We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mizen Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mizen Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Walkley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We went to the Mizen head for a meal last week, it was absolutely delicious!!!

There was two of us and each of us had a three course meal - I could not criticise anything. The staff were very friendly and the food service prompt and efficient. The choice of fish offered on the menu is varied, and all we tried was fresh and delicious. Although a little expensive, I would definitely recommend this restaurant, it is certainly worth a visit and is the perfect way to eat in Bamburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    58
    13
    12
    11
See reviews for
48
187
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just back from a two night stay here. Our expectations following the great reviews were certainly met. A warm welcome, lovely room, fantastic meal in the restaurant the first night,fully booked the second night so we ate at The Victoria Hotel just a short walk into Banburgh, nice meal there too although not in the same league as the Mizen. Great location, being able to park the car and go for a walk on the beach and a half pint of local ale was a great treat without having a driver restricted to a soft drink. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herrons102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely outstanding meal!
We had a large group of friends up for the day and no better place to take them for lunch.
Everyone had the lobster, which was literally straight of the boat (we saw it being delivered!)
Quality seafood at its finest.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lloyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We arrived on a dismal grey Monday afternoon. The modern reception area was cosy and warmed by a roaring coal fire. Our room was large, modern and furnished with lovely heather coloured tartan blinds,curtains and lamps, With an enormous and very comfortable bed. Spotlessly clean and plush, as was the bathroom.

We had dinner on two nights, served in the atmospheric restaurant. excellent service and food...specialising in local fish dishes. including marvelous mussels and scallops.... Really lovely. Breakfast next morning was served in the bar and was top class offering smoked salmon and scrambled egggs, wonderful Craster kippers, excellent full English.. with fruit, cereals, yoghurt, everything you could want and beautifully served . The young owner, Alex with the help of his mum at breakfast, were both a pleasure to chat with and looked after us superbly. We hope to return again in the future and to enjoy the beauty of the local countryside with the addition next time of some sunshine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woodcreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Spent a wonderful long weekend at the Mizen Hotel. Stayed in the superior room which was beautiful. The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. The best thing about the Mizen is the food! It was so delicious we changed plans to eat there twice. Portions are generous so I would recommend skipping lunch. The staff were happy to cater for vegetarians and offered a separate menu. The breakfast was fantastic and again they were happy to alter the meal to suit. I think the restaurant gets busy so book in advance I would would definitely stay here again and will be going back to the restaurant when I am next in Bamburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrAnna123NuT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is an exceptional small hotel and one of the best short stays I have ever experienced! Alex and his staff (especially his Mum who served us at breakfast and for whom nothing was too much trouble!) could not have been more helpful! Alex went out of his way to make us feel welcome and our room, which was large and light with 3 windows looking out onto beautiful countryside, had 2 bathrooms which was a real luxury! The beds were very comfortable and the decor is modern and fresh! Although we didn't try the restaurant on this occasion we will certainly do so in the future! A gem of a place to stay!!!!

Room Tip: We had Room 1 with 2 bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

On arrival you are greeted by the lovely smell from the impressive lilies in reception.The family run hotel is very friendly. We stayed in room no. 4 which was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was impressive especially the great shower cubicle with 3 different shower options. The food is exceptional, the only problem is making your choice. Wonderful choices both "from the sea" and "from the land". Check it out on line. Absolutely spoiled for choice. The Sunday lunch menu looks great value but we were still full from our cooked breakfast so that will be another excuse to come back. Totally recommended and look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Recommend room 4, spacious, great shower and with a view. Great comfortable bed, lovely and quiet to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
6.5 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
4.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
13.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sunningdale Hotel
The Sunningdale Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizen Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizen Head Hotel

Property: Mizen Head Hotel
Address: Lucker Road, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mizen Head Bamburgh
Hotel Mizen Head
Mizen Head Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing