We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hog's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hog's Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

MY wife and I were visiting our son who lives nearby from 16-20 February 2013, but he was unable to accommodate us for the first night, 16 Feb, due to work commitments so we booked this hotel on line for 1 night accepting their winter break offer of Dinner, Bed & Breakfast at a special rate of £44.50 pppn Total price £89.
The staff were friendly & helpful, the whole hotel was spotlessly clean and we chose a twin bedded room which was very quiet despite being close to the A1 road and had two very large and comfortable twin beds, with excellent furnishings & carpets. The bathroom was modern and spotless with white fluffy towels and everything worked without any problems. The room had an excellent flat screen TV with Freeview and tea and coffee making facilities. My only criticism was only 4 small pots of milk were provided but more were provided by reception on request.
The hotel was quite busy with resident & non rsident diners during the evening but we had no problem finding, and no wait for a table.Service was friendly and as the food was cooked to order we had an acceptable short wait. Our weekend deal allowed us to choose any two courses from starter, main and sweet and we opted for starter and main only with drinks from the bar. The food was well presented and helpings fairly generous though we did think a few courses from all on offer were rather overpriced for what they were.
Breakfast next morning was self service and there was a good choice of cereals and fruit plus full English with a variety of dishes to choose from, plus the usual toast, tea and coffee. One minor criticism was that the full English dishes were being kept warm in containers and some of what we selected was not very warm, in fact only tepid when we would have preferred slightly hotter.
There was a minor hiccup on checking out when we were initally charged for 3 people in a twin bedded room but this was rectifed when the error was pointed out.
The hotel is situated right next to the busy A1 road but we were not disturbed by any traffic noise in our room and there was plenty of car parking all covered by CCTV.
Not sure what the normal price for the room is when the winter weekend deal is not running but believe it is quite a lot more expensive for one night and it was the special deal price that attracted us in the first place. Would stay again if a deal on and not full price

Room Tip: Rooms away from ther bar and main entrance are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almondonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
What a comprehensive review. Thank you so much for taking the time to do this. Much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back to our inn soon! Thank you, too, for the 5 stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    147
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
134
195
14
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

We stayed here on the 3 night Winter Special rate which was great value and we got snow for free!
Food was delicious, very friendly and helpful staff, room spotlessly clean and warm during very cold weather. Will certainly return in the future, highly recommended by two happy visitors.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room on first floor, no bath but a lovely shower room. If you need a bath I suggest m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meadowmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for a great review and for the five stars! Please just ask if you would like a bath or shower when you book in! Hope to welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed in September 2012 not long after the hotel opened. I could not fault the room at all, it was huge with a really big and very comfortable bed. The bathroom too was large with a good shower over the bath and lovely fluffy towels. Breakfast was fine, buffet style with everything you need. The location was OK just off the main road into Alnwick at a kind of service station, nice and quiet and fine for getting around the area. Great place to stay if you just want a base and will be out for the day, not the kind of place to stay if you want to stay around the hotel all day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank huttongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you so much for your review - we hope to welcome you back to the inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

I would recommend this Hotel as a quiet and relaxing establishment. I stayed on xmas eve and xmas day in a double room,the room had everything one would need for a long or short stay. It had a kettle with coffee,tea ,milk and sugar,it also had a large modern tv,hair driyer,iron and ironing board and a combination safe. All the furnishing was new and the Double Bed was extra large,it also had free internet connection.The Hotel was very clean and the Northumberland breakfast was five star,The staff were very friendly and helpful.I will definitely stay at THE HOGS HEAD INN the next time i am in Northumberland.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky72_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
That is such a lovely review. We were delighted you could join us for our first Christmas! Hoping to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garstang, Lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed at the Hogs Head Inn for 2 nights with 3 children aged 4,9 and 12. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been any more welcoming, they put us in 2 huge interconnecting rooms so we also had the benefit of 2 bathrooms between us. Hot drinks and biscuits in the rooms too as well as ironing facilities and hairdryers.
The place is far nicer than any Premier Inn we've ever squeezed into as a family... and the help-yourself breakfast is included in the price so the children (and us) could eat as much as they wanted. It was lovely, too.
We dined there in the evening too, not a bad menu and reasonably priced. Again, no stress with eating there with the children and the children's menu was great for them.
Service at all times was friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble.
In fact, the chef from the hotel ran us into town in their minibus... we were given a business card and they came to pick us up later that day at no extra cost. No messing with taxis and no waiting. Fantastic service!
The place is spotless as were the rooms we stayed in.
Wouldn't hesitate to return if we are in the area again and would thoroughly recommend to families who are sick of being squashed in average 'budget' accommodation.
Prices are reasonable too... we paid £130.00 per night - and that was for 2 massive rooms, sleeping 5 with breakfast included. Bargain.

Room Tip: If you have a large family - request interconnecting rooms... same price as us all sleeping in one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psjehartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thanks for leaving a first-class review and such a comprehensive one at that, too! We were delighted to welcome you and the family and hope you'll return again soon! Three cheers to for five stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr. Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

When our grown up children and family come home to Durham from as far afield as Milan, Frankfurt and Yorkshire, we inevitably take them out on a trip to the Northumberland coast with it's beautiful beaches and historic castles. In the past it has always been a problem finding a venue on the way back to Durham with adequate parking and plenty of space to accommodate a large family for a meal. With this in mind my husband and I thought we would try out the Hog's Head Inn at Alnwick on Sunday 6th.January to see whether it would be suitable for our needs. Delighted to see that the carvery was available on Sundays I tucked into succulent and very tasty turkey and my husband lean and tender topside of beef, although we were told by one of the chefs that we could have had a portion of each of the three meats available, that is, pork, turkey and beef. The portions were very generous. Then we could help ourselves to a choice of each of the following: giant Yorkshire puddings, crackling, stuffing and other sauces, roast potatoes, baby potatoes, swede, carrots and peas, broccoli, cauliflower and red cabbage with gravy. The vegetables were perfect.. not soggy but not too hard. The carvery main course was absolutely delicious. I followed this with a sticky toffee pudding and ice cream, while my husband sampled chocolate fudge cake and ice cream. Both were fantastic! It was also obvious that the staff have been well trained and the restaurant itself was spacious and spotless. It is a pity we live so far from this Inn, because it would be tempting to nip in every Sunday for our lunch. We will, however, be taking our ever growing family there on our frequent visits to wonderful Northumberland. I am a great believer in complaining but also giving credit where it is due. On this visit I had nothing but praise for the value for money meal and warm and friendly surroundings in this lovely Inn. Karolyn T.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
That is a lovely review. Thank you so very much. We hope to welcome Family T on their next reunion! Thank you for the five stars too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

My Elderly Disabled Mother stopped here from 23rd Dec until 30th Dec. From the start the entire staff were polite and kind.My Mother needed to change rooms at my request and they did this whilst she had breakfast. They got my mothers breakfast for her and helped her whenever they could. Nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend the Hogs Head to any one. We also had Christmas meal there for a 8 family members which was superb and we did not feel rushed at any time.

Room Tip: If Disabled request a room near to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorb1976, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
We were delighted to welcome you and your Mother. Thank you for troubling to leave a review. We hope to welcome you again in the future. The five stars are appreciated too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
7.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
8.6 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
8.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hog's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Property: The Hog's Head Inn
Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing