We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpectly good”

Bailey's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 14 Restaurants in Bamburgh
Price range: US$6 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Bailey’s Bar & Restaurant was launched in February 2012 by Chris Bowron (General Manager) and Harry Bailie (Executive Head Chef). After the amazing success of their first restaurant in County Durham that opened in April 2010, owners STR Enterprises decided to embark on launching the same ethos in their Flagship hotel the Victoria Hotel in Bamburgh. Bailey’s Bar & Restaurant talented kitchen brigade use only the finest locally sourced produce that Northumberland has to offer. Our seasonal menu offering amazing value for money with relaxed yet professional service that is second to none. We have an extensive selection of wines that have been carefully chosen to complement every dish on our menu. After 2 months of opening in April 2012 we were Awarded an AA Rosette from the. Quote from the AA ‘’These restaurants achieve standards that stand out in their local area. They serve food prepared with care, understanding and skill, using good quality ingredients. The same expectations apply to hotel restaurants, where guests can eat in with confidence and a sense of anticipation’’.
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Friday night hunting last minute meal with no reservation ate in the bar area. Well above normal bar food standard...really enjoyed the food nicely done out and very relaxed atmos.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank chrischris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

60 of us ate together and were impressed by the service, the high quality food and the use of local ingredients.

Thank Alicha82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Excellent freshly cooked food, good sizes portions and excellent value for money, will be going back again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I stayed at the Victoria and ate just one night out of four at Baileys. The choice is extensive but the quality could be improved on. I was actually in the bar area of the restaurant but as it serves the same food I can give my opinion.
A little more time and thought needs to go into the actual cooking and preparation. I had scallop risotto and the mussels.
Risotto was to aldente for my taste and the mussels to overcooked.
Minor faults which if corrected would turn this into a very good place.
Ps Couple at next table had to send their chips back due to appearance and taste which was not a good sign

Thank KeithGHullEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Superb meal for two with a bottle of wine, best value in Bamburgh. Lovely Hotel/Bar, very
pleasant staff with a nice atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank val b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bailey's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Bamburgh, Northumberland
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 
Bamburgh, Northumberland
 

Been to Bailey's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing