We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as big as expected but lovely all the same”
Review of The Alnwick Garden

The Alnwick Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.40*
and up
Viking Coast and Alnwick Castle Small Group Day Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #2 of 42 things to do in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Alnwick Garden is one of the world’s most extraordinary contemporary gardens. From poisonous plants and treetop walkways to glorious roses and towering delphiniums, the Duchess of Northumberland’s vision for a forgotten plot is now a truly 21st century experience full of imagination and fun, all brought to life with water.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not as big as expected but lovely all the same”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was expecting a bigger garden but it is small but perfectly formed! It is broken up into sections and these are easy to navigate.

The Poison Garden was my favourite and is fascinating. A lot of people were stunned that their garden plants were incarcerated in there!

I also loved the fountains, which were lovely and cooling as the sun came out and temperatures rose.

Even if you aren't that into gardens this has plenty to keep you entertained.

I also recommend the Sherry Trifle jam from the gift shop!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank oggrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,749
    815
    357
    175
    96
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day out”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Parked in alnwick and walked through to the gardens. We visited twice during our week in the area as we purchased a garden lovers ticket which means we can visit as many times as we wish and get 10 tickets for friends to use. The gardens were lovely and well worth the entrance fee when you consider the amount of work that must go into maintaining the gardens themselves. There were gardeners all over the place. Took our 16 month old nephew who enjoyed being able to wander around on the paths around the site and enjoyed sitting on the diggers, although I do agree on them spoiling the view of the cascade. If you are a keen photographer there are plenty of opportunities to practice your skills

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overpriced & smaller than I thought”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I had great expectations of the Alnwick Garden and was somewhat surprised at how small they are - they are definitely over hyped!

The extortionate entrance fee is simply not justified & I would strongly recommend skipping and going to the local National Trust property (Cragside) as this is better by far - oh and all for a good cause.

On walking towards the main entrance you are greeted by huts trying to get you to part with more money before you even see a plant including one hut selling just sweets - nice tactics for families with children!

The various gardens themselves are ok, and laid out well but nothing special, more gimmicky - the Bamboo Maze & water (art) features had screaming kids running riot so they are lost on anyone wanting to appreciate their full potential. Yes there is a large water feature which is impressive & a collection of cherry trees, so what. The poison garden is just some bloke telling you that you can die a horrible death if you eat some plant that he points at and then follows up with anecdotes from previous visitors who confirmed this - really!

The best bit about the gardens is the clean toilets.

So in summary I would save your money for something better & give the gardens a miss.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mjcYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Its a garden!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Lovely garden,well maintained. Why are there nasty plastic toy tractors in front of the cascade?Tree house a bit smaller than I expected.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jiblian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“over-rated”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Reviewed this along with the castle as you can see both at the same time. Was expensive and not worth it. The spring flowers had finished flowering and the summer ones weren't ready -walked round in about 20 minutes

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alnwick Garden also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to The Alnwick Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing