We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Aidan Hotel(Seahouses)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Newton Hall(Newton by the Sea)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,042)
Filter reviews
1,042 results
Traveller rating
353
375
170
90
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
375
170
90
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastle view roomsuperior roomfour poster bedjacuzzi bathbar areadog friendly hotellovely hotelevening mealsalmonsunday lunchresidents loungeone night staycomfy bedboth nightspublic areasfull englishkippers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 1,042 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Family if 32 stayed yesterday & you would think you'd get some level of customer service! Staff were unhelpful, inflexible and lacked any charisma & didn't make us feel welcome in fact were damn miserable! Hotel rooms tired, very basic. Had to ask for a kettle in the room, someone else's bin hadn't been emptied. Evening meal was fine & breakfast ok, only one friendly member of staff the rest terrible! Come on owners you realty need to show some appreciation for your customers needless to say we'll be staying at the friendlier Lord Crewe next time we visit Bamburgh.

Stayed: January 2014
4  Thank tonyt100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear tonyt100,

Firstly thank you for taking your time in writing a review on the hotel. I am very sorry that the customer service expectations you had were not to your expectations, as you can see from previous reviews that we as staff make peoples stays enjoyable. I am very sorry there was not a kettle in the room and not this is no means of an excuse this was an oversight as our appliances were all being tested and I do apologise about this. I can only apologise if a bin had not been emptied and had we been made aware of this we would of definitely rectified this and compensated for the inconvenience. I can only apologise again and hope that you would give us the chance to prove as shown from previous reviews that we are good at what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We always stay in the Victoria when visiting Bamburgh. It is a lovely friendly and cosy hotel located in the centre of the village.

Great value for money with a lovely welcoming fire to sit beside with a glass of red wine after a cold day walking on the beach. Great breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Laura T,

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay. I am so pleased that everything was good for your break with us in Bamburgh. We are very lucky with the location we are set in and I think our real fire does definitely compliments a walk on the beach to warm everyone up. I hope you are in the area again soon and pay us a visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

just returned from another lovely stay at the Victoria. It is home from home all of the staff
are amazing, we are always made to feel very welcome. The hotel is just so relaxed exactly
what we are looking for, we always have a lovely room with a very comfortable bed and lovely
bathroom.Cant remember all of the staff names so a big thank you to you all, Can remember
Alex and the lovely lady chef but really all excellent, deserve a big fat pay rise!!!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms on the front are great
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollie767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear moillie767,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review on your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure in seeing a familiar face as it proves that we are doing something right. I am pleased that everyone met your expectations and hope to see the three of you again in the not so distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Just had the best weekend ever at The Victoria Hotel. The staff were fantastic-couldn't do enough for us. The food was really good and well prepared-and lots of it. Bed was really comfortable, had a really good sleep even though it was very late when we went up! Laura made sure all the guests were looked after well, and she does a pretty good jig in the early hours too! I will definitely be back, with or without 'The Happy Cats'!! Well done!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Jill1206,

Thank you very much in writing a review on your weekend with us. I am very pleased that everything was good for you and the rest of your party. I will be sure to pass your comments onto Laura and the rest of the staff as it really does encourage them to continue what they are doing. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just had a fantastic weekend at the Victoria Hotel. Right from our arrival through to departure they could not do enough for us. We were there to watch a band on the Saturday night, even though the hotel was completely full the service was excellent. We had dinner in the restaurant on Saturday night (6 adults), we had various starters, main courses and desserts - the quality of the food was absolutely first class. Likewise at breakfast - Great restaurant manager restaurant / bar team. Special thanks must go to Laura who not only is very busy, but does everything with a smile.
Highly recommend this hotel.
JT.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe6362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vicbamburgh, Manager at Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear blacknwhite,

Many thanks for taking your time in writing a review on the hotel and on your stay on The Happy Cats Weekend. I am so pleased that we managed to reach your expectations from the food and beverage side to the hotel side also. I am very pleased that the staff excelled in your expectations and will certainly pass your comments onto them as it is definitely great motivation for them to show that we are all doing something right. I hope to see you all at the next Happy Cats Weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews