We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Wynniatt
York, United Kingdom

A little gem

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Oct 2018
I think this is probably the best B&B we have stayed in and we have been in a few over the years. Immaculately clean and with great attention to detail, our room had everything we needed. Linda & Steve were attentive & friendly without being overpowering and gave us useful tips for restaurants and places to visit. The breakfasts were excellent. I would definitely recommend Castle View.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Room 3 - Family en-suite
£75
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Trip.com
    £75
  • Hotels.com
    £66
  • Agoda.com
    £67
0.2 miles from Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£158
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £174
  • Hotels.com
    £146
  • Priceline
    £158
5.5 miles from Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
£174
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £184
  • Agoda.com
    £150
  • Hotels.com
    £184
6.6 miles from Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Free parking
Pool
£129
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £129
1.3 miles from Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Castle Suite Conference
£120
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £100
  • Hotels.com
    £100
  • Priceline
    £120
0.2 miles from Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
£89
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.2 miles from Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
£285
  • Agoda.com
    £285
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
7.6 miles from Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
£90
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £87
  • StayForLong
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £99
  • Hotels.com
2.2 miles from Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room 35
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £59
  • eDreams
4.3 miles from Castleview Bed & Breakfast
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Alnwick
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
192
7
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
192
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle view full english homemade biscuits name suggests opposite the castle yogurt charming b b anyone wishing excellent location top floor spent two nights power shower harry potter a great stay nothing is too much trouble rooms are lovely tea tray
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018

From arrival for a four night stay to departure we could not fault the friendly reception we received. Our room, the Duke Hugh room, was a comfortable double, with a good, comfortable, standard double bed. Plenty of storage space in a big wardrobe and chest of drawers. Small TV, tea & coffee making and good wifi completed the facilities. The en-suite shower room was small but everything worked and after a bit of adjustment the shower was effective. We even had a view of the castle clock. Parking was on street, with a resident's pass provided.
The breakfasts were delightful, with cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt etc in addition to a wide range of cooked food. The "full English" was excellent, as were the local kippers, eggy bread and scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Our hosts were friendly, helpful with lots of local information. They had a wide range of maps and guide books to borrow.
We hope to visit again soon.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bodacious_cowboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2018

Excellent B & B within walking distance of the castle, the gardens and Barter Book Shop.
Everything was really clean and fresh, the breakfast was first class with a wide range of food on offer. The hosts were friendly and welcoming and we would definitely recommend this B & B to anyone thinking about visiting Alnwick.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EThomson129
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

What an amazing B&B. Steve & Linda are so attentive and have an eye for detail. Nothing was to much trouble. The room was comfy and the choice of breakfast was endless. Best kippers I’ve ever had. As it was our first experience of a B& B I think they have set the bar very high!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Odyssey91992
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Didn't get off to a great start - the hosts called me when we were 6 minutes after our estimated arrival time, luke-warm reception at best and they never really smiled. At all.

The address you're given isn't actually the correct front door, then the actual entrance is really compact to the extent that I bashed my hip on the doorknob trying to get in the first time (still got a hideous dark purple bruise a week later).

The room was fine, clean and a good size. Decent TV aerial would've helped as pretty much every freeview channel struggled to get a proper picture or continuous sound.

Worst thing was the tiny en-suite shower was either scalding hot or freezing cold, no in-between. Tried all we could think of then called to ask if we could use a different one - told someone would be straight up to fix it. They came and changed the setting and were told 'nobody's ever had a problem with it before'. Most infuriating customer service response ever ... WE'VE GOT A PROBLEM WITH IT NOW!!! Apparently a shower that should only be used on 'medium' and will always be scalding hot or freezing cold if it's on high is perfectly acceptable and there's no need to warn guests, give them instructions in advance or to apologise when they discover it themselves!!

Highlight was the breakfast - really nice food in a very pleasant setting

Wouldn't go back but as it's for sale that might be irrelevant - maybe the hosts are having to leave and not happy about it, which would explain the lack of smiles

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank thehelenhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights as a family of three from the 23rd August. Such a great place, owners very welcoming Steve carried our bags up to the room for us. A lovely room with beautiful furniture and bedding and a nice ensuite with a powerful shower. An excellent breakfast with quality ingredients. You could have kippers, full English, French toast with bacon and maple syrup, porridge, a great choice. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank katherineroe262
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews