We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!!!”
Review of The Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Ashington B&B and Inns
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!!!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Due to only 2 or 3 reviews and those being mixed, I booked to stay here with a groupon voucher and it was extremely cheap so thought, what is there to loose... I stress to you do not stay here unless you want here dated, loud 80s music untill after midnight. On entering the venue, i was greeted with rowdy gangs of people smoking at the doorway, oh and this was after having to drive our car up and down a main road to find a space, that wasnt a double yellow, since the carpark has about 3 spaces that are permanently full. I then had to walk through a sticky floored club/ bar that would be occupied by 18 year old kids getting drunk, it was dark and every person at the bar stared asif we were silly with our over night bags! I had to check in at the full and busy bar and felt extremely uncomfortable! Once up in the room, it was average and for the amount i paid fair, i was left to get settled and told there was another exit to the street without going through the bar, which i was relieved about. When using this exit i was surprised to find yet more rowdy smokers getting shelter in the doorway from a private function below our room! This function went till after midnight and i could of sang every word of the songs if they were actually any good! If i had read a review of this content and known that i was going to be sleeping above a pub that thinks its a nightclub, i would have most definitely not have booked it, no matter how cheap!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Unknownabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice and friendly pub atmosphere with great staff and friendly regulars. Excellent that the pool table is free which can provide good entertainment as well as a free jukebox. Great place for a pint. Wouldn't know about sleep quality as only popped in for a few pints and some rounds of pool. Overall a great place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

noise till 12-30 am.one bath towel for 2 people despite asking for another .advertises breakfast, but don't do them, also with dinner, but you can eat dinner in the restaurant next door.no fire info in the bedroom at all ..sink in bathroom fell forward when leaned on. .booked for a weeks stay , but left after only one evening .would not recommend anyone to stay there. could not get car in car park, had to park on main road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank lorraine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Fab recently refurbished venue, we stayed in the Hotel rooms upstairs after hiring their large function room for a family party, Gorgeous restaurant next door, friendly welcoming bar staff and family run. Overall could not fault. Good bar down stairs with some friendly regulars with the option to sit in their sun trap modern conservatory or outside in their beer garden. highly recommended :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashington
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
7.9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.2 mi away
Anglers Arms
Anglers Arms
#2 of 2 in Choppington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Number 21
Number 21
#1 of 4 in Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Old Ship
The Old Ship
#3 of 4 in Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Captain's Lodge
Captain's Lodge
#2 of 4 in Newbiggin-by-the-Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle

Property: The Castle
Address: 158 Woodhorn Road, Ashington NE63 9EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ashington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ashington
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Castle Ashington, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing