We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at Alnwick Castle”
Review of The Hog's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hog's Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding at Alnwick Castle”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We would like to thank all members of staff for the 5 star service we received on the weekend of our sons wedding. Everything from the cleanliness and spaciousness of the rooms to the friendliness and courteousness of the staff was commented on by all our family and friends. A special mention to the bar staff who worked into the early hours of the morning after we returned on the night of the wedding. We're aware that their patience and good humour may have been stretched to the limit,!!!!! Mick and Carolyn Todd

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
What a cracking review - thank you so much. We really appreciate you taking the time to do this and for the five stars too. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    147
    54
    16
    9
See reviews for
137
199
14
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have to admit that my heart sank when i saw how close the hotel is to the A1, however this modern building is so well insulated that you can barely hear the passing traffic and it certainly didn't affect my night's sleep.

The staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming, which is refreshing for such a young team.

The rooms are spacious and well equipped with every amenity that a traveller could expect including a hairdryer, ample tea, coffee, biscuits and plenty of spare pillows of varying degrees of hardness to satisfy the fussiest of sleepers.

The hotel is a short drive from the town centre of Alnwick where there are plenty of eating options; however I was booked onto the special winter break which included dinner and breakfast so I ate at the hotel. There is a wide range of options on the evening menu including a sumptuous range of puddings. The morning breakfast is an 'all you can eat' buffet style which includes cooked options, cereals, fruit, toast and muffins, which easily sets you up for the day.

Highly recommended and if i am ever visiting Northumberland again I shall not hesitate to book at the Hogshead.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thanks for a fair and frank review - yes, we are close to the A1, but we are like a haven of calm! And much quieter than a town centre room too! We're delighted you slept soundly with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for the five stars too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I can only repeat what my fellow walkers, all of a certain age, have already said about this near perfect hotel. The staff were all friendly and accommodating, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, Ringtons tea and biscuits, hair dryer, soap and shower wash all provided, food was plentiful with a good selection for different tastes. There were 67 of us and the staff were still smiling when we left!!!!! We hope to return next year, if they'll have us.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have a bath, some rooms are nearer the A1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
If they'll have you?! We can't wait to welcome each and every one of you again! Thanks for making us smile with a jolly good review and for your kind words - and the five stars too! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here on their winter break weekend from Friday 21st March to Monday 24th March with friends from our walking group, The room was large and very clean, the food excellent, both breakfast and evening meals had pleanty of choice and every thing was well cooked. The staff could not have been better, very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them all in all it was a great break and we plan to stay there again next year

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a jolly good review - roll on next year and welcoming you and your party again! Thanks for the five stars too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here 5 weeks earlier this year on business in the area. The hotel is spotlessly clean and all the staff very friendly and helpful. Free Wifi is available.
The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and cleaned daily. I can not fault them. Ground floor rooms have a bath with shower over and the first floor rooms a shower cubicle. There was slight road noise from rooms at the back of the hotel from the A1, but this was by no means too loud, I personally preferred a room on the front of the hotel. There is a lift so no need to struggle with heavy suitcases up stairs!There are some rooms available for dogs to stay too - a nice idea as this is a great base for those lucky enough to be exploring Northumberland and want to bring their dog.
Self service breakfast consisted of hot bacon, egg, sausage etc., and there was also toast, cereals and fresh fruit along with fresh coffee, tea and juices. The main menu for dinner was good, and occasionally there was a specials board.
Overall an excellent hotel, it is not positioned in the most scenic area, but it perfectly placed for those touring/exploring the area, and the housekeeping standards were very high. The staff are a credit to the hotel. If I return to Alnwick I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you like a soak in the bath ask for a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevandMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
What a thorough review - thank you very much indeed. We appreciate you taking the time to do this and for your comments about our team too. Many thanks for the five stars as well. :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

JUST had a Friday till Monday break at the above Hotel. What a great break it was the Hotel was perfect in every way. The bedrooms were very spacious and spotless. We had bed breakfast and evening meal the food was delicious and presented lovely. The staff were all very friendly and made you very welcome. Cannot find a fault in any way about this hotel. All in all a fabulous h opp today.
. .

Room Tip: We had number 2 first g floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cartref-Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
And a lovely review - thank you very much indeed. We value your five star rating too. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed here for one night on winter special. Excellent value. Food was lovely as were the staff. Spacious room . Very clean. We will be back .cheese board was one of the best we have had. Breakfast good but would have liked poached egg. Fresh fruit salad a bonus

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thanks for the review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
7.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
8.6 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
8.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hog's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Property: The Hog's Head Inn
Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Hog's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing