We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised at recent bad reviews”
Review of Victoria Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bamburgh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I had my first experience of staying in Bamburgh with my girlfriend a few weeks ago, which was a bit of a one off as we both live quite locally. We had decided to drive to Seahouses with an overnight bag and walked along the beach to Bamburgh, with the hope of finding somewhere to stay. As we had heard The Victoria showed live football, we had planned to walk along the beach and get to Bamburgh in time to watch the Newcastle game kicking off at 3pm. Although it was the bank holiday weekend, we didn't phone ahead. We came off the beach at around 2ish and made our way up to The Victoria. When we went into the bar we were pretty disappointed to find the match wasn't on. However, we were able to get a room for the night, so thought we would make the most of it and had a great afternoon sitting out the front of the hotel having a few drinks and even nipped to the pub next door which has an amazing beer garden!! The staff behind the bar and on reception were great, even offered to book us a taxi the following morning to pick up our car. We didnt eat in the restaurant, we opted for fish and chips in the bar which were just as good, if not better than our favourite fish and chip shop in Alnwick. All in all a really good random night away, only negative was the football not on but certainly did not spoil our night away as the toon won!! We will certainly be back, thanks again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

I went away for 22nd my birthday, I had a great stay with my friend its very nice location, The staf are nice and friendly and Very helpfull.
the food Is great,I would deffo go again. We went for a few days and loved all of it and eerything about it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Beautiful old stone building in the shadow of Bamburgh castle just round the corner from the Grace Darling Museum. Adjacent is an amazing butchers shop and some wonderful tea rooms. There is a lovely walk down to the beach which is one of the best I gave seen anywhere ....particularly for fabulous sunsets! It was a wonderful surprise to find the room was housing a modern bathroom, comfy bed with plenty of room to watch TV, make a cuppa and relax in an a chair.

The restaurant was serving food of great quality and served professionally and the waiters were able to answer all questions about the menu...also told us how to save money on our wine bill. The breakfast was served in a room with a glass ceiling ...there was so much food on offer for breakfast and so much choice we could never have eaten everything ...so good for people with big appetites! That said there were healthy choices too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a modernised bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolRuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel let down only by its plumbing at busy times. Well in my experience so this may not be typical.
See past that and you get lovely attentive staff, good food, comfy rooms and a cracking location.
It is an old building so don't expect too many mod cons - there's is no lift etc but it has character and charm and the friendliness of the staff really helps make the stay very enjoyable.
Give it a try!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizG10959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have just returned from the Victoria Hotel. Staff were great and very helpful, hotel was clean with a nice bedroom and en-suite. The food was good, breakfast and the evening meals we had there. Would recommend to anyone. Will definitely try to return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SusieWoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in The Victoria over the Easter weekend. We found the staff lacklustre and unhelpful, and our room was a disappointment. While we didn't expect four posters and a view of the castle, our room looked over the extractor fan and was quite small. Our mirror had a crack in it and for we didn't have a duvet cover - just two sheets! The floor boards in the corridor outside were very noisy and it almost felt like people were about to walk into our room. Not very restful.

The breakfast selection is uninspiring and on the day when we ate in the restaurant we were served unripe avocado. It was so firm that it was difficult to bite into and was clearly not edible.

Bamburgh is lovely, but this isn't the hotel to stay in for a special break. I'd look elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the Victoria back in February but haven't got round to write about our experience until now.
We stayed in a superior room at the front with a good open aspect, views across to the church and beyond.
The room was clean and airy, the dark painted bathroom may not be to everyone's taste, but we quite liked it.
Nice towels and selection of toiletries provided.
The menu was a little limited but was seasonal and well prepared, the bar was well stocked and comfortable.
Our recollection was that the staff were helpful, friendly attentive to our needs.
The prices reflect the availability of accommodation in this beautiful seaside village and we felt them to be reasonable.
It may not be our first choice of hotels in the village, but it certainly wasn't a disappointment to stay there.

Room Tip: Superior or Castle View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobbit64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
2.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
221 reviews
6.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,288 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
393 reviews
14.5 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
538 reviews
18.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 1 Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Price Range: £40 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the delightful village green and overlooked by the magnificent Bamburgh Castle. The hotel offers exceptional standards, where you will experience a personal service and a warm welcoming atmosphere. Our hotel has everything you need for a delightful stay in Bamburgh - from modern en-suite accommodation with LCD TVs, to our relaxing Bar and Brasserie, serving only the best local produce from our region, all our food will be as fresh as the northern breeze, served throughout the day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing