even being asked. He definitely went the extra mile and made our stay very pleasurable.

The location of the White Swan is excellent for Alnwick Castle and the beaches and castles of Northumberland. The quality and variety of the food served both in the dining room, the bistro and for breakfast is scrumptious. Also for people who like historic hotels the dining room has the most amazing oak panelling from the Titanics sister ship.

Room Tip: Ask for one of larger rooms or you may feel squeezed. Also if you are a light sleeper ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twojays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your very kind comments. We may have work to do in terms of decorating the hotel but I would certainly have the situation this way round rather than the opposite.

well done to Jannick also.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adderbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

You could pick many holes in the White Swan, but why bother if the overall experience is so enjoyable?
A bit of faded glory, with its magnificent dining-room straight out of the SS Olympic wonderfully attentive and enthusiastic if a bit naive staff, small room with an excellent bed, best kipper of the year, value for money dinner, and one of England's finest attractions just round the corner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WICKETKEEPER1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your comments. I hope we can welcome you back to the White Swan in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I were part of a large group staying for three nights in this delightful town. We were all welcomed warmly with tea and biscuits which was a surprise and the little touches of welcome continued with our key and menu for evening meal plus town map provided in an envelope to make checking in quick and easy, chocolates in the room and complimentary bottles of water. The room was a little cramped although it had a big window that actually opened and a proper bathroom with bath. Huge bed, probably two singles put together so comfy night sleep. My gluten free needs were well met - each evening I was given a menu with the items containing gluten crossed through and if there were insufficient choices for me, they had added ones off the menu - very helpful. They even swapped the evening meal roll for a gluten free roll without a fuss, and there was gluten free bread for breakfast too. Breakfast service was a little slow and occasionally chaotic in organisation but they were eager to please and we were a large group. On the last evening there was even some gentle music from a young guitarist. Alnwick is a lovely place too - would like to go back but maybe try a different hotel or ask to have a bigger room?

Room Tip: This hotel has no lift but there are ground floor rooms in the garden extensions. If you can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Many Thanks for you review.

Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us. we will always try and accomodate those with dietary requirments.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Though we are a couple, the sandwiches came in multiples of three, which was a bit odd. The Pimms jelly was a nice novelty (somewhat potent! Be warned!) but the homemade scones ... Words fail! Small rubbery offerings. Mary Berry would not approve! The surroundings were mediocre, staff very friendly. We bought afternoon tea vouchers via Tesco clubcard. If you're thinking of doing the same, I would say use them for something else or find another location. We went to Bagden Hall for a wedding a couple of years ago and the setting there is MUCH nicer. Same group of hotels so try tea there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 6diners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks. My appologies that your afternoon tea experience was below parr. I've certainly looked at the food provision and I would agree that the country house setting of Bagden Hall is ideal for afternoon tea rather than a townhouse setting.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
5.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
11.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
10.6 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing