We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newton Hall(Newton by the Sea)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,127)
Filter reviews
1,127 results
Traveller rating
320
382
247
121
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
320
382
247
121
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister shipthe olympic dining roomhardy's bistroolympic restaurantclassic lodgesafternoon teano liftcoach partyold coaching innthe hotel car parknight portercourse dinnerlovely hotelcooked breakfastthe main streetbottle of proseccoalnwick gardens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
563 - 568 of 1,127 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

After planning and then re-planning a break to Alnwick,we were very happy to stay at The White Swan. The staff have been and were marvellous during this process. Thank you Yannick. It was a pleasure to meet you when we arrived! Warm welcome from all staff from waiters,bar staff , reception and cleaners..couldn't fault any of them.We had a beautiful meal in the Olympic room and were made to feel very welcomed and valued. We were not rushed and enjoyed the whole experience.I would like to mention that we do travel and enjoy VERY nice places , so we do know one when we find one.
Our room was very clean and spacious.We got a very good deal which made our trip to the Castle and Gardens very enjoyable.Wonderful weather as well, would not hesitate to recommend this gem to friends or family.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kandagoaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for the great review. It is much appreciatted and I hope we can welcome you back to the White Swan in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here as two couples for 2 days. The White Swan is one of those old hotels charging high prices for relatively poor quality. We ate in the brasserie and had a reasonable steak dinner but when it came to splitting the bill we found that they had overcharged us and they seemed incapable of correcting their errors. Not sure even now that they got it right. The second night we ate in the main dining room and had a poor meal . The only reason we ate in, was that all the other restaurants seemed closed, on a Tuesday! Maybe it's an Alnwick thing!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

I am sorry that you stay was unsatisfactroy. We always endeavor to rpovide every guest with a great stay at the White Swan,

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed at the White swan in Alnwick July 2014. Not a great place, over priced and in need of a refurbishment. Even the corridors were shabby. The entrance hall and dinning area are very nice. the staff friendly and helpful it's a shame that they have to work in a place that has seen better days. Our room (204) could have done with a damn good clean, dirty marks on the walls and ceiling and mould in the bathroom. Oh and no soap in the bathroom.
Alnwick is a beautiful little town and deserves a better hotel, which to be fair they probably have (somewhere) my misfortune to find this one. Wouldn't recommend unless you are desperate for a place to stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks. as i have stated before, we have seen significant investment in the hotel over the past 12 months and continue to invest.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I went into Alnwick on Sunday 30th June and decided to have dinner at the White Swan. We went into the restuarant at about 7pm and asked at the bar if we could eat there even though we didn't have a reservation. The room was very quiet at the time, only about 5 tables in use, and the manager? offered us a table in the corner of the restuarant which we accepted and he said "I will bring over the menus in a moment". We sat at that table for a quarter of an hour being studiously ignored by all the staff, even though they had served two tables adjacent to us. Finally we decided that we had waited long enough and walked out. If the staff had been busy we would understand the wait but it was a quiet time with few diners in the room. We certainly would not return there either to eat or stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many Thanks for your review. it is my understanding that there was a few more than 5 tables occupied at the time however i stand corrected if this is not accurate.

My appologies,

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at The White Swan, totally agree with other reviewers, the hotel is a time warp and in need of being brought into the 21st century. The Staff are brilliant as is the breakfast and Bistro food, we received an upgrade to a suite, which was at the front of the Hotel and were subjected to quite a bit of traffic noise and night club revellers until beyond 2AM. So if offered the Bamborough Suite, ask for one away from the main street. Have stayed in better AA 3star Hotels recently. Not the fault of the Staff, but management need to get to grips with an upgrade.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James T, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review. i am delighted that you enjoyed your free upgrade and some aspects of your stay. In terms of management 'getting a grip'. I'm not sure modernising a building that in parts is 300 years old is quite the right thing for us to do but we have certainly been working on sensitively refurbishing parts of the hotel.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews