We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wake up Woodhorn become DOG friendly!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodhorn Northumberland Museum

Woodhorn Northumberland Museum
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Ashington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover 800 years of history and experience fantastic events and exhibitions at the award winning Woodhorn Museum and Northumberland Archives. Woodhorn is the permanent home of the Ashington Group paintings, made famous through Lee Hall's successful Pitmen Painters play.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wake up Woodhorn become DOG friendly!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We were looking forward to attending the vintage car rally on Sunday 13th July. We paid our £3.50 to park in the field & made our way to the entrance to be told in a rude manner by an official no dogs allowed within the perimeter, I answered we were here for the rally which is outside. Being a responsible dog owner I know that dogs are not allowed anywhere inside. The reply no nowhere on site!
We were absolutely livid that this stance is taken by an organisation whose very existence relies on attracting visitors, both local & tourist. What sort of impression does this give to dog owners whose pets are often better behaved than some people.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Soowoo122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhorn, Public Relations Manager at Woodhorn Northumberland Museum, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience of Woodhorn.
We endeavor to be polite and helpful to all of our customers, and we receive many positive comments about this so I am sorry that you felt you were spoken to in a rude manner.
We know that although many of our visitors are, like yourself, caring and responsible dog owners, sadly not all are the same. Our whole site at Woodhorn is classed as a scheduled ancient monument with the historic buildings listed and grounds protected and so we have to take the decision to say no dogs, even those with super owners. We do try to make this clear on our website, and we regularly remind people through social media to leave their pets at home. Our staff also try to spot any dogs in cars and advise their owners of our policy before they pay to park. I am sorry you slipped through the net this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    181
    37
    12
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dinosaur exhibition”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

£9.00 for two adults and children under 5 are for free.

How can you say it is an exhibition it was one open room. The entire experience lasted 5 mins !

Although dinosaurs were realistic, an option to make a donation would have been better.

Would not recommend

Helpful?
5 Thank Lsn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhorn, Public Relations Manager at Woodhorn Northumberland Museum, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I'm sorry you felt the dinosaur exhibition was a disappointment. Unfortunately as a charity, we can only afford to bring these top quality touring exhibitions to Northumberland by making a charge. We do however try to add value with additional activities and free return parking.
Although other venues have offered dinosaurs to visitors, general admission charges are significantly higher. We try to offer an exciting family programme at an affordable level.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinosaur Encounter - Underwhelming”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was looking forward to visiting the "Dinosaur Experince" at Woodhorn. Before visiting I carried out research to see the prices etc, initially I did think £4.50 was expensive however the dinosaur experience is something I'd heard great reviews about so we decided to go anyway. When we arrived we were asked if we wanted to give to gift aid, although I didn't have a problem with this, I felt a bit pressured to do so, as if i didn't really have a choice. When we entered the experience, we soon realised it was just two medium sized rooms with animatronic dinosaurs in, although the dinosaurs were quite interesting we spent about 10 minutes inside, definitely not worth the £4.50!

On the day we visited there was a car show on too, it was fun to look around the cars, there was also a free balloon animal and face painting stand for children, I visited here with my severely autistic brother. Knowing he wouldn't be able to wait in line for the balloon animal without becoming distressed, i queued for him. I was continually ignored because there was no child with me and when we finally managed to get the mans attention, he quite rudely told us that unless we have a child waiting in line he couldn't give us a balloon animal. Even after I had explained the situation and pointed my brother out to him, the man just shrugged and moved on to the next child, disgusting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Teacup19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhorn, Public Relations Manager at Woodhorn Northumberland Museum, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We always appreciate feedback on visits, so thank you for taking time to comment.
Our dinosaur exhibition is a full size touring exhibition from the Natural History Museum featuring 9 animatronic creatures plus other static skeletons, dinosaurs and displays including a couple of interactive activities for children. It is a very sophisticated exhibition to stage and the costs are significant so unfortunately, as it is above and beyond our normal programme, we have to make a charge. As a charitable trust, every penny income helps us to survive so we are very happy if people choose to gift aid admissions, but you should not have felt obliged or pressured to do this. Many people chose not to and others are not taxpayers and so cannot help.
To add value to this exhibition, a dinosaur themed museum trail is available to visitors and there is a dino dig at certain times. We also offer free parking for a return visit to Woodhorn over the summer on the reverse of your exhibition ticket.
We were very surprised and disappointed to read your comments regarding your experience with the balloon modeller. This was not a member of staff but we will certainly look into this and bear it in mind in future.
I'm sorry things weren't quite up to scratch this time but hope you still have your free parking ticket to enable you to come back in August and enjoy the Bird of Prey Display.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
202 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“It's easy to spend hours here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We really enjoyed our walk through the Cutter which helps you to feel as if you were part of a mining family at the time with pictures, sounds, commentary, exhibits and experiences to enhance the experience. After this we went to look at the Pitmen Painters Exhibition and a room with Oliver Kilbourn's paintings - 'My Life as a Pitman'. Some very interesting work. Finally we walked round some of the mine buildings to finish off our tour. Lots more going on, but we had already been there for 3 hours with a short break for coffee and cake, so had ran out of time. Very interesting place to visit especially with my grandfather having been a miner in Scotland.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edinburghgrecofile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhorn, Public Relations Manager at Woodhorn Northumberland Museum, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Delighted to read about your visit and your own mining connection. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were staying at the nearby Cresswell Towers and decided to visit for the afternoon as it was free (except parking ) and the weather wasn't great.
We really enjoyed our visit, all the staff were really friendly and helpful. My youngest son was accidentally crashed into by another little boy which resulted in a black eye straight away and the staff got him an ice pack and filled out the accident form quickly and were very caring.
The museum is in a beautiful setting and very interesting. All the information and the displays were very well done and fascinating, we all (mum, dad and 3 kids aged 11, 8 and 3) felt that we had learned a lot about the history of mining in the area and in general. The facilities were clean and the cafe was reasonably priced. In short, I would definitely recommend a visit if you are in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hippichic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhorn, Public Relations Manager at Woodhorn Northumberland Museum, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your super review and hope the eye is on the mend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Woodhorn Northumberland Museum also viewed

Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
Cramlington, Northumberland
 

Been to Woodhorn Northumberland Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing