We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mary,husband and dogs”
Review of The Alnwick Arms - CLOSED

The Alnwick Arms
Price range: US$6 - US$13
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Description: We are also DOG Friendly
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“mary,husband and dogs”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Fantastic food and Graham couldn't do enough for us, even brought our dogs some treats and a bowl of water, visited Sunday 18th May, If we lived here, would go there every sunday.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 187067Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    7
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Couldn't recommend this place more!!! Great atmosphere and fabulous food! We can't wait to return here and bring all our friends! :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ange86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alnwick, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

It was our first visit today and we both loved it. Food was outstanding, service excellent and atmosphere friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xtonynsamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As other reviewers have said, this really is great value for a Sunday lunch. £5.95 for two big slabs of beautifully cooked roast beef, roast and boiled potatoes, two Yorkshire puddings, a variety of other veggies and homemade gravy. My husband and I couldn't remember how many years it has been since we had such a great value meal out. This is not a posh place, but the service is friendly, it's very clean and the value is second to none.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank debsterreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A friend said it was good .”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Not the poshest place we have been,but clean and the barman(who was doubling up as a waiter as one member of staff was absent) was friendly helpful and apologized for the delay.It was well worth the wait...one slice of beef covering half the plate and cut like a steak 4 roasties 2 yorkies 5 veg and new potatoes along with a full gravy boat(not granules) couldnt have done better myself and all for £5.95 each,we actually left food,never been known before,couldnt have eaten another morsel.£4 for a large excellent pinot hubbies pint was good ,definitely going back,And guess what it wasnt groupon or living social,lol.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pollywins48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alnwick Arms also viewed

 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing