We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier Inn Ashington - Like two different hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Premier Inn Ashington - Like two different hotels”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We arrived on Sunday 29th June, firstly we had to ring for reception and wait, and wait and wait for someone to come, (from the bar with a glass in hand) they did not explain about the guaranteed good night sleep, or about if WiFi was available, Not every helpful,

Returned to reception later to get some tea bags, gave up as reception not maned again, rang bell several times without anyone coming, got feed up went back to room and had a bottle of water I had brought with me.

The evening meal deal was a shambles we were not shown too our reserved table just had to find it ourselves, no one explained if it was table service or not (had to order from the bar) tried to order only to be told that what we wanted was not available, made another choice again not available again, so ended up with something we did not really want, we then had to wait 30 minutes for some congealed soup, the main course was not much better looked like it had been cremated, None of the staff appeared interested in customer service with the exception of the barman in my opinion.

Monday, what a difference different a day makes different set staff who were helpful and courteous breakfast was hot and well cooked, and the staff in the restaurant were great the receptionist was friendly and wished us a nice day.

The room was clean and prepared too a typical premier Inn standard no problem with the room.

Again this is my personal experience but I would not use or recommend this particular Premier inn again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alanalanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we always strive to provide customers with a comfortable stay, and I apologise that on this occasion your stay was less than relaxing. Your experience was far below our usual high standards, but please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    241
    78
    16
    16
See reviews for
250
324
30
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Only stayed briefly as arrived very late at night and left early but the staff we encountered were excellent. They were genuinely pleasant and helpful and not just going through the motions. Excellent value for money.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It is disappointing that this is the nearest Premier Inn to Newcastle with both Air Conditioning and Free Parking. As with all Premier Inns sofa bed uncomfortable when using as a sofa and blackout curtains of limited use without a pelmet. (See below) Pretty lake setting with many geese. Very pleasant staff, clean rooms. Flat screen wall-mounted TV with wall sockets for HDMI, 3.5mm headphone jack, USB and Red Yellow Black phono sockets (presumably for their brainless customers who have to have their dose of violent console games whilst away). Plenty of mains sockets. Reasonable lighting. Good idea of one bedside table detaching for use as an occasional table. Large drawer for clothes. Good idea of retaining key entry to rooms. Exceptionall comfortable bed, pillows and duvet. Slight stain on mattress protector. No doggy remains unlike Travelodge.

The downside relates more to Premier Inn as a whole. The provision of one chair without arms may be sufficient if the chaise/sofa bed was of any use as a sofa. As it is, the sofa bed/chaise is far too deep to sit on to be of any use without stacks of pillows behind. Some innovation is needed here and the continued presence of this item in Premier Inn rooms stands as condemnation of a complacent Premier Inn head office management typical of most of British. In the meantime provide a couple of conference/dining type chairs with arms.

Again, a Premier Inn head office problem. The lack of a pelmet means the blackout curtains are of reduced function. When building new hotels, maybe they need a window recess which is stepped at the top. At least make the wall above the window large enough to give the curtains a large overlap at the top. In the meantime, fit a pelmet.

The far and few between Premier Inns with both Air Conditioning and Free parking means you have to stay miles away from your destination to get this luxury. It is not such a luxury if you have come out of an air-conditioned car to come into a roasting Premier Inn room. You are basically in a highly insulated block of flats with the added drawback of a restricted opening window. We had to stay in Ashington to visit Newcastle. Had it of been a match day at Old Trafford, we would have had to stay in Huddersfield or Widnes to visit Manchester. There are major towns in this country without the joint facilities of Free Parking and Air Conditioning from Premier Inn, such as Bradford, Derby, Leicester, Liverpool, Newcastle, Nottingham, Plymouth, most of Wales and many others. Manchester only has one (but not on match days). At least start with the West of the country where it is warmer.

The matter is made worse by Premier Inn’s website. You have to give a town name in order to find out which of their hotels have both Free Parking and Air Conditioning. Now, supposing we just want to go away for a break without knowing exactly where, but wish to have these two attributes, we can’t find this out from the website. Nor do they produce their helpful booklet any more listing their hotels.

So they have a website to replace the booklet, but the website actually provides the customer with less assistance. In order to get round this problem, I have had to produce my own gazeteer of Premier inns with Free Parking and Air Conditioning and regularly update this. This involves typing in every major town in England, scrolling through the results of each and listing down those hotels with these attributes. Premier Inn’s website is deficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelodgeuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your comments they are very much appreciated. Your feedback is important to us as it enables us to improve standards. I am delighted that your stay with us was a good one and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location. Friendly staff who genuinely care about your comfort . Great food. Fresh smelling bed linen. Lovely room to chill out in Nice big bath to relax in. I could go on on but I will leave it there

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Superb service, great location, very friendly people and helpful. No problems, and enjoyed the stay, the food was good and would reccomend to anyone going to a wedding in the area at Longhirst Hall.

Thanks

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thanks for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned from three excellent days at this venue. Cannot find any fault with it. The room was spotless and comfortable and really quiet. Staff were helpful and friendly. We ate at the restaurant every evening and there was always a good choice of tables even when busy (there were at least two family parties when we were there but they didn't affect the service we received).

We tried a good selection of the menu and had no complaints. The surroundings are exceptional, but some of the swans could get a bit aggressive. It's an excellent base for touring the area - we can recommend Woodhorne colliery museum, Alnwick Gardens and Castle, Barter Books, Newbiggen by the Sea, Amble Harbour (nice fish and chips) and Druridge Bay and Cresswell for it's little ice cream shop.

A lovely stay and we'd have no hesitation in staying again. Overall, good value for money.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, which was totally quiet. Apparently some upstairs rooms have lake views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments on our clean and comfortable rooms. Thanks for taking the time to write a review; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Fantastic location and setting. Excellent staff. The only negative is the restaurant food was not upto much. The salmon salad was poor and not good value for money. There was some noise from the kitchen extractor fan and we cold smell food all the time which wasn't very nice


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important to us as it enables us to improve standards. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashington
7.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
368 reviews
9.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
21.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#22 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
853 reviews
22.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,247 reviews
16.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ashington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ashington Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Address: Queen Elizabeth II Country Park | Woodhorn, Ashington NE63 9AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ashington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ashington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your gateway to the great outdoors, Premier Inn Hotel Ashington is just a stone's throw from the Coastal Route, top-notch beaches, and gorgeous gardens. And, as the last Premier Inn before Scotland, it's a beautiful spot to break up a long journey. Spark your imagination at the epic Alnwick Castle. Follow in the footsteps of pilgrims to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. Or delve into history at the Woodhorn Colliery Museum. After a day's work or play, return to our country park setting, lakeside views, Brewers Fayre restaurant and extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. All twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Directions: From A1 North/South follow signs to Morpeth then Woodhorn Colliery Museum/ Ashington. Located in Queen Elizabeth II Country Park, next to entrance past the museum. From A19 take A189 coastal route at Cramlington continue on A189 for approx 10 miles. Next to the Woodhorn Grange Brewers Fayre. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: NE63 9AT Transport and local information: Pegswood Train Station 5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Ashington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Ashington
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing