We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at the White Swan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Derby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Christmas at the White Swan”
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Lets start with the easy bits:-
Would we go back? - Yes
Was the stay value for money - Yes.

Now the detail.

Location. We've never been to Alnwick before, and we were very pleased with the character of the town, local walks and sights and so on. The hotel is ideally situated in the town. Parking was not a problem.

Hotel. Very welcoming, cosy and clean. I've stayed at many modern hotels which are only 'surface' clean but couldn't fault the white swan for the high standard of cleanliness.

Room. Well decorated, proper bath with endless hot water, LCD TV and DVD in room, HUGE double bed, plenty of storage. It was a bit noisy though due to banging fire doors and noisy stairs, however this hotel is an old coaching inn so thats understandable - I've also been in plenty of modern hotels which were no better. Didn't affect our sleep at all.

Food. Varied from excellent to good. Breakfast excellent, Christmas eve meal excellent, Christmas dinner very good (hard to be 'excellent' with turkey I think,, but I could have chose something else) and buffet on boxing day good. One let down was christmas day evening buffet which was only average, and the boxing day buffet should have been a meal (two buffets in succession is two too many - I'm not a buffet fan) although quality wise it was good.
If critical, I'd like to have seen more veg and fruit choices on the buffets.

Staff. Brilliant. All friendly, nothing is too much trouble. The staffing of this hotel is a key strength and makes all the difference when staying away for Christmas.

Oh, and the olympic dining room (and the service therein) is great.

We'll be back - maybe for a new year break next time.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSmithGM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to express your opinions regarding your stay with us over Christmas. My management team and staff will be delighted with your comments regarding the friendliness of the team. We are so please you enjoyed your various aspects of your visit. We will discuss in detail some of the points which you raised at our Christmas de-brief meeting with the rest of the management body in January. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,


Paul Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    342
    219
    103
    45
See reviews for
127
595
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We spent the Xmas weekend at the Swan in Alnwick and had a lovely time. The hotel was nice, the room wasn't anything extra special as we just stayed in a normal double, but it was clean and comfortable. I loved the dining room. It added to the charm and we enjoyed looking at the wood/glass work and thinking about its history. Alnwick is a lovely town and with the castle right around the corner we enjoyed some nice walks despite the snow and ice. I have to give a big KUDOS to the Swan's staff. There wasn't a bad apple in the lot. They were all wonderful and added a special touch to our visit. We had a hot water issue and they were very helpful in getting it sorted and making sure we were accomodated. We would definitely recommend the hotel and the Alnwick experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrkenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSmithGM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Christmas period. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,


Paul Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

As some previous reviewers have noted, the hotel is nothing special except for one detail -- the dining room interiors are from the Olympic, the Titanic's sister ship and therefore has a great atmosphere. Sadly, the food was not so good -- we only had breakfast/brunch there but nothing seemed particularly fresh or interesting. The room we had was ok, the en-suite bathroom was very small but clean. Getting there though felt like walking through a maze, but then again, it's an old building. Nevertheless, they should do some soundproofing. I am pretty good at sleeping with noise, but here you could hear everything (!) that went on in the next room. Not so nice. Staff were friendly but not so helpful. We arrived an hour before the official check-in but no room was ready and even after the check-in time there weren't ready. The location is fine, right in the center of Alnwick.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthilein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulSmithGM, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review following your stay with ourselves at The White Swan Hotel. Might I ask that you contact me directly at the property as we are unable to pinpoint your specific booking. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and look forward to hearing from you shortly.

Kind Regards,

Paul Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night taking advantage of their autumn deal. We had dinner, bed and breakfast for £85. This included a cooked breakfast, a three course dinner with coffee and a bottle of wine in a superior double room. The staff were all very helpful and friendly, the dining room was amazing having come from the sister ship of the Titanic (the Olympic). The bedroom was very pleasant and nicely decorated with front facing view over street. Although the road was busy during the day it quietened considerably during the evening.
Negatives- The bathroom although spotless and nicely decorated was far too small. The food was well presented but on the whole good but could have been better and the soundproofing between rooms could be better.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackbunny027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We booked the White Swan on a winter deal; great value with 3 course dinner inclusive and a complimentary bottle of wine. Our booking was very professionally handled and the flowers that I ordered were ready in the room on check in.
We were upgraded to a junior suite for which we were very appreciative, and the room was spotlessly clean, recently redecorated, and well appointed.
We were disappointed with our evening meal, chosen from a 3 course, 4 choice menu which promised more than it delivered.
Breakfast was better though, and I was great to be served a breakfast freshly cooked to order at the table rather than use a buffet counter.
We had a lovely stay and enjoyed our "evening with Johnnie Walker" (the DJ, not the Scotch) who we discovered was on at the Playhouse, just yards down the road.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
Alnwick has many attractions which ensure the return of many guests time and time again, with the Playhouse Theatre one of the popular venues which are guests frequently use. Thank you for choosing the White Swan Hotel to celebrate your anniversary. I was delighted to learn that our reception team were able to extend you a complimentary suite upgrade, and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Stephen who handled your booking. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the evening meal offering and I will be sure to review your comments with the kitchen team in detail. Our autumn / winter offer is great value for money and extremely popular with our guests, we are sorry that meal let down by all regards was a memorable and special anniversary. Kind Regards Paul Smith General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We were met in a lovely Reception, by very pleasant gentleman. The room was very large, clean and confortable.
Lunch in Bistro was lovely and even better in the Restaurant
Will be booking for a break inbetween Christmas and will be on our list for repeat visits.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time let us know, and all other Trip Advisor users, how your enjoyed your stay with us. Our true gems are the many staff and managers what work so hard in the hotel to ensure all guests have a lovely time with us. They will be delighted to learn of your high praise; please do contact me personally when re-booking for the festive period and I shall attend to your reservation directly. Kind Regards Paul Smith General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Very pleasant greeting on arrival. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. We ate in the Bistro and also in the main restaurant, the food in both was tasty and well presented. The staff in the hotel were helpful and friendly during our stay. Alnwick itself is very quaint and a delight to walk in.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2010
It’s always great to get excellent feedback I will ensure that management and staff are aware of your praise at our next weekly meeting. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Paul Smith General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
6.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
6.4 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
5.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
328 reviews
11.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Property: The White Swan Hotel
Address: 16 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the historic market town of Alnwick and only a stone's throw from Alnwick Castle and Gardens, The White Swan is a charming 300 year old coaching inn that blends its unique heritage with superb accommodation.For generations one of the North of England's primary hotels, The White Swan is probably best known for its Olympic Dining Suite which features the magnificent panelling, mirrors and stained glass windows from the Titanic's sister ship. All 57 bedrooms are designed to an impeccable standard, and Hardy's Bistro, our contemporary, informal dining experience, is open all day for coffee, light lunches and an excellent bistro menu.The perfect stopover en route to Scotland, we're also your base for discovering the famous gardens at Alnwick Castle, and a tour of the very best of the North East with its unspoilt coastline, historic castles and Holy Island, Northumberland National Park and the exciting cities of Durham and Newcastle. Then return to the hotel for a traditional afternoon tea in front of the fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel, Alnwick Hotel Alnwick
White Swan Alnwick
White Swan Hotel Alnwick
The White Swan Hotel Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing