We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Certificate of Excellence
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Situated in a park like area with a big lake in the grounds, Ample parking and nice walks watching the wildlife.
The hotel is probably above average Premier Inn standards with very warm and friendly staff.
The restaurant, a Brewers Fare, is adjoining.
Previously we have stayed in a room at the back but this time we were at the front with a lovely view of the lake from our bedroom window.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    234
    71
    16
    15
See reviews for
243
313
29
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Premier Inn, Ashington is located in a lovely Country Park in a very convenient location for visiting Northumberland. We were able to visit Lindisfarne, the beautiful Coast, Hadrian's Wall, the Kielder Forest & the adjacent Woodhorn Colliery Museum which was excellent (free + £3 car parking charge). The Hotel is excellent value and we enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and the staff very welcoming. We used the Brewers Fayre Restaurant which was very convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P'line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Beautiful setting, by lake (full of swans, geese, cormorants, etc) surrounded by woodland in QE2 Country Park, with interesting Woodhorn Colliery Museum at other end. Lovely staff, decent food in adjacent Brewers Fayre restaurant

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

we take our grandchildren there because they have everything we need, childrens play areas inside and out. they have a lake which we walk, bike, or run round. all staff are brilliant with ourselves and the grandchildren, food, rooms,etc,,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This was my first stay in a Premier Inn and I have to say I was half expecting cheap and nasty. Instead it was cheap and very good value.

The room is a standard budget hotel design but perfect for an overnight stop. The room had the biggest TV screen I have seen in a UK hotel. A major plus was there was also a power socket by the bed, which is very rare in a budget hotel.

The corporate purple colours were not brilliant but that is being picky. The bed was extremely comfortable and seemed new and there was a choice of pillows.

I was looking forward to testing their good nights sleep guaranteed policy but have to admit I actually had the best nights sleep I've had in a hotel in a long time.

As stated in other reviews the hotel is in a quiet location near a lake, which suits me fine.

There is a Brewers Fare pub attached which doubles as a restaurant which I used for dinner and breakfast.

I'm the first to admit I'm not a great lover of pub grub but having been up since 05:00 I didn't fancy venturing out to find a proper restaurant. For what it is, i.e. pub grub, the food was adequate and fitted the bill and was reasonably priced. As is often the case with pubs the best value meal options are geared towards couples with special offers if buying two meals - this penalises the solo traveler.

Breakfast was a different story, not the cheapest, but a superb range of food with any hot food "cooked to order" and it seemed to be. The scrambled eggs didn't look as though they had been sitting around for hours and the food was hot. The only minor gripe is the large selection of teas available did not include Earl Grey.

As I said my first ever stay at a Premier Inn and it will be interesting to see if I just happened to be lucky with this hotel or if this reflects the standard of the brand. If the latter then I will use Premier Inn more often.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritishTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The hotel is situated at the side of a lake amid beautiful countryside which is teeming with wild life; we would have liked to have had more time to take advantage of this splendid location.
At the time of our visit the rooms were under renovation, ours had been finished so was freshly painted and had new furniture, this gave an even better feel to the usual high standard of Premier Inns. We especially liked the choice of firm or soft pillows and were glad to discover that at last British hotels are installing flat screen TV's.
We ate in the restaurant which has typical pub food, but with quite an extensive choice, including themed buffets. The prices were very reasonable at around £8 for a main course, there was also an early diners deal available at two for a tenner. The bar prices were realistic and affordable, £2.80 for a pint of bitter compares vary favourably with our local watering hole. The only thing missing was a separate lounge for the drinkers, we were all mixed up in the same area. Breakfast was extra, but again a good choice was available and was freshly cooked.
Every time we visit the north east we are impressed by the friendliness of the people, (maybe the accent has something to do with it), the staff at the hotel were no exception they made our visit comfortable and very enjoyable.
We had to pay more than the widely advertised £29 per room, but still felt we had good value for money.

Room Tip: Lake side is best, but the roadside rooms are traffic insulated and quiete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackhawk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed during a rainy weekend but friendly helpful staff and good food made up for the weather. As usual with premier inn very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast, wifi worked well and staff couldn't do enough to help. Hotel situated next to a lake in a country park so very quiet and good for a walk. Only 20 miles from Alwlnwyck castle which was our destination.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake our view was obscured by roof of restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol77_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashington
7.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
9.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
529 reviews
16.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,003 reviews
10.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ashington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ashington Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Address: Queen Elizabeth II Country Park | Woodhorn, Ashington NE63 9AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ashington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ashington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your gateway to the great outdoors, Premier Inn Hotel Ashington is just a stone's throw from the Coastal Route, top-notch beaches, and gorgeous gardens. And, as the last Premier Inn before Scotland, it's a beautiful spot to break up a long journey. Spark your imagination at the epic Alnwick Castle. Follow in the footsteps of pilgrims to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. Or delve into history at the Woodhorn Colliery Museum. After a day's work or play, return to our country park setting, lakeside views, Brewers Fayre restaurant and extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. All twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Directions: From A1 North/South follow signs to Morpeth then Woodhorn Colliery Museum/ Ashington. Located in Queen Elizabeth II Country Park, next to entrance past the museum. From A19 take A189 coastal route at Cramlington continue on A189 for approx 10 miles. Next to the Woodhorn Grange Brewers Fayre. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: NE63 9AT Transport and local information: Pegswood Train Station 5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Ashington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Ashington
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing