We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“first class”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shy Bairns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Alnwick Castle
Alnwick Treehouse Restaurant
nearby Alnmouth Beach
Alnmouth
Alnmouth Beach
Alnwick Aln Valley Railway
Alnwick Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johncondo...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“first class”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

excellent facilities
beds comfort exceptional
we had a superb time in and around alnwick visited
craster alnmouth amble warkworth berwick
embleton boulmer @ holy island
without getting rescued or wet
weather fantastic for september

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Convenient location, excellent facilities, well equipped with wonderfully comfortable beds.”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Alnwick is definitely the best place to stay because as well as being very convenient for touring Northumberland, it is a great place to visit in its own right. The castle and garden are fantastic and the local restaurants and takeaways are great, There is a lot to see and do in Alnwick and this cottage is within walking distance of the attractions. We have been coming to Northumberland for many years now and this is the first time we have stayed here because the place we normally stay has been sold. We intend another holiday in Alnwick next year and hope to book again. Cannot fault this cottage, feels like we are at home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and convenience.
Liked least: Tiled floor is a bit cold, you need hard soled slippers.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rbeckwith
1 review
“mrs”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

my family had a lovely stay in this beautiful, comfortable, well equipped, well located cottage.
we highly recommend the property to explore wonderful northumberland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsie Cha...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming, roomy holiday flat; ideally located.”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My cousin and I, both retired seniors really appreciated the well supplied kitchen; the comfortable beds and the convenient location for the large Morrison's food store. The castle, the pubs and the bus station were also close at hand. For thrills and scenery, riding the coastal bus on the tiny roads from Alnwick to Berwick upon Tweed at the front of the upper deck of the bus is not to be missed!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill B
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage. Very clean”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage is immaculate. Has absolutely everything you could possibly need. Lovely comfy beds. Located very near town centre.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaH-H
Sourth Yorkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy traditional cottage for a great stay in Northumberland”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved everything....... the house is cosy and warm with lovely furnishings, lovely towels and a great gesture of a bottle of Bubbly and buiscits.
The beds were very comforable!
Details just right, down to hairdryers & toiletries!
Easy access to Alnwick town and the sourrounding area of Northunberland, mainly the coast.

We visited the Castle (Harry Potter Day), Seahouses and did a boat trip, Holy Island and Bamburgh, a evening stroll and Pub Drinks in Alnmouth crowned our short stay for a family get together!

We will be back - Thank you!!!!
Andrea, Giorgia, Axel & Irmgard x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furnishings and possiblity to make fire, closeness to town and tourist attractions
Liked least: could have had more kitchen utensils as we never filled the dishwasher to make if efficient
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmmwright
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Shy Bairns is a lovely row house just a few minutes walk from a charming town!”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Shy Bairns a great deal. The house was comfortable, clean, and full of charm. It was so nice to be able to walk to places (shops and restaurants) in the town. This rental was an excellent value for our family of four! Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing