We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friend said it was good .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alnwick Arms

The Alnwick Arms
Ranked #78 of 115 Restaurants in Alnwick
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: We are also DOG Friendly
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A friend said it was good .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Not the poshest place we have been,but clean and the barman(who was doubling up as a waiter as one member of staff was absent) was friendly helpful and apologized for the delay.It was well worth the wait...one slice of beef covering half the plate and cut like a steak 4 roasties 2 yorkies 5 veg and new potatoes along with a full gravy boat(not granules) couldnt have done better myself and all for £5.95 each,we actually left food,never been known before,couldnt have eaten another morsel.£4 for a large excellent pinot hubbies pint was good ,definitely going back,And guess what it wasnt groupon or living social,lol.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pollywins48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday (late) lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

On a weekend away in Northumberland we were looking for somewhere to eat on a Sunday afternoon. Happened on the Alnwick Arms as most other pubs had stopped serving food. Ordered two Sunday lunches and couldn't believe the quality and amount of food for the money. As a Yorkshireman, I couldn't have asked for better value.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Yorkshire puddings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed in Alnwick for the weekend and found this pub cheap food and all home cooked large portions to we had two giant Yorkshire puddings with beef homemade chips and fresh veg.for only £10

will be back in the summer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geoff d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We ate here after reading good reviews on Tripadvisor. Both of us had the small roast beef lunch and it was gorgeous. Glad I chose small as this was more than enough. The beef was so tender, veg came in two separate dishes roast potatoes, mash, cabbage, carrots, turnip & cauliflower. The Yorkshire was perfect and homemade and a huge gravy boat. Absolutely delicious! Staff were welcoming.

Helpful?
2 Thank truliejulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We were tempted to try the Alnwick Arms last week after hearing such good reviews on their Sunday lunches, we were so surprised and impressed. The food was wonderful, all fresh - not frozen, with really large portion sizes, would highly recommend this pub as Sunday lunch is such good value. Children welcome too

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alnwick Arms also viewed

Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to The Alnwick Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing