We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hog's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hog's Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Myself and 3 friends stopped overnight at HH on route from one golf course to another, perfect location just 1 minute off A1. Rooms are perfect, spacious, we had single rooms which are obviously same as double rooms, clear, fab shower, wide screen TV, which was great for watching Open Golf. Breakfast was good lots to choose from all fresh. Staff were very friendly, would highly recommend this hotel for family or business travellers.

Room Tip: There is slight road noise from A1 traffic to be expected, did not bother me but if this is somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAL000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for your review 0 and of course for staying with us - and for the five stars too! Yes, we are perfectly placed for a trip up to the Open. Hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    147
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
134
195
14
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights for a wedding. Room was comfortable, quite basic but clean! Usual corridor noise and doors closing that you get at all hotels. No side noise.
Good choice at breakfast of full cooked English, cereals, fruit, yogurt and toast. Juice, teas and coffee.
General menu has a nice selection, good portions and prices.
Staff are all Excellent! and could not have more helpful
Would stay again. Definitely consider this place if you are up that way I don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms have dividing doors but they are very well insulated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for the review. Hope to welcome you again soon - thanks for the five stars too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good hotel located next to A1 new build lovely food some road noise in room, but did not keep me awake ,would stay there again great for exploring northumberland friendly staff,breakfast is self service could be improved at peak times.would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for the review - glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, our rooms have a little road noise some people say, but muchness than a town centre hotel or pub. Breakfast (which is free) is self service, but many people including me like this as you can help yourself to exactly what you want (and as much as you want too!) Hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

After winning a competition to stay here for 2 nights d,b&b, this is an excellent place to stay, the staff gave first class service, always speak to you and asking if your ok. The food was so lovely, breakfast and dinner, generous portions. The room was also excellent. Overall no complaints and would certainly return and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
What a lovely review - we really hope to welcome you back again - thank you for the five stars too,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Having already stopped here before we knew what to expect. Very clean and modern hotel. Rooms are of an excellent size and decor. Very quiet considering its in the side of the A1.
If you need a few bits and bobs there's a 24 hr petrol station just across from it with a full service Costa coffee.

Staff very friendly.

Downstairs rooms have a bath/shower which is ok but get a room upstairs on first floor as there showers are excellent.

We'll be back as Arnie once said.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank s70rmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for the helpful and comprehensive review! And for the five stars too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

I came here with my parents and son, the family room was a great size, plenty of space, comfortable beds, high quality linen and towels. Very friendly staff and high standards of cleanliness and service. Well priced high quality food. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sritzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Many thanks indeed for a great review and for the five stars too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Really lovely hotel with spacious rooms. Rooms are comfortable and very clean. Staff very friendly and helpful.
However, avoid the restaurant as the food was terrible. The menu sounds grand but the food does NOT live up to it. If you are going to stay here book bed and breakfast only as breakfast was ok. Eat out in town as good restaurants there.
Would definitely stay there again but for bed and breakfast only.The hotel itself I would give 5 stars but no stars for the food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for the five stars for our accommodation. We do hope you give our food another try - we do get great reviews and have some amazing dishes and local specials too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
7.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
8.6 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
8.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hog's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Property: The Hog's Head Inn
Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing