We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Setting - Definitely Be Returning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Setting - Definitely Be Returning”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We are fans of Premier Inns (as Ann R is) and have stayed in many over the countryside in the U.K. This at present is the best setting we have ever stayed inn. The hotel is set in a country park and overlooks the lake where there is much wildlife to see. The view from our front room overlooking the lake was amazing, although guests staying at the back of the hotel did not have the same impression. Therefore we would ALWAYS ask for an upstairs front room when we go again, as we will most definitely do this. We walked round the lake a few times and there are seats around the lake for you to sit on. Brewers Fayre is the restaurant attached to the hotel and they had an excellent choice of menu . However what stood out for us was they had Theme Nights, for example the Friday Night was Fish Night, the Saturday Night was Chicken Night and Sunday was Carvery Day (although you can still order from the menu). Food was well cooked and the staff were very attentive, polite and helpful. There is a childrens play area in front of the restaurant which was very well used whilst we were there.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 109 which is looking towards the lake and also over the carpark. We were not dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    231
    69
    16
    15
See reviews for
238
308
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We are great fans of Premier Inns having stayed at a few now, our favourite being South Mimms Herts, and when we arrived at this one we thought it was the best location lots of wild life on the lake and unfortunately loads of people using the restaurant as they do a Carvery meal on Sundays. The reception staff were second to none and nothing was too much trouble. We had booked a twin disabled room and they gave us a double but when I mentioned this they turned the room into a twin in about 10 mins, all with a smile The room I must say was very dingy as it was at the back of the hotel and the front part of the hotel obscured our daylight, it was next to a main road and the traffic was relentless till late at night. The bathroom was great. Going back to the reception staff, we were getting ready for bed and a lady knocked to tell us that we had left the car lights on and even offered to turn them off. We were really pleased that she had bothered to let us know.
The negative point to this hotel was the restaurant. It is a Brewers Fayre franchise and we found the food that we had a bit tasteless, my husband had steak and ale pie and the bottom pastry was like cardboard and the chips were dry,so we did not eat there again. Unfortunately there is nowhere near to go for a meal so you don't have a lot of choice.
The price of the rooms were very reasonable but most are any way. To sum up food not so good reception staff brilliant

Room Tip: I think the rooms at the front would be a lot quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Premier Inn at Ashington is in a lovely setting, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Set in the Queen Elizabeth Country Park it overlooks the lake with varied wildlife, the day we were staying there must have been 40 Swans on the lake. We ere only there the one night but the food was excellent and well presented, my partner and I had T- bone steak, whilst our Son went for the Burger with melted cheese. Not often you can report that a steak is cooked exactly how you ordered it! We had breakfast included in the room rate, and once again everything was well presented, especially Eggs, which were actually Runny, and not hard which is often the case Our family room overlooked the lake which was a bonus, it was quiet, and clean Checking in and out was painless, and the staff on reception and in the restaurant were cheerful and attentive.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room overlooking the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I have visited the Premier Inn at Ashington (on the A189 out of Newbiggin), a number of times and every time I have not been disappointed. The menu's vary and unfortunately I always want to try more than one meal! I visit Newbiggin once a year, I tend to use this place as the prices are very reasonable as well.

The food is really tasty and fresh. There is a childrens play area which is viewable from the restaurant (it has large glass windows to admire the views across the lake etc!). The staff are very friendly, nothing is too much trouble even when they are full to the rafters (which has happened on many occasions!).

If you are in the area and want a lovely family meal, then you cannot go wrong in visiting this place.

Room Tip: The family rooms are really comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Davebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

from the first minute we arrived at the hotel, we all were impressed with the friendliness of the staff. I had a group of ladies who had three rooms, and this was there first visit to a premier, and they were well pleased. food was brilliant!and the location was very pleasing against the lake. We couldn't think of anyway they could improve to be honest. first class!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

As other reviewers have said, the location on the edge of a country park and adjacent to a lake is very pleasant. We have stayed here before when visiting Woodhorn and we have always had a friendly welcome both in the hotel reception and in the integral Brewers Fayre. The rooms are excellent value for money. This time we asked to be in the new wing because before we had been above the entrance to the pub and were seriously disturbed by the noise from guests eating and drinking outside and from children in the play area. Note that the pub is popular with non hotel guests. Unfortunately, the extension has no air conditioning at the time of writing (July 2013) and we needed a large fan to keep the room bearable in this heatwave.

We like Premier Inns, but the WiFi charge is unacceptable in this day and age. It should be free for the duration of the stay, not just for 30minutes (which by the way is continuous use, not cumulative, so if you log off after 15 minutes, that's your lot!) Bizarrely, it is free in the pub, so if you have a room near it you can simply log on the the Brewers Fayre service. Download speeds are very slow, by the way.

We were happy with dinner, but breakfast was a farce. By 9.00am, the restaurant was out of muffins and croissants. The manager told us this was because a group of Italian workers who had been staying at the hotel for several days had been "taking handfuls of them" every morning. We were speechless. Because of this, and the fact that the kitchen messed up my wife's breakfast order, we were given a sincere apology by the duty restaurant manager and not charged for breakfast.

Overall, we like this hotel and will return.

Room Tip: Beware of lakeside rooms over the Brewers Fayre entrance. They can be noisy if you like to sleep wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScullyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have stayed in many Premier Inns and have come to expect a similar high standard in the rooms and restaurants. On this occasion, we were on our way to spend a week in Wooler - no Premier Inns this far north, after spending a pleasant afternoon with friends in Hutton Henry on the way up. We had planned to see the Ashington Colliery Museum the next day but hadn't realised that it was so close to this Premier Inn. The site had plenty of parking, and was in a fantastic setting by the lake. Hot and bothered by the heat of a day travelling in the car, we were pleased to relax in the comfort of a Premier Inn room and switched the fan on to relax - having already eaten before arrival. We had a pleasant night although at some point there was a problem with the electricity but their generator was fixed before most people were up and about so there was no problem. Staff as usual couldn't be faulted as they were cheerful, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was well cooked and it was no bother for them to provide me with mushrooms that were not cooked in butter as theirs generally are, as I am dairy intolerant. After breakfast, we unfortunately had to leave this idyllic spot as we were due further north for our stay for the week and had ear-marked other places to visit. However, we couldn't resist spending some time walking by the lake, photographing the swans and wildlife and generally soaking up the atmosphere. A wedding party was arriving, what a venue and what a day they had!!
We literally had to tear ourselves away from this spot and vowed to return again another time to spend more nights here.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rondonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashington
7.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
9.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
9.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
21.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ashington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ashington Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Address: Queen Elizabeth II Country Park | Woodhorn, Ashington NE63 9AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ashington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ashington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your gateway to the great outdoors, Premier Inn Hotel Ashington is just a stone's throw from the Coastal Route, top-notch beaches, and gorgeous gardens. And, as the last Premier Inn before Scotland, it's a beautiful spot to break up a long journey. Spark your imagination at the epic Alnwick Castle. Follow in the footsteps of pilgrims to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. Or delve into history at the Woodhorn Colliery Museum. After a day's work or play, return to our country park setting, lakeside views, Brewers Fayre restaurant and extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. All twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Directions: From A1 North/South follow signs to Morpeth then Woodhorn Colliery Museum/ Ashington. Located in Queen Elizabeth II Country Park, next to entrance past the museum. From A19 take A189 coastal route at Cramlington continue on A189 for approx 10 miles. Next to the Woodhorn Grange Brewers Fayre. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: NE63 9AT Transport and local information: Pegswood Train Station 5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Ashington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Ashington
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing