We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,194)
Filter reviews
1,194 results
Traveller rating
341
401
256
132
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
401
256
132
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister ship the olympic dining room olympic restaurant hardy's bistro classic lodges afternoon tea no lift coach party old coaching inn night porter public car park course dinner lovely hotel the main street superior room alnwick gardens central location
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,194 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

when i got here staff very friendly had dinner bed and breakfast dinner 3 course meal food very nice for the price the waiting staff excellent breakfast was great also . room clean and water nice and hot. reception staff very good and knowledgeable cant wait to stay again

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharna88, Guest Relations Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi George r,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

We're very please you have enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope we can welcome you back again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

Called in for a coffee to hopefully catch a look at the wonderful dining room. Super ladies on reception, very friendly and helpful. Dining room uses panelling from the Olympic - Titanic sister ship. It was a grand room indeed and we were very impressed. Beautiful staircase and revolving doors also from the ship. Coffee was lovely just what we needed, piping hot and served by a very polite young lady. A lovely hour and definitely worth a visit. Thanks from James, Gaz and Kim :)

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharna88, Guest Relations Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Hi kim m,

Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review, we appreciate the kind comments.

We are very lucky to be able to have the Olympic Suite in out hotel, it is certainly something special and the coffee in Hardy's Bistro is extremely good!

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

Stayed 2 nights in August (2 of us).
Helpful front desk. Room on the small side but generally OK. Good (and reasonably priced) breakfast in the "Olympic salon" restaurant.
Had read reviews that the rooms facing onto the front could be noisy in the evenings but we didn't notice anything and slept well.
Didn't eat in the restaurants (except for breakfast) so can't comment on them.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage try to get an upgraded room.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharna88, Guest Relations Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Hi David P,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

I'm pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. We understand some of the rooms are smaller than we would like them to be unfortunately because of the buildings age and status we are very limited in terms of building work which we can carry out.

We hope to welcome you back again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Went for lunch today with my wife, father and grandson, the food served was nothing more than frozen food, scampi should be skimpy, absolutely awful, child's pizza tasted of sugar, was absolutely terrible, the burger came on stale bun which sent back only to come back with hard rotten chips... The chef must not have normal standards, probably drafted in from McDonald's. Almost & £40 for dog food.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Very helpful staff who gave us information on local walks and attractions as well as information about the hotel itself.
Hotel v welcoming of our dog, on arrival we found in our room a bowl, towel, bag of biscuit treats and some cleanup bags for her.
We had an evening meal in the Bistro which was absolutely delicious. Breakfast was also very good.
Excellent central location in the town.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Pamela8833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharna88, Guest Relations Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Hi Pamela8833,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate the kind comments,

We enjoy having our four legged friends stay with us just as much as our two legged ones (sometimes more!).

I will pass on your comments regarding food to the Chef, he will be pleased to hear it was enjoyed

We hope to welcome you both back to the hotel again in future. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews