We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value at new hotel”
Review of The Hog's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hog's Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Ashington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great value at new hotel”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed here recently overnight and was very impressed by service, spacious rooms, and quality food. This new hotel is very well appointed and situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Alnwick and within easy reach of the beautiful Northumberland coast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you so much for your review and the five stars :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    151
    54
    17
    8
See reviews for
137
206
14
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We recently had a family meal, eight people, at the Hogs Head Inn and with it being a Friday evening the restaurant was exceptionaly busy, however the quality of the food and service was excellent. The staff are very friendly and their attention to detail is very impressive. We will certainly re-visit the hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pongo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
We hope you do indeed revisit! Thank you for the review and five stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiddingstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We saw this hotel on the net and were a bit worried after phoning reservations to be told it had only just opened, but everything turned out fine. It's not luxurious, but all is clean and tidy and decorated to a good standard. The breakfast is tasty and hot and presented well. Only a couple of miles outside the centre of Alnwick and only a stones throw off the A1, it's very handy as a base.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for your review - just to make one point we are actually a pub with rooms and as such don;t have a reservations desk... Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a weekend in august just a couple of weeks after opening. When I rang to book room was booked into 2 rooms they were joined and these were really nice. A nice touch was the hotel rang on the day to confirm we were coming and asked how we wanted the rooms set up which I thought was a really nice touch. The rooms are new so are clean and comfortable, they have tea and coffe plus bathroom has shower gel. there is a restaurant downstairs which we used for breakfast and dinner on second night and was really good. there is a service station next door if you need any extras. The only problem we had was it wasnt signposted very well but hopefully that may be sorted soon as if you miss turn off you end up back on a1 and have to drive a long way to get off the a1 again. We had a great weekend staff are really nice and will hopefully return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
We certainly hope you return again too! Thanks for the great review and five stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Me and my family stayed at The Hog's Head Inn for a weekend earlier this month.

I have to say we were very impressed. The venue is absolutely lovely and the staff made us feel very welcome.

We had adjoining rooms which were really convenient with having two children with us. They were more than comfortable, very clean and had everything that you would need for a weekend trip.

The food was very nice, we had an evening meal, breakfast and a carvery while staying at the venue and we were very impressed with every meal we had. We also took friends and family up the weekend after for a carvery as it was that nice!

The venue is also very close to Alnwick Castle & Gardens, so is really convenient for families looking for fun trips out.

Overall, I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for the review and five stars! Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on two occasions. On both occasions my husband and I had a lovely stay.

The rooms are large, spotless, with large comfortable beds (so much so we slept in!)

We had two evening meals here and the food was very tasty- love the crab and prawn starter and the seabass. The puddings were very tasty.

In particular, we were very happy with the service we received. The staff were friendly and always happy to help and we felt they could not have done more for us.

An asset to Alnwick and a great base to explore Northumberland.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
And this review is an asset! Many thanks and hope to welcome you again. We appreciate the five stars too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Don't get me wrong the look of this place is fantastic, the staff were friendly & they have san miguel on draft. That aside i would say i was very disappointed, the menu, where do i start? Well first of all if your not a pork lover(which i'm not) there is not a lot to choose from. I found the kids menu a little strange too, a goats cheese tart?? Their lunch menu i would have to say isn't great either. Anyway we ordered in the end two kids meals and a burger which took an amazing 45mins & it wasn't busy & i would have at least expected the food to be hot on arrival not warm! Our coleslaw was warm, my chips had been reheated and the taglailette was very bland to say the least. There was at least 5 tables around where we were sitting that needed cleared but staff walked past and our table only got cleared when my son wanted to order dessert, One word= disappointing

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prima7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
We do like to think we have plenty of non porky dishes - all we can say though, is please come back and give us another try?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,003 reviews
7.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
4.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
328 reviews
8.6 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hog's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Property: The Hog's Head Inn
Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hog's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing