We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best B+B in the world!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 68 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
brighton,uk
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still the best B+B in the world!”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Have just returned to work and the harsh realities of the world after a 6th blissful stay at Redfoot Lea. The room was immaculate, the toiletries smelt divine and the breakfast was impeccable!
In fact, one of the toughest decisions we faced during the weekend was what to tick on the breakfast request form! Everything is delicious from the local Craster kippers to Philly's own, Aga-prepared, full English. Every afternoon home-made cake- we had Claudia Roden orange cake on the Saturday and lemon drizzle on the Sunday- is left in your room for you to enjoy. From the moment you arrive till you leave Philly's welcoming presence will make your life more comfortable than you can believe is possible! We are ready to book for next time already!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cairodeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
It was really lovely to see you both again and catch up with all your news. The weekend just seemed to go far too quickly! Thank you so much for your lovely review. Looking forward to seeing you next time an in the meanwhile take care and enjoy yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
310
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here on the 9th and 10th of June.had a lovely break, the Bells were terrific hosts who made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was exceptional. Redfoot Lea is very near Alnwick and Taxis are reasonable. Philly recommended Lilburns for our evening meal which was very good. The house is quite well suited if you have mobility issues as the rooms are on the ground floor. Hope to get back soon as we enjoy the area.
Annie Macdonald and Blair.

Room Tip: One room has a bath, one a shower, both are very well equiped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottyboy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedfootLea, Owner at Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
It was a real pleasure to have you both to stay with us and we thoroughly enjoyed your company. We are delighted that you found the house accessible and relatively easy to get around. It would be lovely to see you both in the future. Loved the necklaces!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2012

we had a wonderful 4 nights being totally spoilt by phillipa, nothing was to much trouble, breakfasts were delicious and especilly the fresh fuit and stewed rhurbarb and plums. we came back each day to some delicious cake, which was such a treat. A super place to stay close to some lovely beaches and only 1 and half miles outside alnwich.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedfootLea, Owner at Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Just a note to thank all our guests for the wonderful reviews you have written about your visits to Redfoot Lea. The time and effort you all take to write them is much appreciated and we hope that we might see you all again in the future. Best wishes and happy travelling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My mother and I stayed at Redfoot Lea last week for 2 nights,and were totally impressed. Everything was first class from the lovely welcome from Philly, to the comfort and cleanliness of the room to the delicious breakfast. Many thanks and I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank maggie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while on holiday exploring Northumberland and I honestly cannot think of one thing we didn't like about it - other than having to leave! The Rooms are very comfortable and perfectly decorated, the breakfasts are delicious (especially the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs) and the owners, Philly and Andrew, are absolutely lovely. I would recommend this place more highly than anywhere else I have ever stayed - by a long shot!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Recently returned from a wonderful stay at Redfoot Lea. We were looking for a base for our long awaited trip to Northumberland and we could not have chosen better. The place itself was stylish and contemporary, and Philly proved to be the perfect hostess. From the home made cake left in our room daily to the complimentary drinks as we were getting ready to go out, the hospitality was outstanding. She was always available with advice on the nicest places to eat and the local places of interest. Already looking forward to our next visit to beautiful Northumberland, and the sumptuous Redfoot Lea.

Chris and Jackie (Lancashire).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scholey89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was our second visit to Redfoot Lea, but this time we took friends with us.As before , the welcome was great, the decor;modern country house hotel style,bedrooms;spotless and luxurious,breakfasts;excellent.I would recommend the home made cake we had every day on our return from days out.Our friends were suitably impressed. It is all to do with attention to detail, such as the flavoured water on the hospitality tray, the glass of wine or tea on arrival, the extra heater in the bedrooms if you feel cold( which we did not).It is also very good if you are not good on stairs as two of the bedrooms are on the ground floor.The property is not in the centre of Alnwick but about 5 minutes drive outside. This means that parking is easy; right outside your bedroom in fact, and you are more likely to visit some country pubs instead of staying with the largely 'run of the mill' fayre' in Alnwick town centre.Philly is a wonderful host, being attentive and interested in your hoilday without being obtrusive, a hard balance to achieve.All in all probably the best B&B we have stayed in and there have been a few.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnwick
8.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,246 reviews
7.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
1.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
368 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#21 of 68 in Alnwick
280 reviews
3.4 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast

Property: Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast
Address: Greensfield Moor Farm, Alnwick NE66 2HH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redfoot Lea is part of a recently converted farm steading, situated in buildings dating back to the 1850's. The building boasts panoramic views of arable farmland. The house has been tastefully converted to combine modern and traditional features which aid a warm and friendly atmosphere. Ideally situated on the outskirts of alnwick (1.5 miles) Redfoot Lea is within easy reach of the coastal route and local attractions such as Alnwick castle and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Redfoot Lea Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redfoot Lea Bed And Breakfast Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing