We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night only ...”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Lets face it there aint much of a choice of hotel in sleepy Bamburgh! So I had a 50/50 chance of getting the good one - not sure the outcome! Expensive should have equalled a brilliant experience.
However, this is where we get into detail. Having arrived at 14:30 and spent 5 hours in the car I was told by the chap who eventually appeared at the desk after me ringing the bell four times that I couldnt check in until 15:00 - great start.
There is little parking outside the hotel and even thats not free until after 6pm, My room was tiny even though it had a double bed with 4 posts - you could just about walk around it.
The day and night was humid so it wasnt appreciated when I found that not only the air conditioning didnt work but that the windows needed keys to open them and you guessed it - they werent there.
Quiet enough to get a good nights sleep which was good.
Shower was more of a dribble so spent far too long trying to get wet - you must get some water pressure chaps.
Breakfast was interesting - I opted for salmon and scrambled egg as I was so close to the Scottish border only to find I would have had a better egg experience from McDonalds. What they served was obviously either pre-formed or a skin had grown over it from the previous day?
In conclusion if the price was halved I wouldnt complain but it wasnt ... wont see me again

Room Tip: try the hotel down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitey1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

The hotel is passed its sell by date.Badly maintained...grotty from the outside..leaking soil pipe,,weeds in roof gutters.Dark brown inside paint work, always a sign of low maintenance,Cheap partitioned rooms meant you could hear all what was said next door ! Umpteen stairs ,as no lift.
If you had a front facing room,you could not sleep because of outside seating for late night drinkers.
Certain areas of the rooms had not been cleaned for ages.Broken bathroom fitting.
Plus side :.Food cooked ok,,but frugal portions.Comfy beds.
Its well below the standard of a Travelodge room !!
It needs to close for a few months for a complete revamp

Room Tip: Check out location of room for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Southerntalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

A charming hotel set in a charming village by the sea. Beautiful beaches, miles of golden sand and, if the water was warmer, some wonderful bathing. However, our stay in this hotel was indeed fantastic. Brilliant food, presented in an innovative manner and reasonably priced. The breakfast was plentiful and the croissants were the best ever! The double room we had was in an extension to the hotel and was very modern, clean, spacey and it had a beautiful view. This is a hotel we will visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We came up from Sussex by coach . There were 28 of us so they should have been able to cope ! We were treated like second class citizens . No lift but staff got our cases to our rooms fairly quickly. One breakfast there was no marmalade , a very nice evening meal of chicken in mushroom sauce was served with mash potato , no other veg , when I queried this I was told veg was on its way . We are still waiting !! No bread with prawn cocktail . Toast rationed as was butter with 6 portions per table of 4 .i realise we are celebrating D day but rationing ???? We found the staff very offhand and not at all friendly . Even when we were told we would have to change rooms halfway through our 6 day stay there was no sorry mentioned . We had to change room because there was a fault with our shower and it was leaking into the room below .ok these things happen but it could have been handled in a better manner. We won't be going back .

Room Tip: Pay top rate for 4poster ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Booked a twin room, just as an overnight. The room itself was basic but clean. However, there was an awful musty/damp smell in the room that reception just shrugged off. Coupled with being woken by the fire alarm at 7am, it wasn't the nicest of stays. £95 a night was a bit steep for a room with incomplete coving, one bed with half a headboard and wedged underneath the telly. Breakfast was, however, fabulous - hence the redemption to a 3* rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We very much enjoyed our visit to the Victoria Hotel. The room was perfectly acceptable with everything we needed. Tea and coffee were replenished daily and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was fine and all was very clean. As someone else said, typical of a small country town hotel. If you want corporate style there are plenty of chain hotels elsewhere.
The bar and restaurant were busy, the hotel caters for tourists and does a good trade (well done them!). However, there was always somewhere to sit and the residents' lounge was separate and comfortable. The food was good - well cooked and plentiful. The restaurant was busy, and the staff worked very hard and long hours but we found that they always had time for a chat and were friendly, humorous and helpful. We thought the food was excellent value for money and ate there every night.
I don't understand some of the earlier review comments, perhaps they weren't polite and friendly to the staff?
We were woken one night by a heavy vehicle in the early morning, but that was the Council dustcart, hardly the fault of the hotel. The room was quite warm, but the heating wasn't on so I think that was just the weather. We just slept with the window open.
We had a great 4 nights, the hotel is well situated for many local places of interest. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friarygirl1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a one night stay here and found it perfectly acceptable. It is, in my experience, quite typical of a small country town hotel. The room was warm and comfortable, the breakfast tasty and Bamburgh and particularly its beach are glorious. Staff were friendly without getting in the way.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Milton25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
2 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
230 reviews
6.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,312 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
394 reviews
12.3 mi away
Tankerville Arms Hotel Wooler
18.4 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#1 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 1 Front Street, Bamburgh NE69 7BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bamburgh
Price Range: £83 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the delightful village green and overlooked by the magnificent Bamburgh Castle. The hotel offers exceptional standards, where you will experience a personal service and a warm welcoming atmosphere. Our hotel has everything you need for a delightful stay in Bamburgh - from modern en-suite accommodation with LCD TVs, to our relaxing Bar and Brasserie, serving only the best local produce from our region, all our food will be as fresh as the northern breeze, served throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing