We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Would stay here again”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here with husband and two children in a family room for 2 nights. Great night's sleep had by all. Comfy beds, friendly staff. Buffet breakfast was good. Had great view of the lake - never seen so many swans! Thoroughly recommend as a base to explore Northumberland.

Room Tip: We were in Room 110 - despite being near the stairs, which I thought might be a problem, it was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback regarding our comfortable rooms. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    231
    69
    16
    15
See reviews for
239
308
28
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights early May to break journey to Scotland. Staff extremely friendly and chatty while giving good advice about what to do locally. Hotel faces a fairly large lake with plenty of water birds. Path around lake took about 3/4 hour through varied woodland at a gentle stroll in occasional showers. Just opposite hotel on other side of lake is a mining museum, entrance is free and a cafe/restaurant on site. A very interesting self-guided tour. The Hotel itself in Queen Elizabeth II park, was quiet, restful and clean. Seaside village Newbiggin by sea worth a visit, 15 minutes drive, also Blyth beach (45mins) with great seaside fish & chip restaurant/cafe. Northumberland people extremely friendly and helpful. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask if available with view of lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

had a fantastic mini break staying at ashington premier inn, while visiting Alnwick castle, the weather was good and the castle was buzzing, the state rooms are fantastic, would recommend a trip to ashing ton premier inn if wanting to visit the castle

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Beds are quite hard and staff unhelpful when it came to noisy neighbours, the brewers fayre attached to the hotel is not good at all, poor quality food which is microwaved - also you can only have 3 devices linked to wifi as it overloads and they expect a family of 5 to manage on 2 towels lol

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Have just returned from a Bank holiday break with friends in this excellent hotel. The location is just perfect, facing a lovely lake in a country park. Ideal for exploring the beautiful Northumberland Coast or enjoying a day in the city of Newcastle. The rooms are extremely clean and comfortable with a large flat screen tv on the wall. We were a bit disappointed with the view from our room - a dark, dreary roof, but our friends were lucky enough to have a view of the lake. The staff were all friendly and helpful, both in the hotel and the adjoining Brewer's Fayre restaurant. The food in the restaurant was very good, and we particularly enjoyed taking advantage of the 2 meals for £10 offer, available Monday to Friday. We had to wait a while for our breakfast to be served and mine was not as hot as it could be when it arrived. Would have preferred a buffet style breakfast which is usually available in hotel chains. There were great facilities for children, both an indoor and outdoor play area. We plan to return with our grandchildren.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments on our clean and comfortable rooms. Thanks for taking the time to write a review; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed for 7 nights and had the best nights sleep we have ever had while away.
The surroundings of the Queen Elizabeth 11 Country Park was beautiful and peaceful.
We would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janesmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thanks for taking the time to write a review; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

It seems like a lot of effort has gone into providing what is needed rather than extras that are not necessary. I like the big TV with Freeview HD, the spacious room, the fact that shower gel, soap, hairdryer, tea/coffee etc. are all provided which is not always a given in a budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashington
7.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
9.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
9.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
21.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ashington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ashington Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Address: Queen Elizabeth II Country Park | Woodhorn, Ashington NE63 9AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ashington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ashington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your gateway to the great outdoors, Premier Inn Hotel Ashington is just a stone's throw from the Coastal Route, top-notch beaches, and gorgeous gardens. And, as the last Premier Inn before Scotland, it's a beautiful spot to break up a long journey. Spark your imagination at the epic Alnwick Castle. Follow in the footsteps of pilgrims to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. Or delve into history at the Woodhorn Colliery Museum. After a day's work or play, return to our country park setting, lakeside views, Brewers Fayre restaurant and extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. All twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Directions: From A1 North/South follow signs to Morpeth then Woodhorn Colliery Museum/ Ashington. Located in Queen Elizabeth II Country Park, next to entrance past the museum. From A19 take A189 coastal route at Cramlington continue on A189 for approx 10 miles. Next to the Woodhorn Grange Brewers Fayre. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: NE63 9AT Transport and local information: Pegswood Train Station 5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Ashington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Ashington
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing