We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Bamburgh Beach, Budle Bay and Beadnel Harbour are all close by
Holy Island and Lindisfarne Castle
Cycle the Sandstone Way
Walk the Cheviots and St Cuthberts Way
Visit Alnwick Castle 10 minutes away where Harry Potter and Downton Abbey were filmed
Explore Chillingham Castle and see the wild cattle
Enjoy some time in Alnwick Garden and lunch in the Treehouse Restaurant
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bamburgh, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bkumar841
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 7 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed here for 4 days. The accommodation and amenetied were as described. The place was clean with Welcome bottle of red wine, eggs and home made cookies - pleasant touch.
The sheets, towels were clean and cottage which is set in very quiet surroundings allowed us to travel & walk along the coastal paths.
Excellent uninterrupted wifi, which an intrepid traveller will like
We will return to Northumberland next year and hopefully stay in this beautiful cottage.
Thank you Victoria for excellent information, maps and books of local interest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Companion...
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely cottage in country location. Very comfortable with every need thought of.
Ideal location for visiting places of interest in the region. Very quiet for relaxing and getting away if you need it. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen G
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“A delightful cottage”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This if the first property I have rented in the UK and I hope all future cottages are to this standard. The owner was really helpful and made our stay a total pleasure with the inclusion of some thoughtful additions. The cottage was very clean and in a peaceful location. The owner has provided plenty of maps and books relating to the local area. Simply put despite the poor weather we had a great week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H
1 review
“Perfect , dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very well equipped cottage in an ideal location to explore the region.
Close enough to all the places we wanted to go so no long car trips to the beaches and sites we wanted to visit.
The cottage itself is clean , tidy and well maintained as well as being comfortable and homely . We would recommend the two eateries in Lucker , down the road from the cottage ( Apple Inn / Apple Core ) . We would definitely return knowing that we had everything we could want as a base to do more exploring of Northumberland

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne J
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal location to explore the Northumberland coast”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked Shearling Cottage as we hadn't been to the area before and from the map it seemed an ideal location to explore the Northumberland coast - we particularly like birdwatching and castles and other historic sites.

The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped - we had fine weather so didn't need the wood burning stove but it would be cosy in cold weather. The views across the fields in both directions are beautiful and we enjoyed watching hares in the fields as well as farmland birds.

The location just 1 mile from the A1 and 6 miles from Seahouses meant that we didn't have to drive far to get to interesting places on the coast and inland. We enjoyed boat trips to the Farne Islands and to Coquet Island, we walked stretches of the coast path and had amazing fish and chips in Seahouses. We also visited Cragside NT, Holy Island and several castles. However we didn't didn't have time in a week to see everything so we'll definitely return to stay at Shearling Cottage again sometime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skippy000
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Rural Cottage in the Heart of Northumbria”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Shearling Cottage is one of the best holiday rentals we have ever taken in the UK. The cottage is very comfortable, has a well equipped kitchen and a generous living room with an open fire. It's close to the spectacular Northumberland coast with beautiful beaches and historic sites such as Lindisfarne, Dunstanburgh and Warkworth to explore. Alnwick Castle and the gorgeous Tweed Valley in the Scottish Borders are also easily accessible. The cottage is close to the A1 trunk road for easy access, but far enough away that it's quiet and peaceful. There are supermarkets, pubs and other essential services close by at Belford and Seahouses.

Booking was really easy and the owners responded quickly to our initial enquiry. We had a warm welcome with fresh farm eggs, a bottle of wine and some very moreish flapjacks provided. The owners also responded quickly to any questions we had during our stay at Shearling Cottage.

A really great find and would love to return in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing