We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday break”
Review of The Hog's Head Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hog's Head Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My daughters booked myself and my wife into the Hogs Head for a couple of nights as a birthday present. Like many other reviewers I was initially dismayed on how close to the A1 the hotel was located.
However, this wasn't a problem as we never heard any traffic even though we were facing the car park and quite close to the main road.
As we had a four hour drive we decided to walk into town to stretch our legs which took about 30 mins for us middle aged couple.
The double room was very spacious with a king size bed;WIFI was also available.
The hotel was quiet for a Friday so we ate in the restaurant where we found the menu adequate but not an excessive choice (no specials on this particular day)
The breakfast was a very good self service full English.
On Saturday night the hotel was very busy but we ate out anyway. Breakfast was quite hectic Sunday morning but the staff copped with the influx of people from what appeared to be a wedding party.
The hotel is ideally located for exploring Northumberland. Good food, beer and bed. Couldn't ask for anything more. Staff were courteous and very helpful.
I wouldn't hesitate to stop here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZKLTSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

A great review - thank you very much indeed. We're looking forward to welcoming you back again soon! Check out our special offers too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel is clean and well kept; the rooms equally so and very spacious. The breakfast was substantial and quite reasonable for this type of hotel. Nothing to write home about but fine for what it is. Unfortunately we didn't sleep well as the room we had faced the A1 and very near the bar. There was a light on outside for most of the night which shone into the room, the traffic noise was audible even with the windows closed and people were coming and going for a lot of the night. Probably wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaan6458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

That's a shame to hear. The noise from the A1 is minimal and rooms are far quieter than town centre accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We would like to thank all members of staff for the 5 star service we received on the weekend of our sons wedding. Everything from the cleanliness and spaciousness of the rooms to the friendliness and courteousness of the staff was commented on by all our family and friends. A special mention to the bar staff who worked into the early hours of the morning after we returned on the night of the wedding. We're aware that their patience and good humour may have been stretched to the limit,!!!!! Mick and Carolyn Todd

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

What a cracking review - thank you so much. We really appreciate you taking the time to do this and for the five stars too. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have to admit that my heart sank when i saw how close the hotel is to the A1, however this modern building is so well insulated that you can barely hear the passing traffic and it certainly didn't affect my night's sleep.

The staff are incredibly friendly and welcoming, which is refreshing for such a young team.

The rooms are spacious and well equipped with every amenity that a traveller could expect including a hairdryer, ample tea, coffee, biscuits and plenty of spare pillows of varying degrees of hardness to satisfy the fussiest of sleepers.

The hotel is a short drive from the town centre of Alnwick where there are plenty of eating options; however I was booked onto the special winter break which included dinner and breakfast so I ate at the hotel. There is a wide range of options on the evening menu including a sumptuous range of puddings. The morning breakfast is an 'all you can eat' buffet style which includes cooked options, cereals, fruit, toast and muffins, which easily sets you up for the day.

Highly recommended and if i am ever visiting Northumberland again I shall not hesitate to book at the Hogshead.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thanks for a fair and frank review - yes, we are close to the A1, but we are like a haven of calm! And much quieter than a town centre room too! We're delighted you slept soundly with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for the five stars too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I can only repeat what my fellow walkers, all of a certain age, have already said about this near perfect hotel. The staff were all friendly and accommodating, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, Ringtons tea and biscuits, hair dryer, soap and shower wash all provided, food was plentiful with a good selection for different tastes. There were 67 of us and the staff were still smiling when we left!!!!! We hope to return next year, if they'll have us.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms have a bath, some rooms are nearer the A1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

If they'll have you?! We can't wait to welcome each and every one of you again! Thanks for making us smile with a jolly good review and for your kind words - and the five stars too! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here on their winter break weekend from Friday 21st March to Monday 24th March with friends from our walking group, The room was large and very clean, the food excellent, both breakfast and evening meals had pleanty of choice and every thing was well cooked. The staff could not have been better, very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them all in all it was a great break and we plan to stay there again next year

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a jolly good review - roll on next year and welcoming you and your party again! Thanks for the five stars too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here 5 weeks earlier this year on business in the area. The hotel is spotlessly clean and all the staff very friendly and helpful. Free Wifi is available.
The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and cleaned daily. I can not fault them. Ground floor rooms have a bath with shower over and the first floor rooms a shower cubicle. There was slight road noise from rooms at the back of the hotel from the A1, but this was by no means too loud, I personally preferred a room on the front of the hotel. There is a lift so no need to struggle with heavy suitcases up stairs!There are some rooms available for dogs to stay too - a nice idea as this is a great base for those lucky enough to be exploring Northumberland and want to bring their dog.
Self service breakfast consisted of hot bacon, egg, sausage etc., and there was also toast, cereals and fresh fruit along with fresh coffee, tea and juices. The main menu for dinner was good, and occasionally there was a specials board.
Overall an excellent hotel, it is not positioned in the most scenic area, but it perfectly placed for those touring/exploring the area, and the housekeeping standards were very high. The staff are a credit to the hotel. If I return to Alnwick I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you like a soak in the bath ask for a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevandMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

What a thorough review - thank you very much indeed. We appreciate you taking the time to do this and for your comments about our team too. Many thanks for the five stars as well. :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,078 reviews
7.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
4.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
345 reviews
9.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hog's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Price Range: £98 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hog's Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing