We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Family Kitchen Diner
Family bathroom
King size bedroom
King Size bedroom
Double bedroom plus single bunk
Alnwick Castle
Alnwick Treehouse Restaurant
Alnwick Garden
Alnwick Aln Valley Railway
Thursday & Saturday Market
Fantastic walks in the nearby countryside
Stunning scenery
Great Coastal walks
Alnmouth Beach
Alnmouth Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kathryn S
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Shy Bairns is a lovely house,clean and well looked after. It is close to local amenities. Recommend visiting the Castle and we had a good meal and fab cocktails at the Dirty Bottles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrasterWo...
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real home from home”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for three nights at the end of the summer holidays.
It is a wonderful house. We immediately felt at home. The location is perfect, easy to walk into town but really quiet at night. No problems with street parking. Furnishings are good quality and well thought out. We adore Northumberland and try to visit every year. This is certainly one of the best cottages we have booked. Highly recommended.
Many thanks.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louyo
york, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Photo's don't do it justice”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The photos don't do this cottage justice. Inside it was newly decorated with lots of thoughtful touches including beach toys, stairgates and a picnic rucksack. The welcome bottle of wine and biscuits was appreciated. Bedding and towels are of good quality. We loved the location, very near to Alnwick Castle and the town which meant you didn't have to get the car out. Word of caution - don't park on the cobbles in front of the cottage between 8am and 6pm. Thank goodness the friendly traffic warded put me right!
We had an issue with the cleaning after the previous tenant but the owner responded immediately, which we were very impressed with. We would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to the town
Liked least: Dog hairs after the previous tenant and the mattress on the bunk bed is awful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newboldim...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“wonderful cottage, superb location”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It was our first trip to Northumbria and wanted somewhere quite centrally located to Alnwick and this cottage certainly hits the spot. The walk to castle is no more than a couple of minutes, but it's location overlooking the church and the countryside views is very peaceful.

The cottage was very clean, tidy and well finished and equipped. We have found other rental homes strip every last penny out of the rental costs so the fact that the owner provided complementary basics like soaps, dishwasher tablets, tea, coffee, and cooking oils etc made it feel like a proper home.
We were also greeted with a bottle of fizz and some biscuits - a very nice touch.

We had a great time there. The surrounding area was as beautiful as we had hoped for and despite the bitterly cold and fierce winds we loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 12 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We spent new year in this lovely cottage and we couldnt have asked for a better place to stay. The location is perfectand is just a short walk to the town centre and is lovely and quiet. The cottage itself was perfect for our stay and had everythign that we needed, it has been finished to a very high standard and I certainly wouldnt think twice about staying here again. Commnuication with the owner was excellent, certainly no complaints from me or my family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding !”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What a great place, everything you could need for a relaxing break.
The house has been renovated to a high standard and has all the mod cons you would expect (dishwasher etc etc)
Location is fantastic just a short walk (level)from the town and all the great shops and restaurants and pubs.
Beaches are within easy reach the nearest being only 4 miles away and need to been seen to believed .
The area is full of history and it really is a great place to visit, and you would be wise to stay at the Shy Bairns ......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great house and location
Liked least: Weather, but not sure this was within the booking conditions
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SARAH E
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely clean house in a great location.”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay at this lovely house. The location in Alnwick is great as it's in walking distance to the castle and town. The property was very well equipped and everything was clean and well kept. We had a lovely week there and would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in that area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing