We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Rural Cottage in the Heart of Northumbria”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Bamburgh Beach, Budle Bay and Beadnel Harbour are all close by
Holy Island and Lindisfarne Castle
Cycle the Sandstone Way
Walk the Cheviots and St Cuthberts Way
Visit Alnwick Castle 10 minutes away where Harry Potter and Downton Abbey were filmed
Explore Chillingham Castle and see the wild cattle
Enjoy some time in Alnwick Garden and lunch in the Treehouse Restaurant
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bamburgh, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Skippy000
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Rural Cottage in the Heart of Northumbria”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Shearling Cottage is one of the best holiday rentals we have ever taken in the UK. The cottage is very comfortable, has a well equipped kitchen and a generous living room with an open fire. It's close to the spectacular Northumberland coast with beautiful beaches and historic sites such as Lindisfarne, Dunstanburgh and Warkworth to explore. Alnwick Castle and the gorgeous Tweed Valley in the Scottish Borders are also easily accessible. The cottage is close to the A1 trunk road for easy access, but far enough away that it's quiet and peaceful. There are supermarkets, pubs and other essential services close by at Belford and Seahouses.

Booking was really easy and the owners responded quickly to our initial enquiry. We had a warm welcome with fresh farm eggs, a bottle of wine and some very moreish flapjacks provided. The owners also responded quickly to any questions we had during our stay at Shearling Cottage.

A really great find and would love to return in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek Chr...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, well equipped excellent location”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Very comfortable, everything to a high standard. Great location for touring coast and north Northumberland. Private off road parking and welcome of wine and fresh eggs.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela c
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Great location, very clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cottage is nicely situated with views over the fields and only a few miles from the sea, yet only a short distance from the A1. It is very clean and well equipped with a wood burning stove and electric blankets for added comfort. The owners left useful information for walks closeby as well as for restaurants and facilities a short drive away. There is off road parking directly outside the cottage. We appreciated the fresh eggs and wine. Would return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Thank you for your review, Angela. We hope that you enjoyed your trip to Northumberland and its lovely to hear that you would like to return to Shearling Cottage in the future. Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulina83...
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“COSY, QUIET AND COMFORTABLE:)”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have visited this beatiful cottage for our valentines.
Since the beginning of booking Victoria has been of great assistance with reccommending the local attractions.
We were able to plan our visited very well thanks to that which was quite important as we only stayed for 4 nights.
However, im sure ot would go equally well without planning as everything is so near the cottage.
It is positioned in the great location. Easy to find as only a short distance from A1 however it has not affected the peacfulness of the place.

The views from the window were for me breattaking (love the sheep). And on a nice, clear day you can relax in the patio with the Bamburgh castle in view.

We have taken the advice and visited the beau monde spa facilities and relaxed and got pampered in there :)
We have spend the evening of the valentines in the white swan inn (booking certainly recommened) and i was greated with a nice rose.
The pub offeres nice meals and imprtantly is very dog friendly.

The best thing were the flapjacks which we have revieved in our welcome pack, electric blankets and the AGA :)

The 3 beatiful beaches: beadnell, babmurgh and the ross back sands arw our very short distance away from the cottage which is perfect.

Just a shame we could only booked for 4 nights as still of places to visit left.
Will definitely visit again.
Thank you for having us:)
Best wishes for the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely review, Paulina.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your valentines stay at Shearling Cottage and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, Veronica. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay over New Year and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Best wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jackkenne...
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“12 Nights in Shearling Cottage in September”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first holiday in Northumberland. We had a wonderful holiday in Shearling Cottage which is very comfortable and very well furnished with everything you need. We were pleasantly surprised to find a 'Welcome Pack' of Wine, Eggs and Cookies when we arrived.
The Cottage is set in a very peaceful location , with wonderful scenery and ideal for a cup of tea, or glass of wine , on the patio in the late afternoon, as we were blessed with very good weather.
The location was excellent, just off the A1, with inland and coastal walks and attractions within a few miles. There are shops and pubs/restaurants within a short distance which helped to make it a very enjoyable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Cottage everything we needed.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing