We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hog's Head Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$243
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
US$151
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$164
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newton Hall(Newton by the Sea)
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
305
169
60
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
305
169
60
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern hotelgood sizeroad noiselarge partybuffet breakfastrooms are spacioussunday carveryflat screen tvearly checkfamily roomevening mealsteak and ale pielight sleeperovernight stayplay areaexcellent staydouble room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I came here with my parents and son, the family room was a great size, plenty of space, comfortable beds, high quality linen and towels. Very friendly staff and high standards of cleanliness and service. Well priced high quality food. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sritzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Many thanks indeed for a great review and for the five stars too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Really lovely hotel with spacious rooms. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful.
However, avoid the restaurant as the food was terrible. The menu sounds grand but the food does NOT live up to it. If you are going to stay here book bed and breakfast only as breakfast was ok. Eat out in town as good restaurants there.
Would definitely stay there again but for bed and breakfast only.The hotel itself I would give 5 stars but no stars for the food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thanks for the five stars for our accommodation. We do hope you give our food another try - we do get great reviews and have some amazing dishes and local specials too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just spent 3 nights at the Hogs Head Inn. Was a little worried when I saw the A1 close by but I can honestly say that I didn't hear a thing. The rooms were extremely quiet not to mention really large and clean. Our family room fit our family of four with a lot of room to spare. The beds were also extremely comfortable.
It is very convenient to Alnwick if you are planning to visit this beautiful little village with the Alnwick Gardens and Castle being less than 5 minutes drive away.
One thing I have to mention is how lovely all the staff were. They work really hard and nothing was too much of an inconvenience. We have stayed in many hotels throughout our travels and the staff at the Hogs Head Inn were second to none!

Room Tip: We were in Room 20 (family room) which was really good!
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Front Office Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

What a lovely review - thank you so much - I will pass on your comments to our staff who certainly are hard working and do their best to make sure guests enjoy a great time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just spent 3 days at the Hogs head inn. It is a lovely place to stay. Very clean,,the rooms very comfortable. The staff were excellent,all of them including housekeeping. The food was excellent (so not quite sure why last review was bad) My husband is the biggest complainer about food but even he was impressed,not one meal any of the 6 of us was microwaved and was well presented, and the food was good quality and tasted very good. The breakfast had plenty of choice and everything was piping hot and not greasy at all. Would certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redpoppyflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

That is great to hear - thank you so much for leaving the review - we hope you return to stay again soon! Thanks for the five stars as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

There was a party of 20 of us staying for 4 nights eating there every night as we had no time to go elsewhere, it was some of the worst food I have ever had, everyones food was appalling, the breakfast is OK but do yourself a favour and eat elsewhere in the evenings.

Greasy, microwaved, poor quality meat etc etc, vegetables that smell of feet!I don't understand how anyone here has said the food is OK? Maybe there has been a change of chef or something?

I visit lots of countries and when foreigners say the food in the uk is bad its because they must eat in places like this, come on its 2014 sort yourselves out the food is a disgrace.

Its a shame as the hotel itself is nice enough just the food that lets it down.

I'd rate the hotel itself without the food as very good if I could rate separately from the food which I would rate as terrible, so giving it an average overall which is probably a bit generous as eating good food is a real pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We were so sorry to read your review but we would like to say that we did have some issues around the time you stayed with a new kitchen staff member who is no longer with us. We really do hope that you will return and stay with us again and enjoy the food we are proud to serve to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews