We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mizen Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mizen Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Bamburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed for a 2 night short break whilst exploring the Northumbrian coastline and its impressive castles and beautiful scenery. As noted elsewhere, the hotel has been recently renovated and our room was spacious, comfortable and immaculate - as was the rest of the hotel. We had a lovely view over farmland to the sea at Seahouses and the hotel itself is just a few minutes walk from Bamburgh's imposing castle and its extensive beach.

The food was excellent - especially the belly-busting full English breakfast - and the staff are friendly, helpful and attentive. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and they went out of their way to ensure that we had a great time. We thoroughly enjoyed the live music played by Ken, Terry and Ange on the Saturday evening - which catered for a wide range of musical tastes and was the unexpected highlight of our trip. It wasa wonderful evening - completely unplanned - but one that will stay with us for a long, long time to come.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    58
    13
    12
    11
See reviews for
48
187
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

Having read a couple of negative reviews on here, we weren't sure whether we wanted to book. We are so glad we did. I honestly think some people are actually searching for things to complain about!

We were greeted by a friendly woman on reception who advised us on local restaurants and activities during our stay. We stayed in room 2, which was beautiful. Tastefully decorated and furnished and the bed was amazingly comfortable!

Having had a walk around the village, we decided to eat in the hotel and we're glad we did. I had a delicious smoked salmon tagliatelle and my partner had the fish and chips. The food was faultless. At about 9:30pm, live music started up in the bar, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We were made to feel like one of the family by the couple who run the hotel. Drinks were very reasonably priced for a hotel, as was the food.

After a great night's sleep, the cooked breakfast with Bamburgh Bangers was just what we needed. The staff were fantastic - they can't do enough for you!

Having stayed in many hotels over the years, this is one we are sure we will keep coming back to.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollygolightly1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

We stopped for 2 nights in the Mizen Head and experienced a serious of contradictions in as much as several aspects of this hotel were excellent, but several others were pretty poor: -

The positives were as follows: -
- Room 4 was a lovely airy & light room well furnished and immaculately clean.
- Location as has been said previously is good with the all important car parking availability.
- Breakfast (when it arrived - more later!) was good with a reasonable selection of fruit, yogurts & cereals etc. (The evening meal was OK but for the best meal in Bamburgh go to Blacketts restaurant just down the road. Exceptional food & value!)
- The bar area is modern, spacious & again well furnished.
- The staff on the whole are aimiable and helpful albeit at times seemed a little thin on the ground for all that was going on (see below)

The negatives were the following: -
- No front door key is provided with a handwritten note stuck to the front door stating 'If locked out please ring XXXX XXXXXX'. Having spent a night in Bamburgh we arrived back at 11:25pm, a time we hardly considered outrageously late for a Friday night. The bar was however in darkness & the door locked. Luckily we had a mobile (not sure what you do if you don't have one) so the number on the door was duly called. The phone could be heard ringing out in reception but no-one answered. After 3 calls I started to look for any other doors but to cut a long story short we were ringing for 15 mins (1st logged call on the mobile 11:25pm, the last at 11:39pm). By this time the initial joking was over and we were literally about to start throwing pebbles at various windows to try and get someone to open up before a guy (manager) from next door house opened up although without any apology.
- For our first breakfast we literally sat waiting for any service for what must have been 5 minutes before someone at a nearby table suggested it would be quicker to make our own teas and coffees which we did. When still no-one had arrived we had to search for a member of staff who apologised 'for not seeing us' which would be hard when she hadn't been in the room to look. So far as breakfast is concerned there's the slightly confusing moment when you're asked what you want but don't really know what's available because there's no menu or options provided. Surely even a blackboard would be worthwhile.
- We may just have been unlucky at the bar but the drinks we wanted were pretty much out of stock. Early in the evening the Black Sheep was off as was the Erdinger. Later when asking for some wine with the meal the Chenin Blanc was out of stock, as was the Sauvignon Blanc. In the end we opted to have a wander down to the other hostelries in the village (which are all pretty good & friendly) ..... only of course to be locked out on our return! Happy Days!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denbydaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

Have written to the owner expressing our concern with several matters including poor quality food Sunday lunch time, dirty glass on breakfast table [lipstick ] , dirty spoon [dried egg ] and filthy bath -mat [ hygiene issues ? ] .Also, have sent photographs of same to owner

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crathieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

We have just returned from a three night break at The Mizen Head Hotel. I had read all the reviews and booked because of all the positive comments. We have stayed in Bamburgh many times, but from now on we will always return to The Mizen Head. It has had a complete refurbishment, which is tastefully done and is absolutely immaculate.The owners, are very hands on and they have a wonderful staff ,who cannot do enough for you--Ange and Louise in particular. The breakfasts are excellent, using local produce and set you up for the day. Evening meal, cooked by Fiona, excellent too. All in all,we had a fabulous stay and will definately be back . Dont go anywhere else!! Nearly forgot to say, car parking is not always great in Bamburgh and the hotel has its own car park, which is also an asset.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalesLouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

Booked this hotel for it's convenience to Bamburgh in that respect it is excellent and very convenient to the Bamburgh coast so the hotel recieves a 5 star rating from us for it's location. It is a "nice" hotel I use this word with respect nice is how it felt and as has been said elswhere I quote: "This hotel has obviously had money spent on it recently but unfortunately the result is quite bizarre. What a strange place! "
I would say it has had a lot of money spent on it which made it an interesting stay trying to spot where money had been spent and where it hadn't..

The room was clean and looked brand spanking new, so modern in fact it did not seem in keeping with the vintage character of the building. Not complaining about this it just felt odd!

Breakfast was just "ok" but we would have expected better given the cost of the room. We have had much better breakfasts in rooms that cost £30 per night. For me the £100 per night charge for room is unjustified so for value it will only be a one star! So from us it's a "Could do better!". We'd recommend this hotel reviews it's charges to provide customers with better value!.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshthatcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

The above is not an understatement!! My (now) Husband and I held our wedding there for the weekend of 9th January 2010. I cannot praise this place enough, the wedding was so beautiful, the food was stunning ( just go for the roast dinner on a sunday if you are passing! the attention to detail was second to none and the staff were first rate,nothing too much trouble for these wonderful people! The owners are a husband and wife team called Ken and Cris Leadbitter, I have stayed in many places over the years and I am very picky!! but I could not fault this place, set in the fabulous village of Bamburgh, the views are idylic. The perfect place for any occasion! I am going back there as soon as I get the chance.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey39London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bamburgh
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
6.5 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
4.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
13.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sunningdale Hotel
The Sunningdale Hotel
#1 of 9 in Bamburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mizen Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mizen Head Hotel

Property: Mizen Head Hotel
Address: Lucker Road, Bamburgh NE69 7BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Bamburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bamburgh
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mizen Head Bamburgh
Hotel Mizen Head
Mizen Head Hotel Bamburgh, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing