We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant review”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hog's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hog's Head Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I had been here once before and enjoyed my first meal. This time I decided on a lighter meal and opted for the hot beef sandwich - it came with chips and salad. The salad was dripping in oil meaning I couldn't even taste the peppers (my favourite bit), the chips were mediocre and the hot beef sandwich was dry (considering it had gravy) - I was very disappointed on this outing and chose not to have dessert in case I was further disappointed! I hope it's a one off bit I'm on no hurry to return now!
Friends enjoyed their salad but they go for dressings and olive oil where I don't... Nicer to have a choice...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassystewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
That's a shame to hear. We usually get very good reviews for our food and are proud to have a strong local and visitor following. Please give us another try…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    147
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
134
195
14
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hogs Head after I had been lucky enough to win a three night break which included DB&B.We stayed in a room laid out to accommodate people with disabilites,it was very spacious and offered all the facilities you come to expect but don't always get in rooms for the disabled.
The food at dinner was very tasty and well presented,whilst the full English breakfast was excellent,it set us both up for the rest of the day.
Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff who we found to be very polite helpful and extremely hardworking.The girls in the restaurant never seemed to stop dashing about serving meals,clearing tables etc,they were certainly kept very busy.
Thanks for a very enjoyable stay,in fact we enjoyed it so much that we have booked to come back in August for another three night break.This time we are going to bring our grand-daughter with us I'm sure she will enjoy it just as much as we did this break.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dereksimpson21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for troubling to leave a review - and for the five stars. We are looking forward to welcoming you back with your family :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Building quite new so greenery not established around it. On arrival surprised to find no reception: it was part of the bar area. Room was good size, very clean, no choice but duvets which were too hot, no telephone, no "goodies" of shampoo etc and no doors on anything so all clothes on show. Our room on the other side away from A1 (overlooking petrol station nearby) so quiet -until guests started sitting outside to eat and then noise escalated until late evening. We ate in the restaurant the first night and were very disappointed. The quality of the restaurant did not live up to the rooms. The first morning we were rudely awakened by the fire alarm going off at 0645: at least it worked. Breakfast - nothing out of the ordinary but cooked well - toast had to go through twice to brown it so queues got a bit long.

Room Tip: 1st floor looking away from A1 is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We make no bones about the fact we are an inn with rooms. And a good one at that.

It's not that we are below standard, it's just that's what we are!

As a pub we don;t have a large reception area, but we do have a designated check in area for guests. We are deliberately a three star inn, although our rooms were offered five star status. Our model is value for money yet quality. As such we don;t provide things like room service, or have fancy shampoos or bath products which are lovely - we agree, but we would rather keep our prices down for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Myself and 3 friends stopped overnight at HH on route from one golf course to another, perfect location just 1 minute off A1. Rooms are perfect, spacious, we had single rooms which are obviously same as double rooms, clear, fab shower, wide screen TV, which was great for watching Open Golf. Breakfast was good lots to choose from all fresh. Staff were very friendly, would highly recommend this hotel for family or business travellers.

Room Tip: There is slight road noise from A1 traffic to be expected, did not bother me but if this is somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAL000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Guest Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for your review 0 and of course for staying with us - and for the five stars too! Yes, we are perfectly placed for a trip up to the Open. Hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights for a wedding. Room was comfortable, quite basic but clean! Usual corridor noise and doors closing that you get at all hotels. No side noise.
Good choice at breakfast of full cooked English, cereals, fruit, yogurt and toast. Juice, teas and coffee.
General menu has a nice selection, good portions and prices.
Staff are all Excellent! and could not have more helpful
Would stay again. Definitely consider this place if you are up that way I don't think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms have dividing doors but they are very well insulated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for the review. Hope to welcome you again soon - thanks for the five stars too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good hotel located next to A1 new build lovely food some road noise in room, but did not keep me awake ,would stay there again great for exploring northumberland friendly staff,breakfast is self service could be improved at peak times.would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thanks for the review - glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, our rooms have a little road noise some people say, but muchness than a town centre hotel or pub. Breakfast (which is free) is self service, but many people including me like this as you can help yourself to exactly what you want (and as much as you want too!) Hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

After winning a competition to stay here for 2 nights d,b&b, this is an excellent place to stay, the staff gave first class service, always speak to you and asking if your ok. The food was so lovely, breakfast and dinner, generous portions. The room was also excellent. Overall no complaints and would certainly return and recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Hog's Head Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
What a lovely review - we really hope to welcome you back again - thank you for the five stars too,.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
1.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
7.8 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
7.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
8.6 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
8.6 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hog's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hog's Head Inn

Property: The Hog's Head Inn
Address: Hawfinch Drive, Alnwick NE66 2BF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Alnwick
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hog's Head Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Also Known As:
The Hog's Head Inn Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing