We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't eat there, try the pub up the road!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalchini Alnwick - CLOSED

Dalchini Alnwick
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't eat there, try the pub up the road!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I have given it one rating for the expensive onion Bhaji and naan bread.
The rice was like a boil in the bag rice, tasteless and unappetising.
The chicken vindaloo was very peppery and the chicken was tough.
The meal for two of us with one beer each was £40.
Not good value.
My friend and I have both had upset stomachs after eating at this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    30
    14
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really good food (a bit spicier than average)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Delicious meal, albeit slightly hotter than average. It was Monday night and we were the only ones in there, so the atmosphere was quiet, but the decor is nice, music appropriate and service friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJTHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent family meal!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My friends and I popped in here one night and we certainly not dissappointed. We were served by very attentive and friendly staff and would definitely return here. I am not usually the biggest fan of Indian cuisine but I was persuaded by my friends and the waiter to give a few dishes a go.
Overall the meal seemed good value and next time we are in town we will go back and try even more of the varied dishes on offer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7Oaks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Curry at Dalchini.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I are staying in Alnwick and visited this Indian Restaurant for dinner this evening.
Tasty food and good service. All the tables were taken while we were there. Will visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valerie7Oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not so good for children! or Adults!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The food was average and expensive, the restaurant did not cater for children (although they claim to cater for children)we ordered chicken and chips for our four year old, she received chicken that was dry and tasteless the chips were actually potato wedges the presentation of the food was not appetising and disappointing. we love Indian food I am just pleased this was not our first experience of this usually wonderful cuisine as if it had been the first time I tried the Indian food I would never repeat the experience .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol-m-lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dalchini Alnwick also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing