We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Certificate of Excellence
Bury manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived early at 12pm. Reception staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to find out if room was ready. Our allocated room wasn't ready but we were given a lovely room in the new part of the premier inn in a quiet area overlooking the lake. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. One member of staff even gave our daughter a birthday card and teddy on her special day which was very thoughtful. Great location as a base for exploring Northumberland. Holy island was approx 1hr drive away and we used the coastal road which was very scenic and lots of places to visit along the way. The Jolly Fisherman pub in Craster is a great stop off. The thing that let down the Premier Inn for us was the very poor service at the adjoining Brewers Fayre pub/ restaurant. We had no problems at breakfast but evening meal service and food quality was poor. We waited 50 minutes for a mixed grill which was cold when served. We ended up getting a refund and left the food. Would definitely stay at Premier Inn again and do breakfast at Brewers Fayre but not evening meals. The soft play area in the pub is great for young kids to keep them occupied and is open all the time for play.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AJK W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    228
    66
    16
    15
See reviews for
236
302
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The hotel wasn't nearest to where we wanted to be (we were mostly visiting Alnwick & the coast) but it offered great value for money on the deal we got. We didn't mind travelling a bit & road links were very convenient. We were so pleased as the hotel was v clean, modern & beds so comfy! Excellent! Staff were very friendly too :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel and our stay was absolutely great. The location of the hotel is ideal and the rooms are spacious and comfortable - especially the beds and choice of pillows. We arrived on the Saturday and we ate in the Brewers Fayre and we had a lovely meal which was at a reasonable price. Therefore we decided to eat in there for the Sunday Carvery the day after and was very disappointed. There was no soup left and we were not informed of this when we payed for the meal. The chef kindly made us some after shouting at his staff in the kitchen for the whole of Northumberland to hear. We went to get our main meal and there was hardly any meat left and it was too salty and very very fatty. The potatoes and vegetables were dry and there was hardly any gravy left. The kind waitress did offer us desserts and coffee on the house but we didn't feel like it. The carvery in my opinion didn't reflect the price we payed. At other carverys you only pay £4.99 and it is piping hot, with a greater range of vegetables and meat (the vegetable pie was not available on this occasion). We thought the menu and the other meals were very good value, especially the unlimited Costa Coffee and mid-week deals and we would eat in there when we stay again but we would not have the Sunday Carvery. The breakfast on the other hand was outstanding; the selection (particularly the Hash Browns which other hotels do not do) was faultless and the restaurant at breakfast was clean and hygienic. The cranberry juice was lovely and the cereal was Kellogg's and not some cheap cereal thattastes like pencil shavings. I was really impressed and another main reason why I would choose this hotel above others. I also loved the free 30 minute wi-fi and the 24hrs for £3 was very reasonable and affordable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spholsholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for a better room. Spotlessly clean. All amenities available. Lovely setting with lake etc. staff very friendly nothing too much trouble. Setting was suitable for us travelling around Northumbria. Have stayed in a few Premier Inns which is our preference but this is the best one yet. Would return to this one if needed as good value for the money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here whilst visiting family, location was great and staff were extremely friendly! Great stay which we enjoyed. Was also nice and quiet at night which was ideal with my 10 month old son! Also breakfast was lush with loads of variety Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Nice clean lodge nice big garden and lake with lots living in the lake outside staff pleasant great location for the metro centre and newcastle shopping and further up North Morpeth and amble really nice

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevjuste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We used the hotel as it was the closest to where my family live. It was the first time that I have stayed at a Premier Inn and I was impressed by the standard of the room and its size. Staff were universally friendly and helpful. I will stay here again

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashington
7.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
9.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
9.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
21.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ashington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ashington Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Address: Queen Elizabeth II Country Park | Woodhorn, Ashington NE63 9AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ashington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ashington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your gateway to the great outdoors, Premier Inn Hotel Ashington is just a stone's throw from the Coastal Route, top-notch beaches, and gorgeous gardens. And, as the last Premier Inn before Scotland, it's a beautiful spot to break up a long journey. Spark your imagination at the epic Alnwick Castle. Follow in the footsteps of pilgrims to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. Or delve into history at the Woodhorn Colliery Museum. After a day's work or play, return to our country park setting, lakeside views, Brewers Fayre restaurant and extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. All twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Directions: From A1 North/South follow signs to Morpeth then Woodhorn Colliery Museum/ Ashington. Located in Queen Elizabeth II Country Park, next to entrance past the museum. From A19 take A189 coastal route at Cramlington continue on A189 for approx 10 miles. Next to the Woodhorn Grange Brewers Fayre. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: NE63 9AT Transport and local information: Pegswood Train Station 5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Ashington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Ashington
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing