We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made very welcome”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Made very welcome”
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

We arrived on spec and were pleased to be offered a spacious room (#31) with four poster bed, large digital tv screen and perfect bathroom. Breakfast was good and fresh. Quiet room with good views of the coast to the south. Double room and our breakfasts for £100 - a good deal. Free wifi in reception and bar. Outside seating in front the hotel is a sun trap in the late afternoon / early evening.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luckywev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    341
    158
    89
    48
See reviews for
141
540
39
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Set in a good location in the pretty village of Bamburgh with ample parking we thought we picked a great place to stay but we where wrong, our room was small and the en suit tiny with out of date appliances and in need of a good clear out. We could only open one small window in the bedroom all others where painted shut so was very hot and stuffy also had a lovely view of the roof and a fire escape very noisy to with a extractor fan close by. Did not bother kicking up a fuss because we where told the hotel was full, maybe we where just unlucky to get a poor room(17) because other reviews appear good. Restaurant and bar where fine and breakfast was good also staff where friendly and polite but would not stay again and at £95 a night we felt it was way over priced.

Room Tip: Don't except first room offered insist on being moved if your not happy, we wish we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie007cleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The room was "fine", perfectly clean, and they took the dog. The star of the show was the Brasserie, for which it is advisable to book. Reasonable value in this lovely village, dominated by Bamburgh Castle.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llahsram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I travel to Northumbria a lot and the Victoria is a warm, friendly place to stay as a solo traveller. Excellent food, pleasant staff and a family-run feel that is much preferable to slick commercialism. You won't get all the frills, but this is a lovely, honest place to stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W4bbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed here as a break on our journey back to Scotland. Room was lovely and breakfast very nice. Only wish we could've stayed longer to make the most of the wonderful location. We will be coming back in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Pluses Wonderful four poster bed.
Quality room furnishings and linen.
Evening meal I have to say was one of the best I have had at any price.
Breakfast was outstanding.
Staff very helpful.

Minus. On street parking.
Hotel and bar are slightly dated.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We went on a golfing trip with friends and stayed here. Out initial impression was not great as our room was very pokey and up in the eaves, but we were changed to a much bigger, nicer room as soon as we mentioned it. The decor was rather brown and the corridors and doors could do with a touch of brighter paint.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful (and also entertaining), especially Chris and Nikki in the restaurant. The food was good, with a very interesting menu (we recommend the omelet Arnold Bennett served in individual frying pans!) and other dishes with really innovative presentation like the mini scollop burger. Any problems, such as an overcooked duck, were quickly rectified.
Overall, this hotel is trying very hard and, although we had the odd issue, the staff were so helpful that we would definitely go back again. Give it a try.
We would also recommend Northumberland Golf Tours to organize your trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a light room facing the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
210 reviews
6.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,246 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
382 reviews
13.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,037 reviews
23.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Property: Victoria Hotel
Address: 1 Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the delightful village green and overlooked by the magnificent Bamburgh Castle. The hotel offers exceptional standards, where you will experience a personal service and a warm welcoming atmosphere. Our hotel has everything you need for a delightful stay in Bamburgh - from modern en-suite accommodation with LCD TVs, to our relaxing Bar and Brasserie, serving only the best local produce from our region, all our food will be as fresh as the northern breeze, served throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing