We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage centrally located”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Family Kitchen Diner
Family bathroom
King size bedroom
King Size bedroom
Double bedroom plus single bunk
Alnwick Castle
Alnwick Treehouse Restaurant
Alnwick Garden
Alnwick Aln Valley Railway
Thursday & Saturday Market
Fantastic walks in the nearby countryside
Stunning scenery
Great Coastal walks
Alnmouth Beach
Alnmouth Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lianne W
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage centrally located”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A fabulous cottage centrally located in Alnwick with lots to see and do. We traveled with 3 boys 13,9,5 and there were lots to do for everyone. Alnwick castle is a must and Harry Potter fans will love it! Broom stick training is essential if course and I would definately recommend the same. Debbie and Adrian really have thought of everything in this property from the roll top bath with a bottle of luxurious M&S bubble bath to dish washer tablets and kitchen roll! The cottage is within 10 mins walking distance of a Morrisons, Wilko, butchers, Boots and Co-Op! There is also a Lidl so that the essentials can be bought! Pubs and restaurants a plenty and we would recommend the Turkish restaurant called Mezze- food was exceptional! Whilst staying in the vintage we visited Ouesteads, Haidrians wall, Bamburgh beach and Holy Island and we went to Berwick upon Tweed! There really is so much to see! We will returning to this property and recommending the same to friends and family! The bottle of fizz and biscuits were also a lovely touch! So go on what are you waiting for you really won't be disappointed! Thanks Debbie and Adrian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roll top bath
Liked least: Cold tiled kitchen floor
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare R
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a great location - an excellent North East mini-break!”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with our 3 children (aged 17,14&10) for 3 nights in February and found this cottage perfect for us. It is extremely well-equipped, meaning we felt right at home straight away. Food shopping was easy due to the supermarkets within walking distance, as well as the choice of pubs and restaurants in the town. It was also ideally situated for us to visit the coast at Seahouses, Bamburgh and Lindisfarne. We recommend the Treehouse Restaurant and Baxters' Books in Alnwick too!
Having read the previous reviews, it was great to see that all the comments had been addressed, and the cottage now has all the items that other guests had requested.
A brilliant stay - thank you! The children are already requesting a return visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic location 200 yards from castle 300 yards from pubs and shops stayed with my wife ,son and daughter in law it is better than the photos show

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DONNA D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed 12 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This cottage has everything you need! It's lovely, proper home from home! Only one gripe and I don't want to gripe, is that it needs a blind on the kitchen window.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn S
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Shy Bairns is a lovely house,clean and well looked after. It is close to local amenities. Recommend visiting the Castle and we had a good meal and fab cocktails at the Dirty Bottles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrasterWo...
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A real home from home”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for three nights at the end of the summer holidays.
It is a wonderful house. We immediately felt at home. The location is perfect, easy to walk into town but really quiet at night. No problems with street parking. Furnishings are good quality and well thought out. We adore Northumberland and try to visit every year. This is certainly one of the best cottages we have booked. Highly recommended.
Many thanks.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louyo
york, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Photo's don't do it justice”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The photos don't do this cottage justice. Inside it was newly decorated with lots of thoughtful touches including beach toys, stairgates and a picnic rucksack. The welcome bottle of wine and biscuits was appreciated. Bedding and towels are of good quality. We loved the location, very near to Alnwick Castle and the town which meant you didn't have to get the car out. Word of caution - don't park on the cobbles in front of the cottage between 8am and 6pm. Thank goodness the friendly traffic warded put me right!
We had an issue with the cleaning after the previous tenant but the owner responded immediately, which we were very impressed with. We would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to the town
Liked least: Dog hairs after the previous tenant and the mattress on the bunk bed is awful
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;