We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hog's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hog's Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Llandudno, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We visited last weekend and requested a disabled room the room was huge with plenty of room for my husbands scooter , service and food excellent the staff were a credit to the manager ,house red highly Recommended and the rib eye steak was superb .
Will visit again ,a great hotel in a great place

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anncr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Delighted to read your review and to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We're looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks for the five stars as well! Hurray!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    143
    51
    14
    8
See reviews for
132
190
14
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kendal,
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I enjoyed an excellent night at this hotel. Spotlessly clean,modern premises. The room was spacious with comfortable, kingsize plus bed. Bathroom beautifully clean with reasonably powerful shower. Restaurant was spacious, well furnished and again spotless. Menu was well thought out, food was good value and well presented and service was attentitive.Complementary breakfast was also excellent quality. All of these things were great but what was really remarkable was the charm, friendliness and professionalism of the young staff. They made the stay special.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishmandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
What a lovely review. It is so good to get feedback like this. We will feed it back to our team who are brilliant! We really hope to welcome you again soon. Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply - and for the five stars as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Have stayed in the hogs head for some time now and I have taken advantage of the winter rate deal and I was so impressed with what I found.
Rooms: spacious and always clean.
Decent internet
Good strong shower
Meals: Great menu
Always to a high standard
Big buffet breakfast if wanted
Staff: Good customer relations
Nothing was a problem

Room Tip: All rooms to the same high spec, if anything I liked the smaller rooms, as there was still plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disc01888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Well we're glad you did! And what a useful and comprehensive review it was too. Thanks for that - and for the five stars as well. Hope to see you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alconbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Hogs Head Inn with a group of Golfers. Plenty of Free parking excellent polite and attentive staff; Rooms generous size with all the necessary facilities. Restaurant was good, buffet breakfast very good and evening meals good standard albeit a little pricey. Location of the hotel in close proximity of A1 however very little traffic noise noticed and very handy for getting around. Highly recommend this to groups of golfers as it is an excellent bae and the hotel is set up for golfing parties even supplying free transport into Alnwick during the evenings.Hotel is overall very clean fresh and modern and definitely is a place which is an excellent base for visiting Alnwick and the stunning Northunbrian Coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2702bobjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to leave a good and fair review. We have lots of great golf courses on the doorstep as you've discovered and were delighted to be featured by Golf Monthly recently. We hope you return to stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We wanted a week in Northumberland before the weather changed. We stayed at The Hog's Head because it was one of the few hotels that had a room - just one.

It's a lovely place to stay. The room was one of the best we have had. Plenty of room. Good service and tea making facilities.

We were welcomed upon arrive and showed to our room. Breakfast was very good if you want a cooked breakfast. There was nothing available for those that did not want a cooked breakfast but I don’t know what was available upon request. We had dinner at the hotel on 3 evenings. The menu was quite good but did not change so choice was becoming a bit of a problem towards the end of out stay.

The hotel is just off the main road, It’s on an industrial park but still quiet. The big benefit of this is that there is a massive car park - sadly lacking with so many hotels these days.

It’s just over a mile if you want to walk into Alynwick - we did it twice. Being close to the main highway it is so easy to get to all the main attractions on the coast.

Staff were excellent and very friendly.

We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank anythingwilldo_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
A cracking review - thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a helpful review to others. Much appreciated by The Hog's Head Team - we're delighted you enjoyed your time at our inn and indeed in Northumberland. On site car parking is very handy - nothing worse than having to traipse with bags and feed parking meters.. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here in July 2013 and found the rooms excellent. The decor was very modern and fresh, great beds and very clean. The bar is large and spacious with a good range of beers. The choice of meals was large and the food we tried was delicious. We found the staff super friendly and helpful.

I've read previous posts that infer that this place is like a certain pub chain, what utter nonsense!!

The only suggestion for improvement would be nets on the room windows as our room overlooked a busy beer garden and didnt offer much privacy.

Other than that it was superb.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Really appreciate your comments and support. We certainly aren't a chain but a privately owned and operated inn with rooms. Net curtains are on their way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had a lovely stay here and the service and food were excellent. Beware though you can hear traffic if you stay on the side of the main road.

(I submitted a review of the Hogs Head Hotel a few moments ago in error, and meant to review the Alnwick location, which is where we stayed).

Room Tip: Away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and for the five stars! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
7.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
8.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
14.5 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hog's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Property: The Hog's Head Inn
Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing