We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most enjoyable stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Ashington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Certificate of Excellence
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

It is a number of years since I stayed in a Premier Inn, so when I booked I though it was quite expensive (approx. £80 per night) However the standard has risen so much I now consider it excellent value.

The first point I would make is that unless you know the area well, take your satnav with you. We did and it simplified what could have been a tricky navigational task! There were major works going on (previously advised) but this did not cause us any disruption, apart from parking. and this was very minor.

Check-in was simple and pleasant (on-line check-in available) and the room very comfortable - one of the best sleeps we have had. The restaurant was Brewer's Fayre where breakfast was an optional extra and we chose continental. It was more than adequate - pretty comprehensive in fact, with unlimited Costa coffee. The evening meal was simple, but appetising, pub grub. We ate before a certain time (6.30?) and got 2 mains for little more than the price of 1, and two sweets for I think £1 each. Not haute cuisine, but we really enjoyed it!

Something that was apparent, although we did not need it on this trip, was the amount of children's facilities, both outside the Premier Inn and inside the Restaurant - very impressive. There is an excellent walk around the lake - probably a 45/60 minute stroll. I have read of road noise - don't know where our room was but there was NO outside noise. If there is a negative comment, it is not about the hotel, the restaurant, or the staff which all rated VERY high, it would be that it does not seem like walking distance from anywhere - didn't affect us - it was perfect for our needs.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by road noise, you could ask for a quite room. I would mention this was NOT a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiddler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write a review; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    226
    65
    15
    14
See reviews for
233
292
27
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this particular Premier Inn at Ashington after a day out at Beamish and then travelling up to Alnwick the next day. On arrival we struggled to get parked near to the hotel. It was very busy because there were many locals eating at the Brewers Fayre. There is also building work going on at the hotel, they are extending it so some of the car park was taken up by this also. On check-in the lady at reception was lovely, very helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean and looked relatively new. However, as we find with every premier inn we stay in, the second put-me-up bed for my 8 year old daughter is as comfortable as sleeping on the floor. We went to reception and the very kind lady agreed that the beds are not really comfortable and suitable to sleep on and she gave us 2 single quilts of which we folded both double, making it more comfortable. We had already decided that we didn't want to eat at the Brewers Fayre that evening. Its not our cup of tea and previous reviews suggested that it wasn't a good place to eat. We went for a drive but couldn't find anywhere else suitable to eat in Ashington, so reluctantly we went back to the Brewers Fayre for our evening meal. As we anticipated, it was very busy and the table we sat at had trodden in food underneath it. Our meal was acceptable for the price we paid. The breakfast was good but the plates felt liked they needed a good wash! Living in a very sleepy village at home, as a family we are all very sensitive to road noise. We found the B road situated immediately behind the hotel was very noisy until about 10pm and then again at 5.30am onwards. Again if you are used to road noise then its probably not a problem for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjbi301924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Your feedback is important to us as it helps us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We recently stayed here. We had been warned that it might be noisy due to building work but our room was very peaceful. Service was first class. The receptionist went out of her way to locate somewhere local where we could eat out. Very grateful to the kind receptionist who contacted me to say we had left something behind in the room. They later posted it back to us. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back at the end of the corridor which is why we had a quiet stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your comments. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hotel was under construction so I can forgive the general messiness of the place. However, it was the fact that one room faced the road (extremely noisy) and the other one had a flood spot light directly facing our window.

Brought to attention of the desk staff, to be told "there's a flag on the website about noise" and no comments about the flood lit room that kept us awake all night...

Rang the customer services team, "I will get the manager to call you" they said, but of course nothing but an empty promise.. Just like the empty guarantee of a good night sleep or a refund



http://m.imgur.com/vVdBI0B
http://imgur.com/iWAThd3

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank darkedge33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online customer Service at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to deliver a high standard of customer service in all our establishments and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to achieve this. Please be assured that your feedback is very important as it enables us to improve standards. Please email your review details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Regularly stay at Premier Inns for one-night stays for gigs etc. but was looking for somewhere for a short break to visit parts of the north east coast and this was recommended to me. First of all, it's not your usual Premier Inn location - it's right next to a large lake with a pleasant walk round it of around 45 mins, a pleasant surprise.
It's also very handy for good places to visit - I would highly recommended Morpeth, lovely little town with plenty of great shops and places to eat. There is a museum nearby which has a dinosaur exhibition on at the moment, and good tourist detsinations such as Farne Islands and Alnwick are within 30 miles.
The staff at the hotel were excellent, came across several during our stay and they were all very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable as always and there is a Brewers Fayre next door which we didn't use but are usually OK.
Overall, a cut above your usual Premier Inn and an excellent base for visiting the north east coast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallyBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thanks for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Had a great stay last year, and settled in after a warm welcome from the Receptionist who could not be more helpful.and welcomed us back from our previous stay which was again very good customer care.

The car park was extremely busy when we arrived and secured the last place on the edge of the parking, but the setting here is lovely overlooking the lake and again our stay was very comfortable only marred by the news that a relative was critically ill and shortening our planned two night stay here.

This PI is well situated for a number of attractions and a very good clean and comfortable base. There is currently building work going on for an extension, and this PI had been partially updated in terms of large screen TV

The adjoining PI provided a good breakfast cooked to order and served promptly, and can be accessed within the PI building which is a bonus when it is raining as it did that morning.

Look forward to returning when next in this area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucilou_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here while travelling around Northumberland and visiting The Alnwick Gardens, Lindisfarne and relatives in Morpeth. The hotel favces a lake with many swans, geese and ducks.
Lovely and extremely helpful staff. Our room was very spacious, clean, comfortable, quiet with a big flat screen TV on the wall. We had intended eating locally but found the Brewers Fayre perfectly adequate for breakfast and our evening meal. Perfect for touring and the usual good standard of cleanliness and comfort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Ashington Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your and for taking the time to write a review; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashington
7.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
9.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
9.4 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#23 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
10.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
21.0 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Ashington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Ashington Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
Address: Queen Elizabeth II Country Park | Woodhorn, Ashington NE63 9AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ashington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ashington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Ashington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your gateway to the great outdoors, Premier Inn Hotel Ashington is just a stone's throw from the Coastal Route, top-notch beaches, and gorgeous gardens. And, as the last Premier Inn before Scotland, it's a beautiful spot to break up a long journey. Spark your imagination at the epic Alnwick Castle. Follow in the footsteps of pilgrims to the Holy Island of Lindisfarne. Or delve into history at the Woodhorn Colliery Museum. After a day's work or play, return to our country park setting, lakeside views, Brewers Fayre restaurant and extra-comfy beds. This Premier Inn is located near a major road, bedrooms are insulated to minimise noise. Please note that this Premier Inn does not have a lift. Guests requiring an easily accessible room please contact the hotel direct. All twin rooms at this hotel consist of a double bed and a single sofa bed. For energy efficiency reasons, the bedroom windows do not open at this Premier Inn. All rooms are fitted with air conditioning. Directions: From A1 North/South follow signs to Morpeth then Woodhorn Colliery Museum/ Ashington. Located in Queen Elizabeth II Country Park, next to entrance past the museum. From A19 take A189 coastal route at Cramlington continue on A189 for approx 10 miles. Next to the Woodhorn Grange Brewers Fayre. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: NE63 9AT Transport and local information: Pegswood Train Station 5 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Ashington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Ashington
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing